We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dumplin' Audiobook

Dumplin'

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

©2015 Julie Murphy (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (470 )
5 star
 (249)
4 star
 (150)
3 star
 (58)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (442 )
5 star
 (230)
4 star
 (141)
3 star
 (58)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.4 (438 )
5 star
 (248)
4 star
 (124)
3 star
 (45)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    FanB14 11-21-16
    FanB14 11-21-16

    Short, Simple, No Spoilers

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7022
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    190
    172
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    531
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to Like it, but"

    it was childishly written and saccharin. The message of being confident regardless of your appearance is a needed and positive one, but the story is conflicted at several points, sending mixed, unrealistic signals. There's no development between the main love interests and you're left scratching your head as to why these people got together; seemed forced. The narrator plucks the nerves and this book is just an over-hyped mess. Julie Murphy seems like a lovely person, but that's not reason enough to make the purchase. Wow, can social media pump up the volume on an otherwise tiresome book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erin Allen 08-19-16
    Erin Allen 08-19-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, bad performance"

    I actually really enjoyed the story, but the performance of this audiobook drove me insane. I wish I would have just bought the actual book. I get that it's set in Texas and different voices help differentiate characters, but all the guys sounded alike, in this weird breathy voice. The intonations and pauses were off and during the more serious dramatic parts, the performer got all breathy, almost making every character sound like a porn star at one point or another. Just buy the book and read it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sue douglas 01-19-17
    sue douglas 01-19-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Story
    "Great book for teen girls."

    Boys should also read it to see the struggle of young girls in this society.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cydneinotaustralia 10-21-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    Willow-dean's thoughts and are so true and honest that they it it needs to be heard. Every insecurity I ever felt as a plus-sized girl was laid out in this great book and I loved knowing that I'm not just being over sensitive, and I loved it. Amazing characters that I do not want to part with.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tessa 09-19-16
    tessa 09-19-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I could read it again and again"

    Dumplin was such a wonderful story about self love and self acceptance. From the first sentence willow dean Dixon had me captivated by her wonderful personality. Being a bigger woman myself, this novel touched my heart and soul. The storyline was perfect, the narration was impeccable and this book had me laughing and crying and jumping for joy.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenjer 08-26-16
    Jenjer 08-26-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable heartwarming story"

    Weight is not a number on a scale but what you hold inside you. Until you learn how to accept it no one else can either. This book is a coming of age story of a young women who thought she was strong until she faced a true test.

    Dumplin is a heartwarming story about beautiful strong characters and what they are made up on the inside. It breaks stereo types and shows you never know someone until you walk in their shoes.

    This book is not just about the main character its also about all the people around her how much a positive influence can help someone else. Its a story about a young women who is willing to give up some of her social currency to help another.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yesenia Sanchez 08-23-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovely!"

    Just lovely! The narrator was perfect for this story. Made me smile, chuckle, and tear up. Wish I knew what happened to Willow Dean afterwards.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JannaBanana 03-17-16
    JannaBanana 03-17-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Feel good book"

    Wish I had books like these when I was a teenager, this was such a sweet coming of age story. I loved it and the narrator did it justice.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexa H. 12-21-15
    Alexa H. 12-21-15

    toodles85

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Southern comfort"

    This pageant story set in Texas is not what you might expect, even if you knew it featured a self-described fat girl. Willow Dean is a complex character, and so are her friends and beaus. The narration sweeps you away with a little bit of the south in it, but not so much as to be overwhelming.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michaelyn Connors 10-28-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED IT!"

    Dumplin' is the kind of audiobook that makes you linger in your car long after your home because you don't want to stop listening to it. I LOVE the characters and the story, it had me both laughing and crying. Amazing author, excited to hear her other book.

    Narrator was awesome! Will be looking for more books read by her.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.