We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Healing: The Flu, Book 2 | [Jacqueline Druga]

Healing: The Flu, Book 2

A deadly flu pandemic has decimated humanity. Now, the remaining 20 percent of the population must rise from the ashes to rebuild. The losses are great and no one is immune to the residual heartache that lingers in the air of the barren cities. Life goes on. Mick Owens, struggling to come to terms with his own grief, takes his surviving young sons away from their hometown and the memories it holds. But their short trip to clear their minds turns ugly when the world outside of Lodi, Ohio, isn’t what they expected.
Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Fans of The Andromeda Strain, The Road, and similarly dystopian novels may enjoy this second installment of Jacqueline Druga's Flu series. The story follows a father named Mick Owens as he attempts to rebuild his life and protect his sons after a deadly influenza epidemic has all but destroyed humanity. Performer Dave Courvoisier's voice conveys the sadness and emptiness the characters feel in the wake of all they've lost, while the dark, suspenseful, and conflict-ridden ridden plot will keep listeners engaged.

Publisher's Summary

A deadly flu pandemic has decimated humanity. Now, the remaining 20 percent of the population must rise from the ashes to rebuild. The losses are great and no one is immune to the residual heartache that lingers in the air of the barren cities. Life goes on.

Mick Owens, struggling to come to terms with his own grief, takes his surviving young sons away from their hometown and the memories it holds. But their short trip to clear their minds turns ugly when the world outside of Lodi, Ohio, isn’t what they expected, and they become separated.

In a world without communication and power, a land without law and order, Mick desperately follows the trail in search of his missing sons. But in his attempts to find them, he discovers that even in a barren world, the danger of extinction still exists as another threat, one even bigger than the flu. And it is on the horizon.

©2013 Jacqueline Druga (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (9 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (10 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    AudioBookReviewer Madison, WI, United States 07-30-14
    AudioBookReviewer Madison, WI, United States 07-30-14 Member Since 2011

    All of my reviews are on my blog audiobookreviewer dot com

    HELPFUL VOTES
    589
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    191
    160
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    82
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "more about the characters and their circumstances"

    The main characters are all still in this one (those that survived anyway!!!) and I was really pleased to see that it just kicked right off where the first ended. The characters that I loved in The Flu were fabulous again here and their growth in such a short amount of time was amazing. But really, under these conditions it has to be.

    What I really enjoyed was the narrator. When listening to an audio the narration can really make or break the story but Dave Courvoisier was able to not only keep with the punches of the story but he really made it evident in his voice. Being the only narrator to a story, I think, puts a lot of pressure on that narrator to ensure that each personality comes through, and he did a lovely job. While I'm on the subject of the audio, it was really well done. The production quality was on par with what I would expect for an audio.

    So, overall this storyline, although apocalyptic, was much more about the characters and their circumstances and how they reacted to those circumstances. The plot for each individual was pretty easy to follow although there are a lot of characters in this. I think the author did a great job of keeping the voice for each character separate from the others, and again, if the narrator wouldn't have been so damn good it would have failed with so many characters!

    And much like the first, be ready for tears at the end, or close to it. I got so into what was happening with the characters that any foreshadowing of bad circumstances left me very anxious. I just want everything to be happy!! Yes, even in an apocalyptic story! The ending was great and fit well with what the author had set throughout. I really wish she would have set out to do a third.

    Audiobook provided for review by the author.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.