We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Stolen Child | [Keith Donohue]

The Stolen Child

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist.
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This critically acclaimed debut by breakout author Keith Donohue flawlessly blends fantasy and realism into an utterly unique fable, inspired by a W.B. Yeats poem, that has been described as a bedtime story for adults.

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist. Both Aniday and Henry settle comfortably enough into their new existences, but both are haunted by vague memories of their former lives.

A fresh take on the search for identity that will appeal to fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.M. Barrie, The Stolen Child triumphantly announces Donohue as a fresh voice in contemporary fiction.

©2006 Keith Donohue; (P)2006 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

  • Winner of Audio Publishers Association 2007 Audie Award, Science Fiction

"An impressive novel of outsiders whose feelings of alienation are more natural than supernatural." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (434 )
5 star
 (121)
4 star
 (136)
3 star
 (109)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (22)
Overall
3.7 (81 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.9 (80 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tracy Ithaca, NY, United States 12-13-06
    Tracy Ithaca, NY, United States 12-13-06 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not what I was expecting"

    Despite being inspired by Yeats's poem, this book really doesn't have that much to do with fairies. I suppose the idea is that it's a search for identity and belonging...and a LONG one. I didn't find it charming or enchanting, this is not a "Fairy Tale". It was long and slow and boring. What's more, the ending doesn't really resolve much of anything. I think this is an example of an over-hyped book that just leaves you feeling flat in the end. Don't bother with this one.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie Campbell, CA, USA 07-12-06
    Stephanie Campbell, CA, USA 07-12-06 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "My Stolen Minutes"

    Maybe this worked better as a book, but I didn't like the readers slow delivery, as if to give the story more creedence. Better left - unheard.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. R. Jones los angeles, CA 07-03-06
    B. R. Jones los angeles, CA 07-03-06 Member Since 2005

    I'm a web designer in Southern California that loves a good thick book - especially epic fantasy, sci-fi, and contemporary thrillers. My favorite authors include Stephenson, Erikson, and Sanderson.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Excellent Listen"

    This is one of those... if you could only download one audio book... books.

    It's important to note that this book seems to transcend genres... in a way crossing elements of the book "Peter Pan" and many other pseudo-fantasy novels with strong notes of Americana like the film "Stand By Me" or the Wonder Years... it truly is a great summer read, or listen in this case.

    The narration is nothing short of excellence; Unlike some downloads that I've found here where the narration is awkward or the story ill suited to be read aloud, this book seems to have been written for the spoken word, much like Orson Scott Card's book "Ender's Game"... and naturally the dual narration is perfect for the dual narrative form of the story.

    The Stolen Child was an easy, yet engaging listen that you'll probably breeze through over the course of a week, as it's a "pageturner" and you'll want to sneak in every minute of the day that you can to listen to it... I don't listen or read to many books more than once, but I'm sure that I'll be returning to this one in a year or so and will definitely pass it on to my kids when they're old enough and adult friends alike.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Waco, TX, USA 07-02-06
    Patricia Waco, TX, USA 07-02-06 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Listener beware"

    I picked this book because its premise intrigued me. While the moral of the story was mostly satisfying, getting to it took perserverance. The story dragged at points and it often seemed that the author strived too hard to be literary instead of focusing on writing a tight manuscript and telling a good story. This would have worked better as a short story rather than a novel. I did, however, like that the recording used two readers.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steven philadelphia, PA, USA 06-23-06
    Steven philadelphia, PA, USA 06-23-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Got us hooked, but then a bit protracted.."

    My family ( 3 boys- 11,9, 7)and my wife just listened to it on our drive to and from vacation. The sample on the Audible website got us hooked. We all felt that it was a really interesting story line and had never read or listened to anything like it. However, towards the end of the book, it became a bit longwinded and took away from the initial excitement that we had. For the younger listeners, there were some 'adult' passages (first sexual experience for example) and we just fast forwarded through those parts. Only a few "bad" words were heard.
    I would recommend this to family and friends that like this particular genre.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kendall Dallas, TX, United States 10-05-07
    Kendall Dallas, TX, United States 10-05-07 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Stolen Fantasy"

    Fantasy, once a genre all its own, has so encroached on Sci-Fi they are often counted as one. As a traditional Sci-Fi fan, I am not at all sure this is a good thing. In my now distant youth (alas!) the best Sci-Fi was packed with with both adventure and meaning. The latter could take the form of alegory, or philosophy, or social commentary, or show the unsuspecting where science and technology were taking us. Today, it seems I always feel cheated. What is this book about other than the fantastic events of the story? There is nothing except, perhaps, a tad of titillation with the fantasy, and I cannot help but association that with the fantastic, which in my day was virtually synonymous with absurd.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie McFarlane 06-05-12 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Haunting and beautifully written"

    The story to me was very haunting and sad. I think it was beautifully written but you definitely have to be in the mood for it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    09-16-11
    09-16-11 Listener Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    413
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't Bear to Listen to It"
    What would have made The Stolen Child better?

    Another reader.


    Any additional comments?

    The reader for this was so dreadful that I decided I'd have to read the book in paper, it is still waiting to be read because my list is very long.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E Orinda Rigby, ID, USA 08-11-08
    E Orinda Rigby, ID, USA 08-11-08 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    3
    Overall
    "too long"

    Interesting concept but it went on and on and on and, well you get the idea. I rarely fail to finish a book (especially audiobooks) but I just couldn't bear anymore and I quit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie Mentor, OH, United States 06-23-08
    Katie Mentor, OH, United States 06-23-08 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    99
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    202
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    "absolutely engrossing"

    I am not a fantasy fiction fan. In fact I had looked at this book and passed it up once or twice because I assumed it would be fantasy to the point that I could not suspend disbelief. This novel takes an idea idea out of a fairy tale and then totally grounds it in reality. I couldn't stop listening, and believing these changelings were really out there. Excellent book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 33 results PREVIOUS1234NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.