We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

The Girl with All the Gifts

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (17571 )
5 star
 (8753)
4 star
 (6202)
3 star
 (1945)
2 star
 (452)
1 star
 (219)
Overall
4.2 (16158 )
5 star
 (7850)
4 star
 (5465)
3 star
 (2079)
2 star
 (506)
1 star
 (258)
Story
4.6 (16151 )
5 star
 (10594)
4 star
 (4345)
3 star
 (953)
2 star
 (159)
1 star
 (100)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rosa Maria Rodriguez 10-01-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story!"

    I was hooked from beginning to end! The characters and storyline were great! Also, the narrator really brought each character to life with her reading of the material.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia 09-30-16
    Cynthia 09-30-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Phenomenal"

    A captivating read that's filled with just the right mix of horror and science fiction. Highly recommended for apocalypse lovers.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lora S. 09-30-16
    Lora S. 09-30-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great story"

    The story opens in an institution that has the feel of a mental hospital or a prison but turns out to be a research facility whose avowed purpose is to discover some kind of cure or vaccine for this fungal infection. The institution is located in the middle of nowhere and heavily guarded by military types to keep it from being invaded by the remaining victims of the infection, known as “hungries”.

    At the heart of the institution are a group of children. They are kept permanently locked down – shut up in cells, handcuffed, locked into their wheelchairs. They are fed nothing but grubs. The staff of the institution regards them as animals, or less than animals. But they are being educated. And they are very intelligent.

    The story follows Melanie, evidently the brightest of them all. One really bad day, Melanie is taken to the doctor’s office instead of to class. Her favorite teacher, Ms. Justineau comes to try to save her. And just then, the base is invaded by the “hungries” and nothing can stay the same.

    Melanie, even though she is a "hungry" turns out to be more human than most of the other characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pecile 09-30-16
    Pecile 09-30-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening"

    Wonderfully written and great audio performance. Highly recommend!!! Just make sure you have a cleared schedule!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony 09-29-16
    Anthony 09-29-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "5 stars is not enough"

    awesome book very entertaining till the very end five stars is not enough. after listening I had my wife listen to it. would recommend this book to anyone who loves or even just likes zombie apocalypse books.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larita 09-28-16
    Larita 09-28-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gifts"


    Interesting story. Zombies rule. It kept my interest. Hopefully there will be a sequel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Padilla CA 09-27-16 Member Since 2012

    I like books that may cause me to crash my car due to their enthralling story.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I was a walking bag of tears for the first 1/4"

    This is a very emotional piece that explores humanity and what it is made of? One of the best parts of this piece is the fact you are able to see a problem through different lenses (Scientific, Military, Educational, and the Girl with all the gifts). The narrator is really good.

    It had a surprising conclusion, but do not want to spoil it. This is a book that you will not be able to put down. But be forewarn it is graphic.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jordan 09-26-16
    jordan 09-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good short listen if you enjoy the genre"

    characters seemed slightly generic at times. otherwise great with a couple good twist. left me excited to see the movie and the prequel coming out. nothing over the top, but enough for me to really enjoy. ending was A+

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story from beginning to end the best!!!!"

    This book kept me on edge the whole time! We have all listened to it at work!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Lilienthal 09-24-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disturbing"

    Couldn't stop listening, even though it's a REALLY creepy story. Wish I didn't have it in my head...

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.