We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Beware That Girl Audiobook

Beware That Girl

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep listeners guessing until the very last minute.

The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of - some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change that. She's book smart. She's street-smart. Oh, and she's also a masterful liar.

As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: Her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her "people" among the senior class "it" girls - specifically in the cosseted, megawealthy, yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty's and students' lives - becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she's intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal - and can't afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?

©2016 Teresa Toten (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl." (Publishers Weekly)

"Has all the makings of a crossover hit. It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable." (Quill & Quire)

"A sharp narrative whose twists will demand an instant reread. Beware That Girl is a terrifying chess game, and Toten is the ultimate player." [National Reading Campaign (Canada)]

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (101 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (89 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.3 (89 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    carmen 07-12-16
    carmen 07-12-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "really enjoyed this book !!!"

    I loved it! Also I enjoyed the narrator Jorjenna Marie so much that Im reading another book that is narrated by her as well, it's really good too. It might be better than this one, but Im not finished yet.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca Castro az 06-26-16
    Rebecca Castro az 06-26-16 Member Since 2015

    parker

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Almost adult-YA read"

    I actually really liked this book, I saw a few reviews that peop had said negative things, but I think this book is like a mix between ya & adult fiction, and has a few instances that you wouldn't normally see in a YA. But it was narrated great, plenty of action & twists& turns to keep my attention. I was surprised by the end! But I like that! Mystery/thrillers are my fav to read. So I'd def recommend this book to my friends.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.