We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Fans of the Impossible Life Audiobook

Fans of the Impossible Life

Regular Price:$20.78
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever. Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who feels awake only when she's with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.

©2015 Kate Scelsa (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (25 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.0 (25 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.4 (25 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    FanB14 09-18-15
    FanB14 09-18-15

    Short, Simple, No Spoilers

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6678
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    185
    167
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    499
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Angsty Good"

    Book told from three points of view. Mira, third person narrator, suffers from depression and missed 9 months her last school year. Just transferred to St. F private school. She meets Jeremy, first person narrative, who has trouble fitting in thanks to prejudices and bullying. Sebby, second person past tense voice, seemingly carefree inserts humor and drama into most situations. Clever use of voice and a welcome change from the first person narrative most YA authors seem to employ.

    The characters are full of angst and dread for the paths they walk, yet find solace in the company of each other. This isn't a sweet, feel good, easy read. It's more realistic and combats our views on homosexuality; the impact of being fat; living up to unrealistic expectations of parents; and finding true friendship and purpose. Written in the same vein as Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower." Enjoyed this immensely.

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Seattle, WA, US 01-19-16
    Amazon Customer Seattle, WA, US 01-19-16 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intense"

    This story is hard on many levels, but is important to hear. I will look for other books by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Russell 11-18-15
    Russell 11-18-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A warning"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This book is only good for teenagers, people who were teenagers, or are going to be teenagers.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.