We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Stars: Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian | [Janis Ian (editor), Mike Resnick]

Stars: Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian

Thirty original stories - each inspired by a Janis Ian song - from some of the biggest names in science fiction and fantasy, including: Tad Williams, Harry Turtledove, Orson Scott Card, Joe Haldeman, John Varley, Mercedes Lackey, Judith Tarr, Janis Ian, and others.
Regular Price:$34.94
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. Stars is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote the story expressly for Stars, creating a meld of jazz, prose, and science fiction found nowhere else - a treasure trove for fans of both SF and Janis Ian!

Ian, who won the Grammy Award for spoken-word entertainment for Society's Child, joins the cast of this intimate and unique audiobook to narrate portions of Stars and also to perform the music that inspired each story.

This edition of Stars also features an original new story by Michael Swanwick, "For I Have Lain Me Down on the Stone of Loneliness and I'll Not Be Back Again", based on "Mary's Eyes", a Janis Ian song that has always moved him to tears.

Stars was compiled and edited by Mike Resnick and Janis Ian and includes stories by Nebula winners and such science fiction greats as Joe Haldeman, Jane Yolen, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, and more. It also includes Ian's first original story, "Prayerville".

As Janis herself says, "The stories have heart. They have life. They have truth. They move me. As an artist, I can ask for nothing more."

©2003 Janis Ian and Mike Resnick (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (9 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.6 (9 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Justdar 07-20-14
    Justdar 07-20-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listening was even better than reading!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Stars to be better than the print version?

    Yes, which surprised me.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Stars?

    Janis Ian reading Kage Baker's story


    Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favorite?

    The maiden aunts, in Nightmare Mountain as read by Janis Ian


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Loved the whole thing


    Any additional comments?

    Never thought I'd get more out of listening than reading a book, but in this case I did.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results
Sort by:
  • Ernesta
    Lithuania
    7/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Music that inspires"
    Any additional comments?

    I stumbled upon Stars while listening to one of the most beautiful books I've ever read: Janis Ian's Society's Child. Being a fan of science fiction, I got intrigued - you don't get to read short stories based on music very often. Boy was it good! But not in the "cool stories" sense. I rather loved the book for its diversity and authenticity. Diversity, because I got to know authors I've never read before (and some I loved, while the others are surely not my type). Authenticity, because it somehow felt... Real. It was real Janis singing before every story, real authors writing about real songs I've heard. It is sort of like magic, really - Janis somehow managed to make it all so personal I was sure the narrator was reading the story to me and me alone. So yes, if you like stories, you should read the book. It will inspire you, just like music does.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.