We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Counting by 7s Audiobook

Counting by 7s

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (322 )
5 star
 (202)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.5 (277 )
5 star
 (181)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.4 (276 )
5 star
 (173)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    J. David Carlson 05-09-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart-warming and funny"

    A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
    Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JillyMcK 04-22-15
    JillyMcK 04-22-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Story"

    This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Halli 03-25-15
    Halli 03-25-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story and narrator!"

    I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Turner 05-05-16
    E. Turner 05-05-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "GREAT!!"

    Counting by 7s is one of the best books ever to be written. Most of the characters are dynamic. I just love this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris 02-20-16
    Chris 02-20-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Great Book"

    This book was the best book I have read out of 15 books for the English Festival I plan on reading this book again very soon!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth 08-31-15
    Elizabeth 08-31-15 Member Since 2015

    Listen to about four audio books a months. Never without one.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1115
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    95
    70
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    195
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Endearing!"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Loved the main character. You can tell it is YA but I am so glad I read it.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandee Wichita, KS, USA 07-13-15
    Sandee Wichita, KS, USA 07-13-15 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    211
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Counting by 7's lived up to its Award Nominee Statis"

    This is a great book for all those who think they are a misfit, and oddball, a lone wolf or any other label. Life lessons in this book make you route of the heroine and the people who love her.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jennifer sherburne 02-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good job"

    I thought this was great I really loved the reader and I felt like when they were ready people's parts that those charters were actually saying those things in that tone so when ever I thing about each character I will think of them to have the voice that you gave to them. Overall I loved the boom and reader so it was an amazing experience!!
    I hope to read more audio books I the future
    Thank you for the great book and experience (:

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kyle Paolantonio 08-16-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must Read for all Kids & Adults!"
    If you could sum up Counting by 7s in three words, what would they be?

    Counting by 7s was a beautiful story in which any kid could identify. The main character experienced empathy from an unknown source, and it gave her the power to continue on after a tragedy.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I loved that Willow Chance, the main character, found herself a new beginning after a great loss. Through the process, she never once lost sight of her personality, her quirks, herself. She found people that accepted her for the loving child that she was, all the while changing the lives around her.


    What about Robin Miles’s performance did you like?

    Robin Miles's performance was stellar. She did a fantastic job just slightly altering the inflection in her voice while she narrated between characters. Enough to give the characters personality without distracting from the story. I look forward to hearing her voice again!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Willow found herself in a band of misfits, and managed to help each one of them become comfortable with their own personalities. I loved each part in the story in which she found a moment to bond with the people around her.


    Any additional comments?

    I loved this story. It is one that will stick with me for a very long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Panama City, FL USA 08-10-16
    Amazon Customer Panama City, FL USA 08-10-16 Member Since 2014

    I love being read to.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a great story and performance!"

    Seven characters lend unique contributions to a story that incorporates tbe right amount of humor to soften a serious theme.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.