We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Stolen Child Audiobook

The Stolen Child

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

This critically acclaimed debut by breakout author Keith Donohue flawlessly blends fantasy and realism into an utterly unique fable, inspired by a W.B. Yeats poem, that has been described as a bedtime story for adults.

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist. Both Aniday and Henry settle comfortably enough into their new existences, but both are haunted by vague memories of their former lives.

A fresh take on the search for identity that will appeal to fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.M. Barrie, The Stolen Child triumphantly announces Donohue as a fresh voice in contemporary fiction.

©2006 Keith Donohue; (P)2006 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

  • Winner of Audio Publishers Association 2007 Audie Award, Science Fiction

"An impressive novel of outsiders whose feelings of alienation are more natural than supernatural." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (462 )
5 star
 (131)
4 star
 (143)
3 star
 (118)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (22)
Overall
3.7 (105 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.0 (103 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    emma 09-16-11
    emma 09-16-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    420
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't Bear to Listen to It"
    What would have made The Stolen Child better?

    Another reader.


    Any additional comments?

    The reader for this was so dreadful that I decided I'd have to read the book in paper, it is still waiting to be read because my list is very long.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann B. Williams Katonah, NY United States 09-12-07
    Ann B. Williams Katonah, NY United States 09-12-07 Member Since 2015

    puginator

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    503
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good Listen"

    It was an entertaining story

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy Ithaca, NY, United States 12-13-06
    Tracy Ithaca, NY, United States 12-13-06 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not what I was expecting"

    Despite being inspired by Yeats's poem, this book really doesn't have that much to do with fairies. I suppose the idea is that it's a search for identity and belonging...and a LONG one. I didn't find it charming or enchanting, this is not a "Fairy Tale". It was long and slow and boring. What's more, the ending doesn't really resolve much of anything. I think this is an example of an over-hyped book that just leaves you feeling flat in the end. Don't bother with this one.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. R. Jones los angeles, CA 07-03-06
    B. R. Jones los angeles, CA 07-03-06 Member Since 2005

    I'm a web designer in Southern California that loves a good thick book - especially epic fantasy, sci-fi, and contemporary thrillers. My favorite authors include Stephenson, Erikson, and Sanderson.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Excellent Listen"

    This is one of those... if you could only download one audio book... books.

    It's important to note that this book seems to transcend genres... in a way crossing elements of the book "Peter Pan" and many other pseudo-fantasy novels with strong notes of Americana like the film "Stand By Me" or the Wonder Years... it truly is a great summer read, or listen in this case.

    The narration is nothing short of excellence; Unlike some downloads that I've found here where the narration is awkward or the story ill suited to be read aloud, this book seems to have been written for the spoken word, much like Orson Scott Card's book "Ender's Game"... and naturally the dual narration is perfect for the dual narrative form of the story.

    The Stolen Child was an easy, yet engaging listen that you'll probably breeze through over the course of a week, as it's a "pageturner" and you'll want to sneak in every minute of the day that you can to listen to it... I don't listen or read to many books more than once, but I'm sure that I'll be returning to this one in a year or so and will definitely pass it on to my kids when they're old enough and adult friends alike.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Texas Reader 07-02-06 Member Since 2005

    patricia_wilson4

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Listener beware"

    I picked this book because its premise intrigued me. While the moral of the story was mostly satisfying, getting to it took perserverance. The story dragged at points and it often seemed that the author strived too hard to be literary instead of focusing on writing a tight manuscript and telling a good story. This would have worked better as a short story rather than a novel. I did, however, like that the recording used two readers.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steven philadelphia, PA, USA 06-23-06
    Steven philadelphia, PA, USA 06-23-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Got us hooked, but then a bit protracted.."

    My family ( 3 boys- 11,9, 7)and my wife just listened to it on our drive to and from vacation. The sample on the Audible website got us hooked. We all felt that it was a really interesting story line and had never read or listened to anything like it. However, towards the end of the book, it became a bit longwinded and took away from the initial excitement that we had. For the younger listeners, there were some 'adult' passages (first sexual experience for example) and we just fast forwarded through those parts. Only a few "bad" words were heard.
    I would recommend this to family and friends that like this particular genre.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kendall Dallas, TX, United States 10-05-07
    Kendall Dallas, TX, United States 10-05-07 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Stolen Fantasy"

    Fantasy, once a genre all its own, has so encroached on Sci-Fi they are often counted as one. As a traditional Sci-Fi fan, I am not at all sure this is a good thing. In my now distant youth (alas!) the best Sci-Fi was packed with with both adventure and meaning. The latter could take the form of alegory, or philosophy, or social commentary, or show the unsuspecting where science and technology were taking us. Today, it seems I always feel cheated. What is this book about other than the fantastic events of the story? There is nothing except, perhaps, a tad of titillation with the fantasy, and I cannot help but association that with the fantastic, which in my day was virtually synonymous with absurd.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karissa Eckert 12-20-15 Member Since 2012

    Devourer of all books fantasy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    124
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    240
    124
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring and unimaginative"

    I have had this book for a while to read and was excited to finally get to listen to it. I listened to this on audiobook, I pretty much finish every audiobook I get because I am driving anyway while I listen to them. This is one I almost didn't finish as an audiobook. It was boring and pointless.

    As mentioned above I listened to this on audiobook. The audiobook was well done; there are two different narrators...one for each character. They both do a decent job of narrating. It wasn’t fantastic but it was decent.

    The book is about a boy named Henry Day who is stolen by changelings. He ends up being called Aniday by the other changelings and ekes out a living with them; an endless existence that is a struggle for survival. Meanwhile the changeling that takes his place takes on the name of Henry Day and takes over Henry's life.

    The book basically alternates between Aniday's struggle to survive both an eternal existence as a child and everyday life. Meanwhile the new Henry Day is struggling to fit in and also struggling with his guilt over having taken over Henry Day's life.

    Mostly the story is just boring; like put me to sleep while driving boring. This is just a story about these two characters living their lives. The characters are not likable or even all that interesting. The most interesting part to the story is the new Henry Day's search for information about his family before he became a changeling.

    All of the characters are angsty and discontent throughout, mostly causing trouble and bringing down the characters around them. I just didn't enjoy it.

    This is supposed to be based on a Yeats poem about changelings and I wish we had seen more of the mythology around changelings rather than all this day to day life drama. This book reads more like a soap opera in which the two main characters happen to be changelings than anything.

    Overall I didn't enjoy the book and don't recommend it. I am not sure what all the hype around this book is about; I personally would skip it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Christie 07-29-15
    J. Christie 07-29-15

    Novelty Shopper Girl

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting Story"

    I loved the story! Excellent psychology and character development of the protagonists. Great ending as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie McFarlane 06-05-12 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Haunting and beautifully written"

    The story to me was very haunting and sad. I think it was beautifully written but you definitely have to be in the mood for it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.