We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Hellhole: Awakening: The Hellhole Trilogy, Book 2 | [Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson]

Hellhole: Awakening: The Hellhole Trilogy, Book 2

After declaring his independence from the corrupt Constellation, rebel General Adolphus knows the crackdown is coming. Now he needs to pull together the struggling Hellhole colony, the ever-expanding shadow-Xayan settlement, and his connections with the other Deep Zone worlds. Even then, he doubts his desperate measures will be enough. Diadem Michella Duchenet has collected a huge space fleet led by Commodore Escobar Hallholme, son of the hero who originally defeated Adolphus.
Regular Price:$41.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

After declaring his independence from the corrupt Constellation, rebel General Adolphus knows the crackdown is coming. Now he needs to pull together the struggling Hellhole colony, the ever-expanding shadow-Xayan settlement, and his connections with the other Deep Zone worlds. Even then, he doubts his desperate measures will be enough. Diadem Michella Duchenet has collected a huge space fleet led by Commodore Escobar Hallholme, son of the hero who originally defeated Adolphus. They expect resistance from the General's rebels, but who could possibly stand up to such a mighty fleet?

Adolphus knows he’s running out of time, but he still has some hope - the shadow-Xayans have banded together to defend their sacred planet with "telemancy". But can they discover new powers to protect all the stored alien lives on the already devastated world?

And when all hope seems lost, the awakened Xayans reveal information hidden even from their own followers - the existence of a bigger threat that makes even the Constellation fleet seem insignificant. Disaster has come for General Adolphus and Hellhole...and this time there is no escape.

©2013 DreamStar, Inc. and WordFire, Inc. (P)2013 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (159 )
5 star
 (80)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.2 (148 )
5 star
 (76)
4 star
 (40)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.4 (146 )
5 star
 (88)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    William Emerson, MB, Canada 04-04-13
    William Emerson, MB, Canada 04-04-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    646
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really enjoy this series"

    There are story lines and sub plots, and intersecting and diverging relationships, challenging new worlds and conflicting ideologies that lead to war, advanced technologies and creatures with new talents. What more could you ask for in great SF Novel! All the pieces are here, great plot line and rich well developed characters, exceptional leadership and inept. The narration is outstanding. Read or listen to the first book if you have not already done so. Once I started listening to the book I couldn't stop. When does the next book hit the street?! Keep writing Kevin and Brian. Well done as usual Scott.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert Patterson Calgary, AB Canada 08-09-13
    Robert Patterson Calgary, AB Canada 08-09-13 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    120
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too predictable with over the top narration."

    I am literally half way through this series and I will stop here. The plot line is far too predictable, and though I usually like Scott Brick as a narrator, he is just laying it on too thick. Sorry guys... I will check out the next Herbert-Anderson endeavor, and hope it is not like this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Apple Valley, CA, United States 07-06-13
    Brian Apple Valley, CA, United States 07-06-13 Member Since 2010

    Long haul commuter. Audiobooks keep me from causing serious physical harm to my fellow commuters. Bless you, Audible!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    139
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Hellhole Saga Continues.."

    Fans of Brian Herbert & Kevin Anderson will enjoy this departure from the Dune universe. This is the second in the series and does not stand alone.

    The story continues where the first book left off and there is no question that there will be a third, at least.

    So this book is a Second Act, albeit a good listen. We learn more about the aliens that inhabit Hellhole and there is great drama.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Church Ormond Beach, FL, United States 07-03-13
    Church Ormond Beach, FL, United States 07-03-13 Member Since 2004

    I am a web professional who loves reading but life doesn't afford enough time if you are living at the speed of the internet. Audio books were my salvation. I love Science Fiction first and foremost, then Fantasy, and then anything else I can find that sounds interesting.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this series"
    What did you love best about Hellhole: Awakening?

    Character depth and political intrigue in a science fiction setting.


    Any additional comments?

    I really love this series - it reminds me distinctly of another series that Anderson wrote but I loved that series too so that was ok for me. The only issue I had at all with this novel is I wanted to the Antagonist on the throne to be less cartoonish and have more depth.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Houston, TX, United States 06-08-13
    Paul Houston, TX, United States 06-08-13 Member Since 2002

    I've been an Audie Awards judge since 2008. I have enjoyed audiobooks since the days when they were called "Books on Tape".

    HELPFUL VOTES
    99
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    13
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scott Brick outdoes himself"

    This is a great new series of books. The narration is superb. The story is captivating. (spoiler alert) - I only wish the writers had not killed off the comedic relief of Vincent and Fernando. They would have been a great pair to spin off in a whole new adventure. However, the writer does an excellent job at presenting technology in small enough amounts so as to not completely lose the reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna Montpelier, VA, United States 04-30-13
    Donna Montpelier, VA, United States 04-30-13 Listener Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"
    What did you love best about Hellhole: Awakening?

    Fabulous book and I really love Scott Brick as the reader! A pleasure to listen to .


    Have you listened to any of Scott Brick’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    He is always great!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott Salem, OR, United States 05-18-13
    Scott Salem, OR, United States 05-18-13 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    184
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mediocer continuation"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No, because while I'm interested in the ideas the book explores it takes forever to actually get anything done. I feel this story could have been covered in half the time.


    Would you recommend Hellhole: Awakening to your friends? Why or why not?

    I would only recommend it if they where heavy fans of Mr. Herbert or Mr. Anderson


    What three words best describe Scott Brick’s performance?

    Very Fair, I just think the material dragged the story done some.


    Was Hellhole: Awakening worth the listening time?

    A little, but not the full time it took to listen to it.


    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-7 of 7 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.