We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Lord of the Isles: Lord of the Isles, Book 1 | [David Drake]

Lord of the Isles: Lord of the Isles, Book 1

With Lord of the Isles, David Drake returns to fantasy with a towering and complex epic of heroic adventure in an extraordinary and colorful world where the elemental forces that empower magic are rising to a thousand-year peak. In the days following an unusually severe storm, the inhabitants of a tiny seaport town travel toward romance, danger, and astonishing magic that will transform them and their world.
Regular Price:$29.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

With Lord of the Isles, David Drake returns to fantasy with a towering and complex epic of heroic adventure in an extraordinary and colorful world where the elemental forces that empower magic are rising to a thousand-year peak.

In the days following an unusually severe storm, the inhabitants of a tiny seaport town travel toward romance, danger, and astonishing magic that will transform them and their world.

©1997 David Drake (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (52 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.6 (46 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (46 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Higuchi San Antonio, TX, United States 04-06-13
    Higuchi San Antonio, TX, United States 04-06-13

    An educator exploring the wonders of the world.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    180
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The start of an epic"

    Well told story told in the classic fantasy style of myth, magic, and mayhem. Michael Pages does a great reading creating distinct characters as he introduces us to the Lord of the Isles saga. David Drake lays out a solid foundation to build his world. Great ear candy if your looking for a good fantasy tale.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Professor Lust Mankato, MN 11-25-13
    Professor Lust Mankato, MN 11-25-13 Member Since 2005

    lust_82

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic Fantasy-Lite"
    Where does Lord of the Isles rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Its decent. It deserves more of a 3.5 star rating than a 4 but it didn't deserve a 3 star. The strength is in its pacing which is quick and requires close attention from the listener.

    Drake does not spend as much time in characterization as authors such as Robert Jordan or GRRM. However, in doing so he also avoid the traps that Robert Jordan and GRRM both fall into which is repetitive characterizations that get really boring when you're binge listening.


    What other book might you compare Lord of the Isles to and why?

    This can be considered a lighter version of Robert Jordan.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Griffin, GA, United States 11-08-14
    John Griffin, GA, United States 11-08-14 Member Since 2011

    Audiobooks! WOOO!!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Give this Series a Shot!"

    I might be a little biased because I LOVED these books when I first found them at my local library all the way back in 2008 (eleven years after the first one was printed). But listening to them on Audible has reminded me so much of why I loved them and why they - periodically - drive me a little batty.

    This series is great for a lot of reasons. First, it has all the classic fantasy tropes you could ask for (and Tropes Are Not Bad). There’s a young shepherd boy who would become king; a maiden in peril who seeks not only safety, but agency; a strong man whose simple country values will help him resist the temptation; and at least two wise old sages to give advice to our heroes on their quests. These tropes are used, but this series avoids some of the pits fantasy books are wont to fall into. There are, for instance, as many complex and interesting female characters in this series as there are males. And these women all have goals, motivations, and friendships outside of the main cast; nary a refrigerator to be found.
    Second, while the books have a large cast of characters who go their separate ways, they’re never apart for longer than the length of each individual book. When I read these the first time, I found it was fun to skip around and follow each character’s journey separately until the very end. This isn’t nearly as easy with the audiobook format, but neither is it difficult to keep track like it can be with other fantasy series with a plenitude of characters (see: Wheel of Time, Song of Ice and Fire, etc).

    Third, the characters and the world feel very “lived in.” We know what kind of beer each character likes. We learn how they wear their clothes and if they prefers shoes to sandals. We never question their motivations because their characters are so fleshed out the author knows what each character “would” do were they real. Each island has its own customs and flavors without becoming “the island of brickmakers” or “the island of miners.”
    However, this series might not appeal to you for a few reasons. First, well, it has all the classic fantasy tropes. Sure David Drake uses them to their greatest effect in the vein of David Eddings and Brandon Sanderson, but if you’re looking for something else besides another story about a Chosen One who has a Destiny (or in this story Duty), then you won’t find it here.

    Second, the novels are each essentially the same story. There’s an over-arching goal that all the books are aiming towards but in every novel you can count on one particular character being kidnapped or otherwise separated from her friends and another particular character going to her rescue. Each novel has the characters going on their separate journeys, but miraculously all ending up in the same place around the same time to save the day. There’s nothing inherently wrong with this, but it could get tiresome for some readers.

    Third, and this bothered me the first time I read this, there’s no sex. I’m not saying I want explicit scenes like something out of a Laurell K Hamilton book. But there’s legitimately no confirmation one way or the other that any of the relationships have been consummated by any act of intimacy. There are a lot of fingertips being rested on wrists and meaningful looks, but nothing even hints that their relationships have gone beyond seventh graders holding hands in the cafeteria. One of the main character’s entire motivation for the first novel is his love for a woman. And by the third novel there’s still no sign that he hasn’t been friendzoned. So if you’re looking for some romance, this isn’t the place.

    All in all, I’d say this series, and the first novel especially, balance out pretty well. There are a few moments here and there where the Big Bads are dispatched rather more handily and with less cost than one might assume possible, but those moments are few and forgivable. Give this series a shot if you haven’t yet.

    One note on the narration: this series utilizes some sound effects like echoes and double-voice layering and pitch altering during some of the magicky sequences. It’s not terribly bad, but it might not be your thing. Beyond that, however, Michael Page does a splendid job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randy 04-07-14
    Randy 04-07-14 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to follow with little to keep your attention"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Deeper story hooks. I felt there was nothing of any substance to keep my attention to the point I only listened to it because I purchased it.


    Has Lord of the Isles turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No. Even as poorly entertaining as this audio book, and the whole series, have been I will continue to listen.


    How could the performance have been better?

    I'm not sure anything could have been done to improve the performance of this series. I feel it was poorly read but I believe that was the story and not the reader.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment for sure.


    Any additional comments?

    If you are still considering listening to this series please only get the first book before getting the whole series. It could be I was just looking for something more like a Robert Jordan or Salvatore type read.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve Riverside, CA, United States 05-10-13
    Steve Riverside, CA, United States 05-10-13 Member Since 2011

    steamvent

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Confusing, bloody, poorly read."

    This book was very confusing and annoying. It switches about every chapter between three groups of characters. The groups are similar enough (he-man and girl) that it takes a while to figure out which group he is talking about now. That doesn't get better as you go along. It just gets very annoying!
    Another bad part is the bloody animal and human sacrifices. You have throats cut and blood spurting. It's really disgusting. David Drake also talks about how there is no morality, and what is past is past. Nooo we wouldn't wand to judge anyone would we?

    The reading: There is a female character that Michael Page has to read. He completely fails with a tortured high male voice. It's revolting. Fail!

    2 of 14 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.