We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Girl in Pieces Audiobook

Girl in Pieces

Regular Price:$38.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

Includes an author's note read by the author.

©2016 Kathleen Glasgow (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)

"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)

"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (117 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (106 )
5 star
 (62)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (107 )
5 star
 (77)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mio Sunnyvale, Ca 02-28-17
    Mio Sunnyvale, Ca 02-28-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartbreaking story"
    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I started this book before bed and ended up not sleeping due to wanting to just keep going. This story is something so many people can appreciate and should listen to if they are looking for a in depth view of what goes on in the mind of a self-harmer. Highly recommended. The narrator was good as well.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 11-19-16
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 11-19-16 Member Since 2014

    I'm a clinical psychology doctorate student. I love to read a good romance or ya novel to escape from the everyday stresses of life.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stayed Up All Night Finishing It!"

    I wasn't so sure how I felt when I first started reading the book, but once I was hooked, I couldn't wait to go back to listening. This is a story of transformation, a love story, and a whole lot of struggle. I wouldn't categorize it as a "feel good" book, but I liked the ending more than I imagined.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Orthopaedic Partners 11-15-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    200
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful"

    Possibly the most eye-opening & powerful book I have ever read! This is a must read!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ematnau 10-02-16
    ematnau 10-02-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    139
    89
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and..."

    This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
    I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
    The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
    Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
    This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-19-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hit close to home."

    Beautifully written. Captivating and real. Loved every part. An emotionally telling tale that will leave a lasting imprint.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-09-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Takes one to Know One"

    "Fucking Angelic"
    So cliché. I know, but I couldn't NOT. Recommended by a friend. This friend has never led me astray. Thank you, my friend. Keep 'em comin'!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-14-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved it!!"

    I'm not much of a reader but I love books, so I Chose to do audible. I love it!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yikes 02-22-17
    Yikes 02-22-17

    Books are a big part of my life. Happiness is a beautiful evening on the houseboat with a good book :)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    231
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    232
    111
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wOw this is good"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

    don't know but the audio version is excellent


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl in Pieces?

    the concert


    What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

    Julia was perfect - no complaints


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    ?


    Any additional comments?

    You will either love it or hate it. For me, it was so interesting, intriguing, sad, funny, and completely satisfying. I highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marina khaustova sherman oaks ca 02-05-17
    Marina khaustova sherman oaks ca 02-05-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    defenet reread loved this book good book raising awarness to many suffering teens great story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hayley Murphy 01-04-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Older teen/young adult/early 20's"
    What made the experience of listening to Girl in Pieces the most enjoyable?

    I was hooked! I couldn't save this book just for my commute and found myself listening to it up until I went to bed. Very catching storyline and the way it is read makes it feel like a movie. If you like Girl Interrupted or The Bell Jar, you will love this!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.