We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Siege Audiobook

Siege: As the World Dies, Book 3

The zombie illness has shattered civilization. The survivors, who have found tenuous safety in Texas, defend their fort against the walking dead and living bandits. The people of Ashley Oaks are stunned to discover that the vice president of the United States is alive and commanding the remnants of the US military. And what’s left of the US government has plans for this group of determined survivors.
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Siege is the conclusion to Rhiannon Frater’s As the World Dies trilogy, which should appeal to fans of The Walking Dead. Both The First Days and Fighting to Survive won the Dead Letter Award from Mail Order Zombie. The First Days was named one of the Best Zombie Books of the Decade by the Harrisburg Book Examiner.

The zombie illness has shattered civilization. The survivors, who have found tenuous safety in Texas, defend their fort against the walking dead and living bandits. Katie has made peace with the death of her wife and is pregnant and married to Travis, who has been elected mayor. Jenni; her stepson, Jason; and Juan - Travis’s right-hand man - are a happy family, though Jenni suffers from PTSD. Both women are deadly zombie killers.

In Siege, the people of Ashley Oaks are stunned to discover that the vice president of the United States is alive and commanding the remnants of the US military. And what’s left of the US government has plans for this group of determined survivors.

©2009, 2012 Rhiannon Frater (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"There's a lot of great zombie fiction out there, but Rhiannon Frater sets the gold standard. She's got the goods." (Joe McKinney, author of Dead City and Apocalypse of the Dead)

"The First Days is one of the few zombie novels fueled by the power of feminine protagonists in an apocalyptic world gone wrong." (Harrisburg Book Examiner, "Best Zombie Books of the Decade")

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (307 )
5 star
 (159)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (277 )
5 star
 (145)
4 star
 (86)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (273 )
5 star
 (163)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kellie Baker Georgia, USA 04-01-15
    Kellie Baker Georgia, USA 04-01-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved all 3 books want more"

    all 3 books were great. great backround on the characters but not overboard. great story believable. I like when characters are not safe from harm. it keeps you in the story. I found myself laughing cheering and crying. please keep the story going.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH, United States 12-26-14
    Michelle SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH, United States 12-26-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Free-spirited. Love it!"

    I have just read all 6 books in the "As the World Dies" series. This review is long, because it embraces them all. I give them all a 5-star rating. The things that I like best about these books are: strong female characters, including some women in leadership roles, and taking risks right along with the men. Also there is a small military presence, and most of the soldiers are working to help survivors. They are not the power-hungry, evil,male chauvenistic bullies that most post-apocalyptic authors seem to make them. If you have read other reviews from me, then you know how tired I am of books where women take secondary or submissive roles, and the men do everything, and make all the decisions. There is none of that in this book. I love the fact that some of the best soldiers are women. I love the fact that the survivors are just ordinary people, not heavily armed, special forces types. I hope other authors will follow Ms. Frater's lead.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shannon 01-15-14
    Shannon 01-15-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    120
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic end to the series!"
    What did you love best about Siege?

    This wasn't a nice happy perfect end to the series, but an appropriate one. It was as action packed as the other two but still gave you the completion you wanted.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The best part of these books was how real they were. I know thats funny since its a zombie story. But they didn't shy away from the thinks a lot of books in this genre do, like the fact there are, or would be, child zombies.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    That's hard to say without giving away spoilers.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "Your Loco, Loco!"


    Any additional comments?

    These books would make a fantastic movie. I hope they will be picked up.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea Anchorage, AK, United States 08-28-12
    Andrea Anchorage, AK, United States 08-28-12 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    238
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent conclusion to the best zombie story!"
    Where does Siege rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The series is the best zombie story that I have heard to date, and Siege ranks #2.


    What other book might you compare Siege to and why?

    Day by day Armegeddon, because it's another really good zombie story of the same caliber.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The excitement at the mall( I don't want to spoil the story with specifics)


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    In a world overrun by the living dead, man is still the most dangerous predator.


    Any additional comments?

    This story has everything! Great character development, drama, suspense, intensity, and thrills! Cassandra Campbell does an amazing job of breathing life into the characters. You care about them, and Cassandra has much to do with that.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.