We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Symptoms of Being Human Audiobook

Symptoms of Being Human

Regular Price:$20.78
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ĂĽber-conservative Orange County, the pressure - media and otherwise - is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school - even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast - the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: Walk away from what the blog has created - a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in - or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

©2016 Jeff Garvin (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (135 )
5 star
 (95)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (126 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.6 (128 )
5 star
 (93)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    LOVE_Reading_LOVE_Audiobooks! 03-02-16

    Cassie Martin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Read this, right now!!"

    While I was growing up—at least where I was growing up—there weren’t any discussions about gender. The whole notion of anything besides the binary—in fact, any discussion about the term binary itself—was simply nonexistent. So I grew up with that vague notion that something was amiss for me; that I was different, too different to put into words.

    I knew that I never wanted to be defined as a woman. That the idea of having that label was annoying, to say the least. I didn’t want to be identified as a man, either; I simply didn’t want to be identified, period. I wanted to be human, nothing else. To be judged solely for my character and actions, not by gender. Being a feminist and, therefore, pro equality, helped with some understanding but it still didn’t feel enough.

    Then, recently, I read about nonbinary and genderfluid people and a new world opened to me. I finally found the definition I’d always tried to express; why having to check the F or M in any form made me cringe so much. Why having to go to events about Women’s day at work made me want to scream. I am nonbinary. I despise gender roles, I hate being dismissed by what may be between my legs. I don’t care about the gender binary and I dream of a world where any person will have the freedom to define themselves as female or male as they wish or not to define themselves at all if they prefer. Where there won’t be any boxes to check or, at least, an N/A option.

    And then a friend read Symptoms of Being Human and raved about it on Facebook. I was immediately interested, craving the chance to have representation—done right—in a novel. And oh, how wonderful the experience was!

    This is a magnificent book. It is important, it is well written, it is such a powerful testimony it seems like nonfiction. And yet the writing is so lyrical, so poetic, I couldn’t stop noting quotes. Sharing quotes. Thinking about quotes.

    Riley’s story is a simple one, one that is happening right now to so many people out there. And that’s the brilliancy of it; it speaks to hundreds of thousands of people who so far may be hiding, may be lost, may not even have figured out what is going on with them. Not just young people either…remember what I said at the beginning, and I’m almost 40 years old. It’s never too late to understand and to be understood.

    I know we are evolving fast. Society is at least learning that it can’t just dismiss and pretend what’s not the norm doesn’t exist anymore. But there’s still so much to do, so much to learn, so much to free. Symptoms of Being Human is a huge help in that. May this book become such a tremendous bestseller that no one will be able to say they never heard about genderfluid or nonbinary anymore. Let’s spread the word about this novel and make the world a safer place to all of us!

    Thank you so much, Jeff Garvin, for writing what is, no doubt, one of the best books I’ve ever have the honor of reading. And also kudos to Tom Phelan for a tremendous narration.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Virginia C Albanese 02-17-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and thought provoking"

    This audio was well read and well written. I appreciated being exposed to something I knew nothing about. I also enjoyed that all of the answers were not apparent. A good listen for anyone who is interested in how different ALL of us are.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    clara i arango 10-12-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kuddos to Jeff Garvin ."

    A great book that shares LGBTQ real issues from a teenager's point of view. Inspiring!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley Ann Chicago 09-25-16
    Ashley Ann Chicago 09-25-16 Member Since 2013

    Freelance theatrical designer in Chicago - listening to books while I paint has become my new favorite hobby!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful and Moving - a Must Read!"
    Any additional comments?

    This book is gorgeous. It gives a very personal inside look into gender fluidity and the challenges it imposes on teenagers who are already just trying to find their identity in a sea of hormones and high school struggles. Riley is a character you can't help but love and cheer for every step of the way, their relationships are confused and full of depth, and the reader can't help but better understand different ways of looking at gender upon reading this book. It's both a beautiful work of fiction and a moving piece of social activism. I cannot recommend it enough!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carmina Moreno Sanchez 09-18-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A book every teenager should read"

    This is a moving story about a gender fluid teen that will allow anyone understand the ordeal that teenagers face when they are different. This book is all about generating empathy an tolerance among people, specifically teens. In my opinion, every teenager should read it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Austin 07-06-16
    Austin 07-06-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome book."

    Having a nonbinary main character was great. I recommend this for everyone. Questioning people, nonbinary people, trans people, and cis people.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jasmine 06-04-16
    Jasmine 06-04-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A MUST READ FOR EVERY LGBTQ+ TEEN"

    Even if your not genderfluid( I am not) this book is very relatable. As a closeted bisexual teen this book has inspired me tremendously. There are moments that I seriously cried to this book. If you are LGBTQ+ Teen or just someone looking to find our more by genderfluidity LISTEN TO THIS BOOK!! I promise you won't regret it. The performer does an amazing and captivating job! When it ended I wanted more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Esperanza DuHamel 05-27-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Made me want to stand up and fight"

    A gut wrenching, relatable portrayal of a gender fluid teens fight for survival. I have a gender fluid family member and this book brought me to tears and close to sobbing multiple times. it also reminded me of the life saving power of having at least one person who has your back. Riley's story made me determined to speak up loudly for the protection and safety of all those that do not fit neatly into the mythical gender binary.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josie 04-24-16
    Josie 04-24-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Human Story"

    This was at times a difficult listening because of the characters story, but I'm very glad to have experienced it. I do believe that because of the readers lack of voice ranges many people would enjoy it more if reading it themselves. I didn't allow that to both me enough to drop the story. Hearing Riley's story from his own experience was enlightening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate Manila, Philippines 03-21-16
    Kate Manila, Philippines 03-21-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    127
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "okay"

    I liked Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda better. Simon's voice is more eyecatching than Riley's.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.