We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare Audiobook

Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare: The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 1

Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes and Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, New York Times best-seller Cirque du Freak is the first title in the popular Saga of Darren Shan series.

Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers - Mr. Crepsley - is a vampire!

Steve confronts the vampire after the show finishes - but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his horrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren’s story.

©2013 Darren Shan (P)2013 Blackstone Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (317 )
5 star
 (176)
4 star
 (93)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.4 (284 )
5 star
 (173)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (283 )
5 star
 (182)
4 star
 (67)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Katherine St. Johns, FL, United States 02-27-14
    Katherine St. Johns, FL, United States 02-27-14 Member Since 2014

    I'm the managing editor of the Fantasy Literature blog. Life's too short to read bad books!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1754
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    548
    344
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    627
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horror for children"

    Originally posted at Fantasy Literature.

    “Only the world’s dumbest person would run a risk like that again. Step forward — Darren Shan!”

    Darren Shan (which is the name of the author and the protagonist of the CIRQUE DU FREAK series) was having a pretty normal life until one of his best friends finds an advertisement for the Cirque du Freak. After they “borrow” some money from their parents and sneak out at night, Darren and Steve discover a weird world that they never could have dreamed of. Darren is particularly enchanted by Mr. Crepsley and his performing spider, Madam Octa. This spider kills a goat on stage and then obeys Mr. Crepsley’s commands. When they stay after the show, Darren and Steve discover that Mr. Crepsley is a vampire!

    Darren should have left well enough alone, but, unfortunately, he makes another crucial error in judgment. And another, and another. Horror is heaped upon horror and, at the end of the book, the lives of Darren and his friends and family are changed forever. In a very bad way.

    A Living Nightmare is a horror novel for older children and young teens (I’d say ages 10-15 are probably the target audience) and it’s pretty effective. As an adult, I found it scary and it even gruesome in parts. Kids who don’t like horror may not appreciate it, but those who do are likely to find this to be a fast-paced, compelling, unputdownable read. The series is immensely popular around the world and a movie has been produced.

    Even though Darren makes some really dumb mistakes, he’s a likeable kid who you can’t help but root for. I do wish, however, that he’d had a better grammar teacher. Sentences such as “Steve and me looked at each other and gulped” really make me cringe.

    As a parent, I hated the ending of A Living Nightmare. I can’t tell you what happens or it will spoil the whole thing, but I’ll just say that it’s obvious that Darren Shan (the author) was not a parent when he wrote this. A particular conversation that Darren’s mom and dad have at the end would never happen. But, even so, the ending is completely (horrifyingly) compelling and will have most of Shan’s readers eager to pick up the next book, The Vampire’s Assistant, immediately. Which is what I did.

    There are twelve books in the CIRQUE DU FREAK series and Blackstone Audio has been releasing them on audio. They’re narrated by Ralph Lister. Lister is one of the most enthusiastic narrators I’ve ever listened to and sometimes I love him and sometimes I don’t. He’s wonderful with the scary tense scenes, but he tends to overplay the quieter scenes which, I think, disrupts the tension-release that author Darren Shan does so well. I’d suggest listening to a sample to make sure you like Lister’s style.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Remi Gervais 08-24-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still love it."

    I first got this book in grade 3, some 10 or so years ago and loved reading it. It really brings back great memories listening to it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomas 02-11-16
    Thomas 02-11-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love it!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend because it's FREAKING AWESOME!!!!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare?

    When Darren told us about the vacuum cleaner incident. :)


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When they met Mr.Tall.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    He's a vampire's WHAT!?!


    Any additional comments?

    Peeps out there, you should listen to this!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Topeka, KS, United States 12-12-13
    Peter Topeka, KS, United States 12-12-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Such a great introduction book!"
    Would you listen to Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare again? Why?

    Yes. I loved the narrator, and I fully enjoyed this quick listen.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I liked the circus master. I can't remember his name, but he sounds so mysterious and creepy, but you want to know more.


    What does Ralph Lister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I started reading it, but I decided to try the audio and I'm so glad I did. He adds an extra oomph of creepy.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I did, and I'm so glad I was able too, because I loved it so much.


    Any additional comments?

    Start it now!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    11-29-16
    11-29-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Sucks paid for audio and it won't work lucky I can't give no star"

    Sucks I paid for the audio and it's stuck at chapter 2 and I'm on chapter 20 now no thanks to your audio book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    joycjennifer 10-02-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great performance - didn't like story"

    I'm not a vampire story person - so many bad choices - such a tragic tale. I won't be reading more of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-11-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book, different Narrator."

    I love this book, ever since the first time I read it. I just wished it was recorded by a young kid of like 15 rather than an older man. The voice did not fit the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald A. Tryk San Juan, Puerto Rico Puerto Rico 07-24-16
    Donald A. Tryk San Juan, Puerto Rico Puerto Rico 07-24-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great performance!"

    The reading really brings the story alive. Quite scary at times. Shows how a good boy can be drawn astray, a universal theme.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TastyVeins las vegas 04-15-16
    TastyVeins las vegas 04-15-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration distracted me"

    I thought that the story was awesome. My favorite part was the performances at the show especially madam octer.
    The only thing I did not like was the narration it was very distracting for me, more so in the beginning of the story. He did a good job with some of the characters, however it was my least favorite narration of the 3 books on here that I've heard so far.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mouse3324 03-10-16
    Mouse3324 03-10-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    90
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun and entertaining"

    Darren's story is fun and very typical of young high school boys. They are adventurous and fill of mischief. Both Darren and Steve find themselves in a world of the fantastical. I look forward to the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Louis-Sebastian
    8/27/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stephen King meets Harry Potter"

    I am so excited to continue this series after this book. The story could trim a little fat and unessesery suspense slows down a otherwise fast paced and refreshing story. I can't say now, but it looks like this is a series I'll be reading for my kids one day, along with lotr and hp series. Give it a go!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miss Alison Shipley
    Sunderland UK
    5/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I love this book, I mean really love it, it is well read and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.