We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Stolen Child | [Keith Donohue]

The Stolen Child

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist.
Regular Price:$22.04
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This critically acclaimed debut by breakout author Keith Donohue flawlessly blends fantasy and realism into an utterly unique fable, inspired by a W.B. Yeats poem, that has been described as a bedtime story for adults.

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist. Both Aniday and Henry settle comfortably enough into their new existences, but both are haunted by vague memories of their former lives.

A fresh take on the search for identity that will appeal to fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.M. Barrie, The Stolen Child triumphantly announces Donohue as a fresh voice in contemporary fiction.

©2006 Keith Donohue; (P)2006 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

  • Winner of Audio Publishers Association 2007 Audie Award, Science Fiction

"An impressive novel of outsiders whose feelings of alienation are more natural than supernatural." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (447 )
5 star
 (124)
4 star
 (141)
3 star
 (114)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (22)
Overall
3.7 (93 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.9 (91 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Evan Philadelphia, PA, USA 06-25-06
    Evan Philadelphia, PA, USA 06-25-06 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    1
    Overall
    "Complex characters, complex plot"

    I very much enjoyed that this book took energy to listen to. The book spans several decades of the 20thC, and refers to individuals in the mid-19thC. It travels from Europe to California in its scope, and deeply explores the lives of two characters, the two Henry Days.

    Having a different narrators for the two characters helped quite a bit in keeping the parallel narratives separate, though I wonder if the accents ascribed to some of the secondary characters were based on 'facts' of the book or were a result of the narrators' creativity.

    I agree with another reviewer that Tolkien was a poor comparison. It reminded me most, in style, of Eugenides 'Middlesex' or some works of magical realism. And I liked it because it wasn't heavy fantasy but humanity in a fantastic situation (like the Martian Chronicles) -- the characters were distinctly, deeply human.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Helen Bolton, Ontario, Canada 06-20-06
    Helen Bolton, Ontario, Canada 06-20-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "touching and charming"

    I loved this book. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment. I recommend this book to anyone who still has contact with their inner 8 yr old.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Pennell Norton, OH, US 06-10-06
    M. Pennell Norton, OH, US 06-10-06

    Peggy P

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Loved It!"

    It's hard to explain the premise of this book - but what a wonderful story! I was completely drawn in within the first few minutes and could not stop listening. This book is wonderfully read, the story moves along nicely and certainly makes you wonder about "life & death". I highly recommend this book even if (like me) you're not a big fantasy/science fiction fan.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 31-33 of 33 results PREVIOUS134NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.