We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Nerve Audiobook

Nerve

Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly....

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy: sizzling-hot Ian. At first it's exhilarating - Vee and Ian's fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they're directed to a secret location with five other players for the grand-prize round. Suddenly they're playing all or nothing - with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?

With Nerve, debut author Jeanne Ryan delivers an intensely gripping suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

©2012 Jeanne Ryan (P)2015 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (180 )
5 star
 (69)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (10)
Overall
3.7 (158 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (46)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (19)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.1 (159 )
5 star
 (76)
4 star
 (40)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-07-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than the movie"

    I loved this book. The narrator was so easy to listen to and to follow along. The suspense was great and better than the movie!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cath 08-21-16
    Cath 08-21-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good suspense"

    Could not stop listening.
    Did like the reader.
    I recommend this book, even if the end leaves me on my appetite!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Willow Star Serenity Georgia 08-20-16
    Willow Star Serenity Georgia 08-20-16 Member Since 2016

    Willow Star Serenity

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intense, but bland"

    I really liked it, but I felt like it has been a little overhyped. It wasn't as intense as I thought it would be. I did like it though and I intend to see the movie.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kendall 08-11-16
    Kendall 08-11-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What will happen next?"
    What did you love best about Nerve?

    Wondering which dare she would have to do next was always interesting to find out


    What did you like best about this story?

    the ending just kind of trailed off.. a lot of questions left unanswered.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    charro chicago, IL, United States 07-19-16
    charro chicago, IL, United States 07-19-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    271
    93
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'll wait for the movie"

    this is one book that is better off a movie the story is so damn slow and wasn't worth the time.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cecilia 08-09-16
    Cecilia 08-09-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good summer read"

    The narration was good and easy to follow. The plotline was what you would expect from the movie trailers and the backcover. The book was an interesting summer read. I had trouble putting it down, but it was quite short.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doha New York, NY, United States 11-05-16
    Doha New York, NY, United States 11-05-16 Member Since 2010

    I like to read VERY much .. I'm obsessed with reading I don't have time to actually read a book so I've been a listener for three years now

    HELPFUL VOTES
    102
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    139
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    25
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice fun read"

    to be honest I didn't know that this book existed until I saw the trailer of the movie .. since then I decided that I would read the book first then watch the movie .. expecting something like the trailer I was surprised that the whole trailer of the movie was all made up .. not a single shot in there was in the book, but that's not necessarily a bad thing .. I found the book really enjoyable and fast since it all takes place in a span of a few hours, the dares was kind of a cliche but I was hooked through out the book, the narration was good and did have a variety of voices that made the story seemed somewhat richer, but I did have some issues with the book, specially the ending, I felt it was too clean and fast I didn't even understand it, and also we don't know anything about Ian the whole book .. just that he is a good guy ..

    this is the perfect book for fans of Panic by Lauren Oliver

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-06-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the girl is a bit melodramatic."

    I find it annoying when main characters feel the world owes them something, or that it revolves around them... I don't know just my opinion.
    the story could be better

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeffrey veals 09-05-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, not great."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    This is a hard question. I'm excited for the movie, because Emma Roberts and Dave Franco are amazing young actors; however, this book is just too simplistic. I'm glad I read the book, so I have something to compare it to, but there is a chance (AND I NEVER SAY THIS), that the movie might be better than the book. Obviously, I haven't seen the movie, so I have no clue.


    Would you recommend Nerve to your friends? Why or why not?

    No. Unfortunately, I don't think my friends would find this as "okay" as I did. I think they'd hate it.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Caitlin Davies?

    Maybe. Her take on our society's OBSESSION with social media and our lack of privacy is very interesting. It wasn't executed perfectly, but it did have its moments. It would depend on the synopsis of another book.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Like I said above, I'm excited for the film to come out!


    Any additional comments?

    This all sounds negative, but it was semi-entertaining and I was able to get through it. I'm the type of person that can drop a book and never pick it back up if I'm not liking it. I will say there's one scene that bugs the crap out of me. The scene where all of the NERVE players are brought together and everyone acts the way they do. It made no sense. I'm not going to give anything away, but if you read the book, you'll know what I'm talking about. No one acts this way. I feel like they must have all been drugged, but there was no reference to that happening. So, read it for the sake of reading a book where the movie is coming out. That's what I did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 07-14-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't Do It!!!"

    Bad narration , terrible story, annoying characters with poor developmemt. This story is drawn out and lacks real suspense other than when will the whining end. The "heroine" if you can even categorize her as that, is: whiny, self depricating, shallow, selfish, annoying and repetitive. Most chapters have no point other than to reiterate one event that happend 3 chapters ago over and over again. The narrorator's voice is bothersome and bad; all the male characters sound exactly the same. The overall writing is juvinille and mediocere. Take 7 hrs and doing something more worthwhile!

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.