We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Malice Audiobook
Malice
Written by: 
John Gwynne
Narrated by: 
John Keating
Malice Audiobook

Malice: The Faithful and the Fallen, Book 1

Regular Price:$45.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this epic fantasy debut (perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin), John Gwynne takes listeners to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past. Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin's rule - to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood.

Evnis has sacrificed - too much it seems. But what he wants - the power to rule - will soon be in his grasp. And nothing will stop him once he has started on his path.

Veradis is the newest member of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair. He is one of the most skilled swordsman to come out of his homeland, yet he is always under the shadow of his older brother. Nathair has ideas - and a lot of plans. Many of them don't involve his father, the High King Aquilus. Nor does he agree with his father's idea to summon his fellow kings to council.

©2012 John Gwynne (P)2013 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (306 )
5 star
 (136)
4 star
 (100)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.1 (282 )
5 star
 (123)
4 star
 (96)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (12)
Story
4.0 (280 )
5 star
 (124)
4 star
 (90)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Brian L. Manley Oklahoma, USA 02-08-14
    Brian L. Manley Oklahoma, USA 02-08-14 Member Since 2012

    I enjoy Epic Fantasy & Sci-Fi. Some of my favorite series are: Game of Thrones The Riyria Chronicles The Farseer Trilogy First Law World

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"

    I'm no stranger to epic fantasy books. They are by far my favorite type books to listen to. Malice is right up there with the Riyian Chronicles, The Blood Song, The Desert Spear, and yes even The Game of Thrones series. It may not rank #1 on my list, but it's right up there in my top-5.

    Malice may start just a little slow, but you soon find yourself engrossed. It's the kind of book that you're listening to in the car and you get in the driveway of your home, only to spend the next 5-10 minutes listening for just a little longer. It won't disappoint!

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rolf the Ruf Bear, DE, United States 03-17-14
    Rolf the Ruf Bear, DE, United States 03-17-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best new author since Michael J. Sulivan"

    This was a great find. Not since I stumbled upon Michael J Sulivan's roguish characters Hadrian and Royce have I enjoyed a new novel so. Make no mistake, this is not exactly a similar journey. But it has a few things in common: An intriguing plot, great character development and edge-of-your-seat action! I truly enjoyed it and highly recommend it to all lovers of epic fantasy. Can't wait for the next one!

    John Keating's narration may have missed a proper inflection here and there, but overall I enjoyed the amusing array of Scots, Irish and low English brogues he utilized to distinguished the characters.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Megan San Diego, CA, USA 03-30-14
    Megan San Diego, CA, USA 03-30-14 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book"

    Excellent book! One of the few I've given 5 stars. The narration was good, but could be better. The reader speaks in a halting manner, pausing in strange places. Regardless, the narration is good enough and the story is great. I bought the book as it was an Audible recommendation based on my having read the King of Thrones series, and it is similar. With only one book in the series published at this time (next book, Valor to release July 22, 14), I cannot say how it compares to KOT overall. I can say John Gwynne has made a great start with Malice. I hope the full series is as good.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 12-08-15
    Ryan 12-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Immensely entertaining and intricate story"

    Beautiful writing and overall fantastic character development. I found myself extremely attached to some of the main characters very early on in this very long novel. I truly grew to love and hate certain characters throughout the book which I tribute to a fantastic author. The author does an exceptional job at creating an intricate, beautiful and expansive world to tell the story. This has certainly made it to my top 10 list of novels and I am anxiously awaiting the release of the next two books on audio book which I have yet to be able to find.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim Erie, Pa 03-11-15
    Kim Erie, Pa 03-11-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An awesome tale to fall into and never put down!"

    This author builds such deep character descriptions and creative story lines that I don't want to put it down!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-01-15

    Sci-Fi and Fantasy listener.-

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great storytelling and characters"

    The build up of the characters took a while but the payoff was worth the wait. Intense and action filled with lots of swords and sorcery.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian 12-06-14
    Brian 12-06-14 Member Since 2011

    Enthusiast

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring story and lackluster narration"

    I really tried with this one. I'd heard great things. But I just couldn't get all the way through it. The story was a very straightforward cookie-cutter fantasy. I really felt like I knew a lot of what was going to happen from the outset. But I also didn't care about any of the characters.

    I listened to this and attempted to read the kindle version at the same time. I found that the book was a bit better when I read it than when I listened. The narration was just so flat that it was hard to stay focused. There were characters with similar names (especially when spoken). This was enough of a problem that even halfway through the book (which admittedly is about where I stopped) I would still have to stop and try to figure out who was who.

    Eventually I got to the point where I had like 14 hours left and I just couldn't imagine spending that much time listening to a book that I don't really like. So I stopped.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert Earl Phoenix, AZ USA 12-13-14
    Robert Earl Phoenix, AZ USA 12-13-14 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    115
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Big disappointment"

    With all of the rave reviews this book received I was looking forward to getting into another good series. But it turned out to be a big disappointment. It drug on and on and I kept waiting for it to get better, but it never did. The author was trying to develop quite a few characters so that played into the slow pace, but I just couldn't get into the story enough to put up with the slow pace. I gave up before I got to the end.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jake 07-12-16
    jake 07-12-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good book no sequels on here why"
    Any additional comments?

    why are the sequels of this great book not on audible i have been looking for it since it first came out and it is driving me nuts that its not on here i wrote a review on amazon complaining of the same thing and i dont get it just put the 3 sequels on here already!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aleta M. Nichols Wyoming USA 06-22-16
    Aleta M. Nichols Wyoming USA 06-22-16 Member Since 2014

    Catholic

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story...but the reader"

    Well crafted story and characters, but reader kept me from loving it. He gave even the most serious moments a lilting, skipping tra-la-la rhythm that didn't match the action. It was very distracting for me. A unique and engaging tale. I will get the other 2 in the trilogy and hope for a different reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.