We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Obelisk Gate Audiobook

The Obelisk Gate: The Broken Earth, Book 2

Regular Price:$28.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This is the way the world ends, for the last time.

The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.

Essun - once Damaya, once Syenite, now avenger - has found shelter, but not her daughter. Instead there is Alabaster Tenring, destroyer of the world, with a request. But if Essun does what he asks, it would seal the fate of the Stillness forever.

Far away, her daughter Nassun is growing in power - and her choices will break the world.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 N.K. Jemisin (P)2016 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"Exceptional." (Library Journal)

"Robin Miles continues as narrator, and the large cast of characters allows her to draw on her vast store of accents. Her narration is intimate and engaged, and she enriches the complicated relationships.... Miles draws out the emotions - sometimes volatile, sometimes seething beneath the surface--as the complexities of this postapocalyptic world unfold." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (1238 )
5 star
 (832)
4 star
 (331)
3 star
 (61)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.6 (1133 )
5 star
 (742)
4 star
 (299)
3 star
 (72)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.8 (1130 )
5 star
 (891)
4 star
 (209)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jesslyn H 08-29-16
    Jesslyn H 08-29-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Miles is becoming my favorite narrator"

    Can I give this 10 stars? Jemisin is a freaking writing god. If anything, this was better than the 1st book. I rate this series alongside the Stormlight Archive and have no doubts that I'll be reading and rereading them both many, many times.

    The narration was just beautiful. I love the varied accents that Miles can bring to the table.

    My only complaint is that the audio and Kindle versions aren't synced so I had to always make sure I switched back and forth at a chapter break. That is more than a bit of a pain.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Gray Pittsburgh, PA United States 10-31-16
    Brian Gray Pittsburgh, PA United States 10-31-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loving and recommending frequently"

    Still living this amazing trilogy from N K Jemisin. The characters are so real and 3 dimensional, the story is fascinating–I really never want to be not reading this book–and the metaphor to our own world makes the reading a thoughtful experience. obelisk gate also somehow contains even more reveals and surprises even though it essentially picks up just where broken earth left off. I can't wait for the final installment.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jordan 08-30-16
    Jordan 08-30-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I feel withdrawals coming 😥"

    I need book 3 yesterday!! This writer is EVERYTHING!!

    I knew I'd be a fan since book one. I finished both book 1and 2 in only a few days and now I am just sad book 3 isn't ready yet.

    I'm new to afro futurism/sci-fi but I can already tell NK Jamison is going to be someone to look out for. She's 1 of 3 to that have inspired me to get back into writing myself. I'm looking forward to the next book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    theresa saso 09-06-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this series!!!"
    Where does The Obelisk Gate rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Current fave in all fiction


    What about Robin Miles’s performance did you like?

    Mile's voice is like a massage on my ears, and her performance drops me right into the middle of this world.


    Any additional comments?

    Such an amazingly rich and different world. Extremely unique and a wonderful travel experience. I'm going to listen to the first book again right now.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Hayes Pennsylvania 08-27-16
    S. Hayes Pennsylvania 08-27-16 Member Since 2013

    I am an avid reader and believe in good literature. All of my reviews aim to separate the good from the trash.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    167
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellence - A rare gem"
    If you could sum up The Obelisk Gate in three words, what would they be?

    This books continues the story lines from book one. The world is going through another season but this one will last thousands of years with the resulting planet being inhabitable. But the people do not accept this or understand it. It seams that the extinction of the human race is eminent but Alabaster has been to the mountain top and returns (broken and half-dead himself) to tell the only person who can finish what he started to heal the Earth. Tons of questions are answered. Revelations are realized. Nassun comes of age in this madness. Essun grows in her craft, realizes her potential and that she can't do it alone.

    It is nothing like N.K. Jemisin's other series which is nothing short of amazing because world building is hard and that is exactly what the writer does here. Among horrifying post-apocalyptic events, dogmatic guardians who believe their evil is good, the mysterious absence and presence of celestial staples we continue to learn about the relationships of the characters, their histories as to how they came to be who they are and one I didn't see coming...Father Earth.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This books has something for fans of Octavia Butler, Jules Verne, world ending scenarios, dysfunctional families and of course...N. K. Jemisin.


    Which character – as performed by Robin Miles – was your favorite?

    Alabaster (sp?). I think Robin did an excellent job capturing his unique personality and quirks.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The constant struggle for acceptance for who a person is as a human being.


    Any additional comments?

    This is the third world built by this author. I don't know many who can do this. I am not surprised that the author won a Hugo for this series.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ari 01-05-17
    ari 01-05-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Finally, a fantasy book for geologists!!"

    Gets you from the start, surprises you along the way, and is for geologists. Alabaster.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bethe Halligan NYC 04-20-17
    Bethe Halligan NYC 04-20-17 Member Since 2015

    speech playroom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sci Fi and Fantasy fans. This trilogy is for you"

    Great inventive story with stellar performance. Characters are well drawn, and brought to life by the readers choices of accents and attitudes. A perfect match of exciting story, well written and well read. Can't wait for the final book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SarahH 04-17-17
    SarahH 04-17-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspense, Intrigue, and Feels!"

    This book is so good! It does not have any of the middle book slump to it. Many lingering questions from book one are answered, but the mystery of what is happening to the world deepens. New characters come into the story, and some of the old ones return but are changed now. Though the action has a slow build to it, there is plenty of suspense and tension. The characters are internally and externally conflicted. If the series continues in the direction it has been going, book 3 should be pretty epic and have a big payoff.
    Definitely worth reading!

    Also, Robin Miles returns as the narrator, and she is flawless again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jude R. Washington Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States 04-12-17
    Jude R. Washington Rancho Cucamonga, CA, United States 04-12-17

    Love, Peace and Soul!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Warning: Be prepared to be addicted to the story!"

    Better than a movie! I couldn't stop listening!
    I loved the narrator, love the storyline. Forces you to use your imagination in this made up world. Very well executed, bravo!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    fred 04-11-17
    fred 04-11-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A true masterpiece."

    I both love and hate the story at this moment. In these minutes after completing the story I love the author for the story he has woven, and hate that I will have to wait an unknown time for the next story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.