We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Assassin's Heart Audiobook

Assassin's Heart

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

©2016 Sarah Ahiers (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (58 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (54 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (54 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    erickapasco Sippi' 09-17-16
    erickapasco Sippi' 09-17-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprisingly great!"

    I didn't expect to love this book, but I did.
    Such an interesting story, I really loved the paranormal type aspect to it. The last 1/3 was so good I couldn't take a break!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate Manila, Philippines 07-12-16
    Kate Manila, Philippines 07-12-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    125
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty Good"

    The tone and narrative style actually reminds me off the Throne of Glass series. Recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Sowa 05-26-16
    K. Sowa 05-26-16 Member Since 2012

    I am an avid reader, mother of two, fangirl, nerdfighter, Chicago Cubs enthusiast and NASA supporter.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Narrator, So-So Story"

    Assassin’s Heart takes place in a fantasy world that has definite Italian overtones. Families live in secret compounds and perform assassinations, something that’s legal in this world, as a service to those who wish to hire them. There is a star-crossed lover element to this story that I thought might be interesting, but the story veered away from that and turned into a tale of revenge. I didn’t feel very invested in any of the characters, which made it difficult to really become invested in the book. If you are going to write a book about a teen assassin in this market, there really needs to be something that makes it stand out. Unfortunately, I just didn’t find that with Assassin’s Heart. It wasn’t a bad story, it just wasn’t unique. There were a few spots that took a little too long to get to the point and, overall, the climax seemed rushed after a very long and drawn out lead-up to the ultimate confrontation. There were a few things I enjoyed. I liked the world in which the assassin’s in this story were performing the killings as a deeply held religious belief, not as a sacrifice, but as a way to ease suffering. I also liked the presence of ghosts, which added an interesting element to the story. In the end, though, it just didn’t grab my attention as I was hoping it would. I think a lot of people will like this story, though, so it doesn’t surprise me to see much higher rating from other readers. It just didn’t work for me.

    The narration was fantastic. I actually decided to listen to this book rather than read it because of Khristine Hvam. She is one of my favorite narrators (she narrated the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy) and had I been reading instead of listening, I probably would have DNF’d this book. So, while the story didn’t blow me away, I certainly have nothing bad to say about the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anastasia 02-28-16
    Anastasia 02-28-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Book"

    The characters are intriguing and plot has plenty of twists and turn to keep you interested.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.