We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Spider's War Audiobook

The Spider's War

Regular Price:$34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and the Coin series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin.

Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.

In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

©2016 Daniel Abraham (P)2016 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (615 )
5 star
 (400)
4 star
 (183)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.5 (574 )
5 star
 (358)
4 star
 (172)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.8 (571 )
5 star
 (457)
4 star
 (107)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16 Member Since 2016

    Fathers Face Remembered

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Satisfying and Epic Conclusion"
    If you could sum up The Spider's War in three words, what would they be?

    Satisfying Epic Conclusion


    What other book might you compare The Spider's War to and why?

    Game of Thrones a bit. Yet with the mixture of money and war that this series has is quite unique.


    What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He is great. I listened to this book for 10 hours straight one Saturday. His characterizations are spot on. When I read my Kindle versions it is his voices I hear.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    ***Spoilers*****
    When Cithrin and Markus have a heart to heart towards the end. Such an honest and warm chapter.


    Any additional comments?

    This comes from my Amazon review. "When I read decent fantasy, it is almost like playing chess. I watch and observe. Sometimes I care, but they are just pieces to be moved around with little to no attachment. When I read great fantasy, I stress over what this, and that will mean. I worry about them as if they are real people. I care for them and wish them well. The Dagger and the Coin series is great fantasy! I am happy to report that this last book is everything I had hoped for!"

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Light928 03-26-16
    Light928 03-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending to a fantastic series."

    From the story, to the characters, to the unique unfolding of events, and the superb reader, this series is the best I've ever read. And I'm not a big fan of fantasy either, but the fantasy is wisely used. Second to fascinating individuals. Highly recommended.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sailfish 03-26-16
    Sailfish 03-26-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    306
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    547
    197
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sad for it to end, 'twas a good ending, though"

    While there was no harrowing new revelations, the author still made it interesting to work through the completion of the saga. What with creating a whole slew of interesting and endearing characters during the telling of the story, each with their own mini-story arcs, it was enjoyable to find their arcs were mostly completed in a fitting way.

    I'm definitely putting this saga on my must listen again list.

    Both the writing and narration was superb throughout.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chris 10-17-16
    chris 10-17-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, good story, worth the read."

    The Coin and Dagger series is a great story, I enjoyed all the books, this last in the series best of all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    colleen ROCHESTER, NH, United States 09-12-16
    colleen ROCHESTER, NH, United States 09-12-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Addicting series"

    I'm absolutely in love with the characters and writing in this series. I knew it would have to come to a conclusion at some point. I want more, even so. Farewell Marcus...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    arthur vera 08-21-16
    arthur vera 08-21-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    "fantastic"

    this book finishes off a great series. this writer sure knows how to put together a story. Ray Bradbury is a genius, the reader is also fantastic does a great job finishing the story I suggest reading this

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    STEVEN 08-14-16
    STEVEN 08-14-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Fabulous Tale..."

    ...beautifully crafted, with rich imagination and people we care about. A flawless reading makes this an irresistible package. This is a lifetime Top Ten series with the sole regret: it ends.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    the creator 07-22-16
    the creator 07-22-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending to a wonderful series"

    really enjoyed the bock it dragged a little in the middle, I had to leave it for a while and come back to finish.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MsMTMTE 06-20-16
    MsMTMTE 06-20-16

    Hi, I'm a university honors graduate w/ military background. I hope my reviews help u decide if a book is right 4U or not. Happy listening!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining. Fun. Original!"
    Where does The Spider's War rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    OK, so currently I have to compare everything to the Riyria Revelations and Chronicles, those being my all-time favorites, and lately everything else has been falling woefully short, but finally, something really very good by comparison! While I can't say I liked these audio books quite as well, these 5 titles are very well done, with highly original heroes and villains and plot! This is the fifth and final book in the series. Once I got started on the first book, I was compelled to listen to the next four, and I stayed as eager to get to the next title as soon as possible the whole way through.

    Solid plot, characters, and narration. High points for originality of plot and characters as well! One of our heroines is a very young female...banker? Yesss! I love it! And, not just one hero but a group of characters whose lives are woven together by chance and circumstance, and whose ultimate destinies are intertwined. A brilliant mix of all ages genders, and social classes as well. They are continually evolving both as individuals and as they relate to one another, according to the passage of time and the influence of circumstance. Not just your straight-forward villain either. The characters are very well developed over time, are multi-dimensional, and very realistic in that, while there is a lot to love, or hate, there is some good and some bad in each one. There is a lot to grab hold of here intellectually and emotionally. I really felt as if I actually know these people, and I truly admire it when the characters are so well done, that you know how they would most likely react in any given situation.

    This story as a whole (not just this last book) has lots of fun and suspenseful adventure, examples of very realistic relationships, love, devotion, passion, weakness, strength, loss, struggle, and triumph. I highly recommend!


    What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    As for narration, this is also an area where I'm very discriminating. Again, if compared to Tim G. Reynolds of Riyria (who is an absolute master), this falls a bit short for me in that Tim has clearly taken a lot of time to develop absolutely 100% individually distinct and recognizable voices (I stopped counting after ID-ing over 30 separate characters he nailed). Pete Bradbury has done a solid job with the Dagger and the Coin series, and has a very enjoyable voice with terrific range, but in these works he didn't achieve the level of individual character mastery as Reynolds has in Riyria. Very occasionally but regularly, some of the vocals bled across characters. However, if I hadn't heard Reynolds, I may not have noticed quite so much. Well done overall.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jesse Sherman Oaks, US, Canada 05-25-16
    Jesse Sherman Oaks, US, Canada 05-25-16 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sheer brilliance"

    Fantastically well-written, great audio performance as well. All 5 books in this series were exceptionally good -- I would read anything this author writes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.