We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Counting by 7s | [Holly Goldberg Sloan]

Counting by 7s

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (119 )
5 star
 (62)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (103 )
5 star
 (56)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (100 )
5 star
 (54)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Samara 10-18-13
    Samara 10-18-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    293
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit much"

    The story was engaging and characters pretty well developed, but I found it to be just overly dramatic and morose. At times, I found myself rolling my eyes and wishing the author would just move on, and felt like her point was being hammered over my head. I think the book should be about half as long as it is.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jennifer sherburne 02-16-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good job"

    I thought this was great I really loved the reader and I felt like when they were ready people's parts that those charters were actually saying those things in that tone so when ever I thing about each character I will think of them to have the voice that you gave to them. Overall I loved the boom and reader so it was an amazing experience!!
    I hope to read more audio books I the future
    Thank you for the great book and experience (:

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eryl Joy Wisconsin 01-30-15
    Eryl Joy Wisconsin 01-30-15 Member Since 2012

    Mema

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this book!"
    Where does Counting by 7s rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    High. The narrator was perfect, and I enjoyed the story very much even though it is a novel for teenagers.


    What other book might you compare Counting by 7s to and why?

    Orphan train would be a comparable read.


    What does Robin Miles bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She was a great narrator, she didn't over exaggerate, but had great expression. I could totally imagine it was being told by the main character.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me laugh, and cry. (or feel sad)


    Any additional comments?

    A librarian recommended this book to me, or I would have never selected it. It was a great read for me even though I'm retired.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Houston, TX, United States 05-17-15
    Joe Houston, TX, United States 05-17-15 Member Since 2015

    Born in Ohio, lived in California, Alaska, and now Texas

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as Flat Out Love, but..."

    ...a really enjoyable YA novel. When I was young I used to count by 7's to fall asleep, so I was really interested in this book. Turns out that it is much better than either "Eleanor & Park" and "Reason to Breathe". In contrast to those books, both the story and characters in Counting by 7's are loveable. Well worth the investment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. David Carlson 05-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart-warming and funny"

    A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
    Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JillyMcK 04-22-15
    JillyMcK 04-22-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Story"

    This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Halli 03-25-15
    Halli 03-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story and narrator!"

    I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-7 of 7 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.