We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Haraken Audiobook

Haraken: A Silver Ships Novel, Book 4

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Nine years of tranquility came to an abrupt end when a Méridien starship entered the Hellébore system, sounding a dire warning for Alex Racine, the Haraken president. Unwanted visitors had arrived again. But this time, they're not alien; they're human.

Claiming to have followed the course of a colony ship launched a millennium ago when Earth wrestled with resource wars and climate change, the mission commander, Antonio García, requests a meeting with the planet's leaders. The Earthers profess a kinship with all humans, and their great desire is to have Méridien join their United Earth (UE).

Alex Racine journeys to Méridien to investigate and uncover the Earthers' intentions. In the Haraken world, SADEs (self-aware digital entities) have been freed from their boxes aboard the Méridien-built starships. The mobile SADEs are powerful players in Alex's strategies, inventing ingenious methods to investigate the Earthers and their ship.

Complicating matters, the Méridien leadership is in turmoil. The Council Leader insists her people ignore the Earthers, but this path has costs. As tensions escalate, García sends a request for support to his superiors back on Earth, lest his discovery of the rich, Méridien worlds, boasting unbelievable advanced technology, slip through his grasp. A UE battleshiop heeds the call, escalating the pressure for action.

Join the journey as the Harakens and Méridiens work together to protect their planets, and their way of life, from the newest invaders.

©2016 S. H. Jucha (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (310 )
5 star
 (214)
4 star
 (82)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (286 )
5 star
 (198)
4 star
 (69)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (288 )
5 star
 (208)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mokujin Battle Ground,WA USA 08-22-16
    Mokujin Battle Ground,WA USA 08-22-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good SciFi story"

    The story was very good. The main con is that there was too much about what Alex and Renee were doing together. Got tired of her always "curling up" next to him or in his lap. It's a space adventure! Enough with the cheesy romance.
    I'll still get the next one because I want to know what happens, but I skip through the mushy stuff.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M D Kiev, Kyiv Ukraine 11-30-16
    M D Kiev, Kyiv Ukraine 11-30-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great continuation of the saga"

    Great narration. Interesting plot, action packed. Looking forward to listening to The Sol. Highly recommended

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Colorado 11-27-16
    Amazon Customer Colorado 11-27-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another great book in the series"

    these keep getting better with every book in the series I think the editing is getting better too

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael G Kurilla ROCKVILLE, MD, United States 11-24-16
    Michael G Kurilla ROCKVILLE, MD, United States 11-24-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1668
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    564
    270
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    445
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Time to saddle up again"

    Haraken is the 4th installment in S H Jucha's Silver Ships series. After a decade of relative peace, the Meridien system is visited by a military type vessel from Earth which has apparently been undergoing some violent consolidation of power for quite some time. Having discovered FTL capability, the ship is seeking out the remnants of the original colony fleets of which Meridien is one. While the Meridiens play their aloof attitude with the expectation that they'll leave. Alex Racine suspects more sinister motives and enters the fray undercover to ferret out the truth.

    The sci-fi elements are in line with the Silver Ships universe. One new addition is the independent, mobile avatars for the stable of intriguing and highly productive AIs.The unique angle for the tale is a type of reverse alien contact where the arrivals represent a decidedly inferior race, scientifically speaking. The familiar Meridien persona of stuffy upper class Brits who simply want to left alone and operate on the expectation that everyone will comply is on full display and frustrating. Alex does share the creative solutions and action with a few more characters this time. There's an obvious setup for book 5 with Alex recognizing an ominous threat beyond the horizon that will need to be dealt with.

    Grover Gardner's narration is excellent as usual with a solid range of voices of both genders. Pacing and tone are most appropriate and make for an enjoyable and quick listen. This is a solid series that continues to deliver and remain fresh.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bob H. 09-24-16
    Bob H. 09-24-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The adventure continues"

    Another great story. This reminds me of 2 sayings. "Let sleeping dogs lie." and "You mess with the bull's tail, you'll end up with his horns." The action and adventure continue. I'm having a hard time waiting for book 5, "Sol", to be released.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    St 07-20-16
    St 07-20-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    774
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"

    Can't wait for the next book to come out in audible format. Another great book by a great author.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 10-04-16
    Michael 10-04-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story!"

    The characters are well developed and the story flows well. I have to admit that I am invested in all of the characters. Great story!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Norton 09-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Continuation of superior writing and narration."
    If you could sum up Haraken in three words, what would they be?

    Entertaining, Intriguing, Addictive


    What other book might you compare Haraken to and why?

    I can't compare it to lesser books. It's uniqueness and writing style put it in a league of its own.


    What about Grover Gardner’s performance did you like?

    Excellent narration; great diction and understanding. Draws the reader into the story.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    What else: The Silver Ships continues


    Any additional comments?

    S.H. Jucha continues his escellent Silver Ship series with another superior story filled with details that expand on the first 3 books without missing a beat. I wasn't sure at first, if I should go back and relisten to the Book3. But that wasn't needed, as the author fills in details to refresh your memory. You can't help but look forward to the next chapter and the next, until sadly the book is over. I can't wait for the next book in the series! Tremendous narration by Grover Gardner just adds to the enjoyment.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Clyde, NC, USA 07-23-16
    David Clyde, NC, USA 07-23-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    230
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "S H Jucha has done it again."

    Wonderful book in the tradition of Asimov and Clarke.
    I suspect youngsters that like only blood and guts may not be ready for the debth in this fine series. Great character development and wonderful story line. I like the heroes in these stories and I love the 'lift' each book brings!!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.