We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Anna and the Swallow Man Audiobook

Anna and the Swallow Man

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War, perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna's father - she knows that very well - but she also knows that like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.

Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

©2016 Gavriel Savit (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Allan Corduner's deep voice pairs well with the graceful, intelligent prose in this mesmerizing account.... Corduner's elegant, discreet voicing and measured pacing keep listeners focused on the three main characters in a wrenching coming-of-age story that will appeal to adults as well as thoughtful mature teens." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (404 )
5 star
 (207)
4 star
 (126)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.2 (380 )
5 star
 (180)
4 star
 (116)
3 star
 (58)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.7 (375 )
5 star
 (284)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    LOVE_Reading_LOVE_Audiobooks! 02-09-16 Member Since 2016

    Cassie Martin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Depressingly beautiful as WWII stories have to be"

    Depressingly beautiful in the way the best novels about WWII have got to be. The writing is exquisite and the friendship between Anna and the Swallow Man is endearing and the whole language he teaches her in order to survive is a wonderfully clever metaphor for the horrors he fells Anna is still too young to fully comprehend. Actually, when it comes to the Holocaust, no one is older enough to fully comprehend that horror, but we still need to talk and read about it. The new generations can never be apart from it; everyone needs to be reminded of it on a constant basis in order to prevent it from happening again. Especially important in a time when we are seeing all too familiar speeches gathering sympathetic ears around the world, when Hitler-like figures are rising or trying to rise to power in some nations. It is never enough to read about WWII and the toad language may be a good way to approach young minds and bring them to the right side. To make them forever against not only the war but the idea that any human life is better than other or that any group can ever decide who should live or not.

    This is a novel full of surprises, so don't think that it's just another WWII story. There are elements here that are very peculiar, very specific to this setting, to these characters. It is gorgeously written, lyrical and poetical. The audiobook is exquisitely narrated.

    I just felt a bit lost at the end but it's probably my fault. I have some theories about the Swallow Man's identity and importance that I like, so that might be enough. I truly recommend this novel.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Cincinnati, OH, United States 03-04-16
    Kathleen Cincinnati, OH, United States 03-04-16 Member Since 2011

    webkat7

    HELPFUL VOTES
    75
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    164
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fairy Tale in Hell"

    This book's been hyped pretty hard, and I must say for the most part it deserves it. It's a fairy tale told in the Hell of WWII Poland. Allan Corduner's narration absolutely MAKES the book, especially with the voice of the Swallow Man. I really, really enjoyed this, and while initially the end left me saying "Wait. WHAT?!", the more I think about it, the better I like it.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kathleen 02-16-16
    kathleen 02-16-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    50
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    " very uunique tale "

    I highly recommend this book. it's kind of a folk tale, exploring the ways humans thrown together bond, lovr and survive., and the grey areas of morality and necessity.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Prettytoyz 02-06-16
    Prettytoyz 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engrossing"

    This story held me from the very beginning. It's a most wonderful adventure in the darkest of times. And in no small part it was made all the more wonderful by Allan Corduner's fabulous voice and command of languages.
    I was very sorry when it ended. You get very invested in Anna and her Swallow Man. It was tearfully difficult for me to let them go.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-20-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely Delightful!"

    A stunning and very moving story zet in wsr torn Poland and Russia. Thoroughly entertaining and wonderful.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ciera 02-16-16
    Ciera 02-16-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Expected a better plot and climax"

    Great narration and writing style, loved the book but it seemed to drop off at the end without much of a conclusion... Almost as if the author lost inspiration... Perhaps I am missing something? I wish it had been longer!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natalie 02-10-16
    Natalie 02-10-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like a fairy tale"

    This book reminded me of The Little Prince.
    I fell in love with the characters.
    It reminds me of The Life of Pi too.
    Heartwarming and heartbreaking.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike barnegat, nj, United States 03-21-16
    mike barnegat, nj, United States 03-21-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "if I could marry a book..."
    Where does Anna and the Swallow Man rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    ...I would marry Anna and the Swallow Man! It was so enjoyable that I recommended it to some of my hard to please Bibliophile friends.


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Garber 01-31-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of the best books ever. a new classic!"

    The narrator's voice brought all the languages and characters magically to life. The story unexpectedly surprised me again and again. I couldn't believe someone created so fine a story.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 02-16-16
    James 02-16-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you loved The Book Thief, you'll enjoy Anna's Story!"

    Impressive debut novel!! I read several reviews that complained about "no plot" - but I disagree whole-heartedly! There is PLENTY of plot & story here ... You just have to know where to looks or it.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.