We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Gift of Failure Audiobook

The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed

Regular Price:$17.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Paul Tough's How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel's The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life's inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults.

Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report-card disappointments, mastermind children's friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children's well-being, they aren't giving them the chance to experience failure - or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems.

Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child's confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don't just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight - important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom.

Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children's failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.

©2015 Jessica Lahey (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (141 )
5 star
 (82)
4 star
 (46)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.4 (123 )
5 star
 (73)
4 star
 (37)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.5 (123 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Katie Skogen 03-18-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    "I learned so much more than I expected!"

    Thank you for this book. It has turned my down-in-the-dumps 5 year old into an autonomy directed, self sufficient, hard working, thoughtful boy. It has also freed me from so much unnecessary worry and allowed me to give the successes and failures of my children back to THEM, their rightful owner!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    shw 09-21-15
    shw 09-21-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good common sense and helpful hints"

    Really enjoyed listening to this book. Thought there were useful examples of how to implement the strategies discussed. Nice balance of studies and real life examples. Thanks for giving us a place to turn when it all gets to be a little too much.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Chicago, IL, US 09-01-15
    Amazon Customer Chicago, IL, US 09-01-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very educational"

    as a parent this book is a breath of fresh air. I have a 9 month old but am already dreading the intricacies of school and how to best handle it. this book provided an amazing view from a teacher's perspective and how the over parenting for which I'm prone could be detrimental at best to my child's development and general feeling of self worth. thank you Ms. Lahey.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TR13 08-26-15
    TR13 08-26-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Offers real solutions to help overstressed kids."

    I loved listening to this book. The author narrates the book and she's engaging. The topic is very timely as my 5th grade son is enrolled in a competitive and academically focused school. I've been giving him more responsibilities and have eased off of directing his school work. He's responded by stepping up! He's happier, more confident, and knows stumbles will happen, but that he will recover. So many parents at my school need this book. They ground their fourth graders for B's and harass the teachers. I'll be recommending this book to everyone I know.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret 12-02-16
    Margaret 12-02-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "All Parents Benefit by reading this book"
    If you could sum up The Gift of Failure in three words, what would they be?

    This book has great messages about allowing our kids to learn how to become resilient and independent. It starts young and the choices we make as parents early set the stage for their future. Well worth the time to listen and take note.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jennifer Miller 09-24-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A guidepost for parents and teachers"

    As a parent of three children and as a second grade teacher, I found this book was speaking to me. Every word echoed my own experiences as a parent. We have begun implementing many of these ideas at home and I have seen my 13 year old take some risks she would have avoided prior. I have also out some practices into practice in my classroom and I am seeing happier kids with more persistence and resilience. This is a book I recommend to all the parents in my classroom. If I could make it required reading, I would! Thank you Jessica!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    stewars 06-08-16
    stewars 06-08-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Every parent and teacher should read this book!"

    As a middle school teacher and a mom, every chapter of this book resonated with me. It is so important to provide children with that gift of failure...as hard as it may be to do. I have suggested this book to numerous people, as it should be required reading if you have children in your life!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    me 03-31-16
    me 03-31-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth reading twice"

    I found this book to first cause me anxiety because it meant changing my parenting and teaching. Then I took a breath and realized this was an incredible opportunity to improve my methods and empower children and teens around me to become the adults I hope they will become.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    liza buell 11-07-15
    liza buell 11-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must Read!"

    Every parent should have this in their own personal library and be read the minute they have a child .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hannah Ehrenberg NYC, NY, USA 09-24-15
    Hannah Ehrenberg NYC, NY, USA 09-24-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Book Every Parent Should Read"

    As a parent and teacher, I wish I had written this book. It contains sage advice about how to help children develop into responsible, self- motivated, independent adults.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.