We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dumplin' Audiobook

Dumplin'

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

©2015 Julie Murphy (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (419 )
5 star
 (224)
4 star
 (131)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (393 )
5 star
 (207)
4 star
 (122)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.4 (390 )
5 star
 (224)
4 star
 (106)
3 star
 (41)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Erin Allen 08-19-16
    Erin Allen 08-19-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, bad performance"

    I actually really enjoyed the story, but the performance of this audiobook drove me insane. I wish I would have just bought the actual book. I get that it's set in Texas and different voices help differentiate characters, but all the guys sounded alike, in this weird breathy voice. The intonations and pauses were off and during the more serious dramatic parts, the performer got all breathy, almost making every character sound like a porn star at one point or another. Just buy the book and read it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Piper 10-04-15
    Piper 10-04-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "FABULOUS. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS"

    loved the characters. Loved the story. Loved the message. Loved the performance. Love love love

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    aletha 09-18-15
    aletha 09-18-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not what I was hoping for"

    God I wanted this to be good or at least inspiring. Instead ir was cheesey and cliche. If I were 16 maybe...it felt like it was written by a middle schooler who is bullied and daydreams of how it all could be.
    Doesnt help that the narrators "male voice" sounds like an impression of rain man.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cat Hillboro, MO, United States 04-01-16
    Cat Hillboro, MO, United States 04-01-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love, love, love"

    This well written emotional rollercoaster has quickly become one of my top five books. Read it, listen to it, feel it, love it.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michaelyn Connors 10-28-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED IT!"

    Dumplin' is the kind of audiobook that makes you linger in your car long after your home because you don't want to stop listening to it. I LOVE the characters and the story, it had me both laughing and crying. Amazing author, excited to hear her other book.

    Narrator was awesome! Will be looking for more books read by her.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    FanB14 11-21-16
    FanB14 11-21-16

    Short, Simple, No Spoilers

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6758
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    189
    171
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    509
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to Like it, but"

    it was childishly written and saccharin. The message of being confident regardless of your appearance is a needed and positive one, but the story is conflicted at several points, sending mixed, unrealistic signals. There's no development between the main love interests and you're left scratching your head as to why these people got together; seemed forced. The narrator plucks the nerves and this book is just an over-hyped mess. Julie Murphy seems like a lovely person, but that's not reason enough to make the purchase. Wow, can social media pump up the volume on an otherwise tiresome book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie Philadelphia, PA, United States 11-14-16
    Leslie Philadelphia, PA, United States 11-14-16

    I used to whistle while I worked. Now I read a book!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    85
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's be done, And done better"

    My header says it all. probably won't finish. I've read many stories like this, and this story added nothing to the genre. I didn't really feel anything for the characters and the storyline was weak.
    Overall, blah.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cydneinotaustralia 10-21-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    Willow-dean's thoughts and are so true and honest that they it it needs to be heard. Every insecurity I ever felt as a plus-sized girl was laid out in this great book and I loved knowing that I'm not just being over sensitive, and I loved it. Amazing characters that I do not want to part with.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-04-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story!"

    The performance was great except for the voice given to Bo. I get that she needed to distinguish voices and she's a girl but she made him sound like a douche-y stoner and made him unlikable at times. I also wanted a descriptive kiss at the end between Bo and Will. That would have made it perfect!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tessa 09-19-16
    tessa 09-19-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I could read it again and again"

    Dumplin was such a wonderful story about self love and self acceptance. From the first sentence willow dean Dixon had me captivated by her wonderful personality. Being a bigger woman myself, this novel touched my heart and soul. The storyline was perfect, the narration was impeccable and this book had me laughing and crying and jumping for joy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.