We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Lost Fleet: Valiant | [Jack Campbell]

The Lost Fleet: Valiant

Deep within Syndicate Worlds' space, the Alliance fleet continues its dangerous journey home under the command of Captain John "Black Jack" Geary, who was revived after a century spent in suspended animation. Geary's victories over the enemy have earned him both the respect and the envy of his fellow officers.
Regular Price:$22.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Deep within Syndicate Worlds' space, the Alliance fleet continues its dangerous journey home under the command of Captain John "Black Jack" Geary, who was revived after a century spent in suspended animation. Geary's victories over the enemy have earned him both the respect and the envy of his fellow officers.

Geary has made many risky decisions as commander, especially in ordering the Alliance fleet back to the Lakota Star System, where it was nearly destroyed by the Syndics. It's a desperate gamble that may buy Geary just enough time to prepare for the Syndics' inevitable return, and give the fleet a fighting chance at survival.

But even as he struggles to stay one step ahead of the enemy, Geary must face conspirators within his own fleet who want a change of command and are willing to do anything to bring it about. Geary knows that his fleet must stand together or the Syndic forces will tear them apart.

BONUS AUDIO: Author Jack Campbell explains why he sees Valiant as the latest in a long tradition of "sea stories".

Get Lost! Listen to the rest of the Lost Fleet series.

©2008 John G. Hemry; (P)2008 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3419 )
5 star
 (1873)
4 star
 (1186)
3 star
 (293)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (22)
Overall
4.4 (2431 )
5 star
 (1362)
4 star
 (820)
3 star
 (216)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.6 (2426 )
5 star
 (1575)
4 star
 (702)
3 star
 (130)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sailfish 05-12-13
    Sailfish 05-12-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    320
    56
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beginning to flounder"

    Too much repetitiveness and constant paragraph stuffing with refer-backs to conditions on the Fleet's ethics and cowboyism from when he first entered the scene. While I had enjoyed the relationship plot arc between him,Victoria Rione and Captain Tanya Desjani in priors books, it's now becoming tedious and over-wrought.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Varba 05-06-13
    Varba 05-06-13 Member Since 2011

    Avid science fiction & fantasy reader.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Four" too much"

    The story is killed by a ridiculous amount of repetitive crap. Over and over we're given full descriptions of characters, relationships, and realities of the universe that were explained in book one.

    I only listened to the book because I hoped in vain that some of the details would be skipped in this, the fourth book, and it would get on with the story.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    madrigan Campton Hills, Illinois, United States 03-25-13
    madrigan Campton Hills, Illinois, United States 03-25-13 Member Since 2011

    muttman

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You will not be disappointed"

    I tried out book one of the Lost Fleet series and was hooked. Haven't been able to set these down. Having been a career Marine during the same time as the author was in the US Navy, we shared some of the same experiences of sorts. From book 1 to now 4 I have been thrilled and thoroughly entertained for hours on end.

    I usually listen to a book on my way to and from work, but find that even when I get home I'll continue to listen to the book due to its riveting nature. It is a wonderful ride not only of science fiction but also of leadership which principles are timeless.

    Christian Rummel does an excellent job in this narration and is one of the better audio book narrators in the tradition of George Guidall and Patrick Tull.

    If you want a read or a listen that will capture your attention and keep you on and off the edge of your seat, become a fan of "Black Jack" Geary and the Alliance Fleets struggles to return home.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer clewiston, FL, United States 03-11-13
    Amazon Customer clewiston, FL, United States 03-11-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    88
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Same book as the last repeat"

    I'm going to finish the series out because I'm not a quiter. The series is too much of the same story with tiny twist over and over. The character's motivations and thinking is often way over explained by the author. The love story or lack of love story is dull to say the least.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shaun Cedar City, UT, United States 02-25-13
    Shaun Cedar City, UT, United States 02-25-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I want to reenlist"
    Where does The Lost Fleet: Valiant rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    One of the best series of books, not necessarily a Wheel of Time series but on par with John Ringo's Legacy of the Aldenata Series.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ken Mercadante 11-02-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    142
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More Grand Space Opera"

    If you like hard (okay, maybe just a little squishy) science fiction with a huge dose of drama and solid, if not overly deep, characters, Jack Campbell is an author to keep on your list. I've listened to the whole Lost Fleet and Beyond the Frontier series', and there wasn't a slow or disappointing book in the bunch.

    It's all about politics and space combat, and a clash of cultures that could ultimately save humanity.

    My only complaint (and it's really petty), is that by naming the books after random ships it's a little hard to keep track of what order they come in. I needed a cheat sheet that I kept on a memo in my Blackberry so I knew in what order to listen.

    I said it was petty.

    Great narration by Christian Rummel. For space opera and science fiction fans these are a great listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    a Dahinda, IL, United States 05-29-12
    a Dahinda, IL, United States 05-29-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent series"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Lost Fleet: Valiant to be better than the print version?

    I love the audio version, not read the print version.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I didn't have one favorite scene, rather I was enthralled by the chain of events in the story.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I thought the author did a wonderful job of balancing science on one hand and story telling on the other.


    Any additional comments?

    I knew I was going to read the whole series after listening to the first engagement where Blackjack leads the fleet to safety. Interesting characters, interesting conflicts and situations. I really enjoyed the book. By the way, the narrator is great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Brewster, NY, United States 07-05-11
    Mark Brewster, NY, United States 07-05-11 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    207
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    400
    98
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I never burn a credit for a book under 10 hrs."

    I would have given 4 stars but the author could have combined all these books into 2. He must have split them up to make more money. Way too short to be worth a credit.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randerson Tejas 03-12-09
    Randerson Tejas 03-12-09 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    285
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Valiant Effort"

    I read for information, I read for inspiration.... but sometimes I just want to escape and be entertained...I can't wait for the next book.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Cook 07-05-08
    S. Cook 07-05-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "I can't wait for the next book!"

    This series continues to get better after each novel.

    If you enjoy space battles and sci-fi "war" novels, you can't go wrong with all of the Lost Fleet books.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 31-40 of 45 results PREVIOUS1345NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.