We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up Audiobook

An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up: The Itialian Saga, Book 1

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The audiobook with an Italian accent!

A humorous coming of age tale of friendship, sisterhood, and family drama set against the gorgeous backdrop of northern Italy. Recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson, John Green, Neil Gaiman, and Sherman Alexie.

Italy, the late 80s.

Leda is a bookish 10-year-old tomboy. Her life turns upside down when shady Nico moves to the North from Sicily. Determined not to let the bully ruin her life, Leda is dragged through a tornado of adventures that will transform both kids in the face of first crushes, weird adults, and family drama. This tale will show you the Italy you never imagined, an exhilarating mix of sensuality, religion, and superstition in the serene countryside, the Alps, and the enchanting Island of Sardinia.

The book is the first in a series following the same characters throughout their life. Recommended for ages 13 and above. Includes some swearwords, mostly in Italian.

©2015 Gaia Bistulfi Amman (P)2015 Gaia Bistulfi Amman

What the Critics Say

"Insightful and funny; I loved it!" (Paul Schwartzmeyer, author of the Traitor Patriot series)

"Touching and skillful - a masterful execution." (Neil Daniel, author of The Obeahman's Dagger)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (8 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.9 (8 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    C. Cedano Buffalo, NY United States 10-30-15
    C. Cedano Buffalo, NY United States 10-30-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An engaging story from beginning to end."
    What did you love best about An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up?

    I loved how the detailed descriptions really put you there. It is a sweet story but it makes you think about everything you encountered when growing up, and how much things, places and people change in that ongoing process of. Gaia's writing is fresh and comical. The first few chapters definitely had me bellying up with laughter.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The beginning was hilarious. I was bellying from laughter.


    Which character – as performed by Gaia B. Amman – was your favorite?

    Leda


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Total laughter most of the time.


    Any additional comments?

    I can't wait for volume 2!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Fier San Diego, CA USA 05-08-16
    Joe Fier San Diego, CA USA 05-08-16 Member Since 2016

    http://JoeFier.com

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Authentic & Entertaining Story Read by the Author!"

    The story was fascinating to listen to because the author reads it with her authentic Italian accent and humorous inflections. Not only is the story entertaining and insightful, but the audiobook version brings it up a whole new level. Make sure to grab this and her other books!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gina 03-26-16
    Gina 03-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ADDICTED! Started from book 2 and worked backward"
    Would you listen to An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up again? Why?

    YES! YES! YES! It took me a chapter to get into the accent (I listened to book 2 first) but then...I just can't stop! Lovely narration, not overdone, passionate, funny…my new favorite series!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up?

    Hard to choose...there are so many layers...it's so emotional and deep. It really set me thinking. It's one of those books that makes you tingle. It's sassy, naive, and so funny! But also so deep. I guess I loved the scene up in the Alps when they find the "fairy world of Afes" or when Nico fell from the tree....I really liked Nico...and well, I don't want to give too much away because I already listened to book 2. Just get these books!


    What does Gaia B. Amman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The accent, the intonation...it's the first time I listen to a book by an author who can really narrate.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    BOTH! I laughed out loud in several points. It's irreverent, naive yet poignant. And I cried...oh, I cried...it moved me but also made me think about my own life...and ha ha I cried because the book was over :P


    Any additional comments?

    Just go for it! I loved the humor and the feels, but I also felt like I was learning so much...about Italy, but also about myself. This book really made me think. It's gonna stay with me for a long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eduardo 01-26-16
    eduardo 01-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An Italian adventure has been working as a time machine to me"

    Hello all,
    I have been listening to the book for the last couple of days and I have got totally hooked, I simply can't stop. At the age of 36, this book has transported me to my early teens. The highest point of having the chance to listen to the history instead of reading it, is the magical touch of reality that Gaia's accent provides to the plot, incredibly amazing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clarica Claudia 11-02-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A perfect novel for kids of all ages"
    Would you consider the audio edition of An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up to be better than the print version?

    As I started to listen to the audiobook my first thought was: "What? What kind of accent has the actress reading the novel? It didn't sound American at all. I was a real dull, and then I learned it was the actual author reading and it was meant to be this way because of the Italian origin of the story. All in all, once I got that aspect I enjoyed the reading so completely.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of An Italian Adventure: It Will All Make (Less) Sense When You Grow Up?

    I can't pick one out of the entire story because I loved every single chapter in that. But maybe Leda's prayers to Jesus...


    Have you listened to any of Gaia B. Amman’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No,this was the first time for me with this author.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Every single chapter moved me deeply for different reasons.


    Any additional comments?

    I love this book and the audible version of it so much I can't add anything more. Let's just know that I'm listening to this novel repeatedly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.