We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Audiobook

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress

Regular Price:$24.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In what is considered one of Heinlein's most hair-raising, thought-provoking, and outrageous adventures, the master of modern science fiction tells the strange story of an even stranger world. It is 21st-century Luna, a harsh penal colony where a revolt is plotted between a bashful computer and a ragtag collection of maverick humans, a revolt that goes beautifully until the inevitable happens. But that's the problem with the inevitable: it always happens.

Winner of the 1967 Hugo award, this novel marked Heinlein's partial return to his best form. He draws many historical parallels with the War of Independence, and clearly shows his own libertarian political views.

©1965 Robert A. Heinlein; (P)1999 Blackstone Audio Inc.

What the Critics Say

  • Hugo Award, 1967

"Adrenalizing, mind-stretching, conviction-testing...unmatched by any contemporary!" (Theodore Sturgeon)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (5498 )
5 star
 (3172)
4 star
 (1593)
3 star
 (517)
2 star
 (141)
1 star
 (75)
Overall
4.4 (4133 )
5 star
 (2518)
4 star
 (1101)
3 star
 (371)
2 star
 (101)
1 star
 (42)
Story
4.5 (4110 )
5 star
 (2623)
4 star
 (1024)
3 star
 (327)
2 star
 (88)
1 star
 (48)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Glenn 11-21-15
    Glenn 11-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good read of a classic"

    I first read this book in the 60s. I didn't envision the lead character as Russian. the narrator captures the sense of Russian in the same way ensign Checkov did for Star Trek.

    Heinline is a master of his craft, pulling characterization and differing viewpoints together in a belivable whole.

    I enjoyed it thoroughly and recommend it to anyone wanting a good read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David I. 11-17-15
    David I. 11-17-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb Performance... A real standout!"
    If you could sum up The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress in three words, what would they be?

    Rand for readers


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Mannie was well-developed with a sarcastic wit. He's a reluctant freedom fighter more passionate about his family and friends (including HOLMES IV "Mike") than any political ideology or objective. As with all the characters in this audiobook, the voice acting is incredibly good bringing Mannie to life for the listener.


    What does Lloyd James bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    James is the absolute best narrator I've encountered in many years of voraciously consuming audiobooks. This book is worth getting just to experience his performance!


    Any additional comments?

    Great forward looking political fiction in the tradition of Orson Scott Card, George Orwell, and Aldous Huxley. An intriguing take on the power of individual liberty versus collective organization with an acceptance of the compromises inherent in political change.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephen 11-08-15
    Stephen 11-08-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narrators accent was so bad I couldn't finish"
    What disappointed you about The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress?

    The main character is Eastern European. Unfortunately, the narrators interpretation makes me think I'm listening to "Rocky and Bullwinkle"


    What other book might you compare The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress to and why?

    I pair it with other of heinleins works, except his other, amazing pieces of science fiction, don't require the narrator to sound like a drunken racist imitating a (fake) Russian accent


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Lloyd James?

    The narrator was so busy trying to sound "exotic?" that none of the characters came across as their deep, vivid personalities deserve. I recommend Samuel L. Jackson, only because it would make me very happy


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Everything but the narration was very great, the rest was only insulting


    Any additional comments?

    Please, please don't let this narrator pretend he is from east Europe anymore. I feel genuinely disappointed that I could dislike a book by heinlein

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike 11-05-15
    mike 11-05-15 Member Since 2015

    Divorced, old, opinionated, judgmental, politically incorrect and a smarta55. If you agree with me, fine. If not, also fine.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "TANSTAAFL"

    "There ain't no such thing as a free lunch" How correct and timely this book is even though it was written years ago. "That which is immoral for one person to do to another is also immoral for a group to do to an individual".

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bart Mathis 11-05-15
    Bart Mathis 11-05-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good reading, took a bit to get used to"

    The Russian accent was thick, plus some unfamiliar words made it a bit hard to follow at first, but excellent narration overall once my ears calibrated.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Musefish Press 11-03-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very fun if somewhat dated scifi story."

    enjoyed every monent. performance captured varied cultures of mixed luna society. enhanced enjoyability emmencely. dated only due to lack of enhanced technology from mondern perspective

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ratman_42 10-10-15
    Ratman_42 10-10-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    139
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heinlein for president .. . ."

    Heinlein is a timeless master. I read this the first time in high school and just finished the audio version. Honestly I loved the audio version better than the book.

    I'm amazed at the reviews that call the book dated or boring. Yes, there are few explosions and lots of dialogue but dialogue creates characters and worlds rich enough to be worth caring about. Heinlein succeeds beautifully at this while serving up his rich political ideals.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DeeAndTee Oakland CA 10-02-15
    DeeAndTee Oakland CA 10-02-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story of revolution"

    It is a big story with lots of ideas about politics military the state that all tie-in very nicely together. I love the artificial intelligence

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zappy42 Maine 09-16-15
    Zappy42 Maine 09-16-15 Member Since 2015

    Zach

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "HELP it's too good. "

    everytime I finish a book I relisten to this just because it's that good of a book/performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew Brooke 09-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "thought provoking and fun"

    a must read for those thinking of revolution, Heinlein shows you all the important parts

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.