We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Medusa Chronicles Audiobook

The Medusa Chronicles

Regular Price:$31.59
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Following an accident that almost cost him his life, Howard Falcon was not so much saved as he was converted, through the use of prosthetics, into something faster, stronger and smarter...but also slightly less human and more machine than he was. And with this change came an opportunity - that of piloting a mission into Jupiter's atmosphere and ultimately of making first contact with the life forms he discovers there.

Picking up the threads of humanity versus artificial intelligence and machines, and of encounters with the alien, this collaborative novel between two superb writers is a sequel to Howard Falcon's adventures.

A proper science fiction adventure, this is perfect for fans of Golden Age SF as well as the modern SF listener.

Read by Peter Kenny.

©2016 Stephen Baxter & Dendrocopos Limited (P)2016 Orion Publishing Group

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.5 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Andrew
    Thorrington, United Kingdom
    9/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dull and Plodding"

    I can't find anything good to say about this. I'm a great Reynolds fan and have read or listened to all of his other work, so I listened to this in a state of disbelief. To continue Clarke's story with a 50 year old view of what technology might be like on the future is puzzling, as it fails to take into account the technology that we take for granted now. OK, this may be an alternative reality, but it is an extraordinarily tedious one.
    I know that Peter Kenny is not everyone's cup of tea, but I am quite a fan of his - normally. But on this occasion his breathless delivery is reminiscent of Nicholas Parsons much parodied introduction to Just A Minute. (Apologies to non-British readers who won't have any idea of who Nicholas Parsons is.)
    I am very disappointed with this book, it fails on every level: 2 dimensional characters, sleep inducing pace, poor delivery and a tired plot development that makes it impossible to suspend disbelief.
    The only reason I gave this 2 stars rather than 1 is because of my respect for Clarke, Reynolds and Kenny.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MR C.
    8/16/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was no chasm City"

    I felt the characters were very two-dimensional not a typical Alastair Reynolds book I don't know about Stephen Baxter as I've never read any of his books before.

    The plot was very predictable, it only really got good in the last few chapters. The best thing about this audiobook was Peter Kenny who did superb performance as usual.




    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mr BTW Carter
    8/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a reasonable space opera"

    not a bad story, enjoyed it enough but felt it could have had a little more depth

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Andreas Molgaard
    6/6/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "sublime"

    Great in all respects from a well concieved and exciting plot, with interesting lead characters and fantastic narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • David
    Edinburgh
    6/4/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good after a week start"

    Not a fan of Stephen Baxter but am a fan of Alastair Reynolds particularly his machine dystopian work. So was worried with a very lack lustre, no detail, almost comic book start. However, things really tightened up to make it a good read. Peter Kenny to a very able job of narrator, but I personally would of preferred a bit more range and gravitas

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gary Robottom
    5/26/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"

    Loved it. Tied up a lot of other stories that ended too short. Twenty words? That's a bit much for a man of only a few.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Patrick
    MORPETH, United Kingdom
    7/9/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tedious, goes nowhere very slowly"

    Oh dear, during chaper 9 I gave up for the last time; the story didn't grip or appeal and i lost the will to keep on listening.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Andrew Delaney
    5/29/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "C+/B-"
    Any additional comments?

    I'm normally a fan of Alastair Reynolds, but this book... I can't put my finger on it from the randomness of the story as it jumped about, or the narration, to subject matter. It just didn't seem like one of his books. Probably just me, as many people seems to have liked this book, but I don't think I will be listening to the rest of the series.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Paul
    6/2/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok but narration odd"

    Good story
    Main characters voice good but most other characters voices seemed to be at double speed. Very odd and difficult to listen to at times. Maybe a technical problem?

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.