We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Five Summers Audiobook

Five Summers

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Ann Brashare's The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters.

Four best friends, five summers of camp memories.

Emma, Skylar, Jo, and Maddie have all come back to camp for a weekend of tipsy canoe trips to the island, midnight skinny-dipping in the lake, and an epic game of capture the flag - boys versus girls. But the weekend isn't quite as sunwashed as they'd imagined as the memories come flooding back.

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded "Skylar's friend Emma" by the infamous Adam Loring.

The summer we were 10: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth.

The summer we were 11: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of spin the bottle.

The summer we were 12: Skylar's love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us - except Skylar.

Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie's secret. Skylar did something unthinkable...and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart.

A young adult book with a friendship story that will last long after the last s'more is gone.

©2013 Una LaMarche (P)2015 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Vivid, warm, familiar and bittersweet, Five Summers is a welcome escape, full of moments that linger beyond the final pages." (Jodi Lynn Anderson, author of the New York Times best seller Peaches)

"LaMarche has skillfully bottled the summer camp experience, right down to bug juice and Capture the Flag, into a lighthearted summer read." (School Library Journal)

"LaMarche manages no small feat in drawing four distinct teenage girl characters, and even her minor characters are individualized and well fleshed-out." (VOYA)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    B. Fowler 06-10-16
    B. Fowler 06-10-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like I'm back at camp that I went to for 11yrs"
    Where does Five Summers rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is in my top 10 favorites.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The sights, smells, flavors of camp are all there. The songs. The silly names and favorite things and every bit of friendship that one gains through the experiences there. I WAS there again. I was a camper and counselor for five years and six years, respectively, and this was like going home. Thank you. thank you thank you thank you.


    Which character – as performed by Abigail Revasch – was your favorite?

    Skye made such an incredible character arc that I wanted to hug her at the end. I really want Jo to have her own adventures now, and I want to read about them. (I did think that Jo would have known ALL the songs and games and everything, though with her dad being the director, so the fact that she didn't know everything about camp surprised me.)


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    You can't go back, but you can move forward.


    Any additional comments?

    Hey, author. If you read this, please know that you and I could have worked together at the same camp--we seem to have the same experiences. I'm mentally sending you a friendship bracelet (along with a boys' capture the flag memento.) :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.