We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Truth: Discworld, Book 25 | [Terry Pratchett]

The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

William de Worde, the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper, just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition. Browse more novels of Discworld.
Regular Price:$34.71
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series. Browse more novels of Discworld.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett; (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (182 )
5 star
 (121)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (123 )
5 star
 (88)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (122 )
5 star
 (90)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Martin
    Cork, Ireland
    4/19/08
    Overall
    "Pratchett in top form"

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • Michael
    Chatham, United Kingdom
    4/7/11
    Overall
    "***ing brilliant"

    Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Michael. R
    whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom
    4/19/10
    Overall
    "the truth"

    one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • nicole
    United Kingdom
    8/26/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett"

    I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

    If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

    Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

    The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

    I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom
    4/7/13
    Overall
    "Great Discworld story"

    Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



    The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Natalia
    Southampton, United Kingdom
    3/21/13
    Overall
    "Great read!"

    Really like this story and the characters. Exciting with a very cool twist on the end. Witty, great pace of the story unfolding. The narrator Stephen Briggs is my favourite!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Rhiannon
    4/12/13
    Overall
    "Terry at his best!"

    I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mr. Francis V. J. Hyde
    Nottingham: United Kingdom
    7/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The truth about The Truth."

    This is one of the best in the Pratchett canon. The author is at the height of his writing prowess and sly, humorous asides and puns abound through the pages of this solidly written story. It reveals the muscular flexing of the author's prodigious writing talent in the compact, deep and well written story he carefully unfolds. There are as many sparkling facets as you will find on any polished gem in this well crafted jewel of a book. It will bear re-reading many times and every time more sparkling flashes of clever inventiveness will be revealed that you missed previously. If you haven't read it yet, hesitate no longer and give yourself a real treat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • glenn clark
    6/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stop the press!!"

    Pratchett delivers yet another funny take on a modern day institution. Briggs' delivery is spot on and voices the characters just how they sound in my head when reading! Shame the audio quality sounds like it was recorded on a tape deck in a large room but still very enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr
    Faversham, United Kingdom
    5/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic book all round"

    I have read all of the dos world books and listened to all of them too. This has got to be one of the best... after the watch sub series. It is a fantastic take on the start of the free press and freedom of information, you can imagine the real world starting out in a similar way, although I suspect the tabloids took a little while longer to get established. Certainly worth a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.