We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Senrid Audiobook

Senrid

Regular Price:$29.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Prolific writer Sherwood Smith is back; this time, she brings with her swashbucklers, villains, magic, and a teenaged king. This king and his sister must fight their power-hungry uncle to regain control of the realm. Though the plot feels disjointed at times, James Patrick Cronin performs this coming-of-age story terrifically. Listening to his powerful alto is easy as pie. His steady voice engages with the young king's serious tone. His pace is patient, and no word feels lost in the mix. Meanwhile, Cronin endows each character with a unique voice. With his help, YA fantasy fans will watch Senrid's extraordinary world come to life.

Publisher's Summary

The kids on the good side are united in one thing: regarding Senrid as a villain. So what do you do when you're fifteen, supposedly king of one of the most powerful kingdoms in the world, but all you have on your side are wit, will, and maybe a few skills? And what if the people you like best are your enemies, and your relatives want to see you dead?

This is actually three novelettes and a novella, forming an arc with Senrid at the center, first written when Sherwood Smith was exactly Senrid's age, fifteen.

©2007 Sherwood Smith (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (5 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (5 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Emily Jacksonville, FL, United States 04-05-15
    Emily Jacksonville, FL, United States 04-05-15 Member Since 2016

    I am a blind poet, musician, and writing instructor.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fascinating character study"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Senrid to be better than the print version?

    I haven't read the print version, but the audio of Senrid is enjoyable. There are a few places where the narrator stutters or mispronounces words, but overall, he is expressive and fun.


    What did you like best about this story?

    For fans of Crown Duel and A Stranger to Command, Senrid is a fascinating character study that explains many of the mysteries and backstories of Sherwood Smith's excellent fantasy world. As some reviewers have said, the book does seem incoherent, so it's important tto remember that it is actually 4 novellas – not one novel. The final novel is the best: here is where Senrid comes into his own and we gain real insight into his thinking.


    What does James Patrick Cronin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Cronin creates distinct and expressive voices for each character. I'm especially amazed at his portrayal of aged women in the story, and I love the voices he does for Senrid and CJ.


    Any additional comments?

    Every time I read a Sherwood Smith book, I want to go back and reread all the others I've read before. Her world is intricate and her characters are deeply human. Each book reveals new layers of meaning and offers riddles for the reader to figure out.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.