We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Halo: Ghosts of Onyx | [Eric Nylund]

Halo: Ghosts of Onyx

While the Master Chief defends a besieged Earth, and the myriad factions of the Covenant continue their crusade to eliminate humanity, an ultra-secret cell of the Office of Naval Intelligence, known as Section Three, devises a plan to buy the UNSC vital time. They're going to need hundreds of willing soldiers, though...and one more Spartan to get the job done.
Regular Price:$23.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Continuing the saga of the award-winning Xbox game....

The Spartan-II Program has gone public. Tales of super-soldiers fending off thousands of Covenant attacks have become the stuff of legend. But just how many Spartans are left?

While the Master Chief defends a besieged Earth, and the myriad factions of the Covenant continue their crusade to eliminate humanity, an ultra-secret cell of the Office of Naval Intelligence, known as Section Three, devises a plan to buy the UNSC vital time. They're going to need hundreds of willing soldiers, though...and one more Spartan to get the job done.

The planet Onyx is virtually abandoned and the perfect place to set this new plan in motion. But when the Master Chief destroys Halo, something is triggered deep within Onyx: Ancient Forerunner technology stirs, and fleets of UNSC and Covenant race to claim it and change the course of the Human-Covenant War.

But this reawakened and ancient force may have plans of its own.

©2006 Microsoft Corporation; (P)2006 Audio Renaissance, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishers LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (768 )
5 star
 (467)
4 star
 (200)
3 star
 (77)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.5 (527 )
5 star
 (361)
4 star
 (108)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (520 )
5 star
 (333)
4 star
 (136)
3 star
 (40)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    smokeyjunk@comcast.net Seattle, WA 04-16-12
    smokeyjunk@comcast.net Seattle, WA 04-16-12 Member Since 2011

    smokeyjunk

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging and fun. A good light listen"
    Where does Halo rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I've only listened to Halo books so far, so #1! I've listened to radio plays and the like before, and this ranks up there. I've been warned to stay with the unabridged versions like this, though.


    What other book might you compare Halo to and why?

    Starship Troopers and The Mote in God's Eye were both good as well. There are a number of decent parallels that were drawn from those two for the Halo stories. They're older works, but still good--I preferred Starship Troopers. Just don't confuse it with the movie.


    Which character – as performed by Jonathan Davis – was your favorite?

    I enjoyed them all, except for Dr. Halsey. The way he performed her character just seemed too cold... very calculating and unlikable.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Sometimes for a Spartan MIA really means MIA....


    Any additional comments?

    Thank goodness they finally got someone that knows how to pronounce "Mjolnir." If I had to hear another audio book where the reader pronunced "Mjolnir" as "Muh-jol-neer" I don't know what I would have done. And what's with previous readers saying "USNC" instead of "UNSC" and "Fujikawa-Shaw" instead of "Shaw-Fujikawa?" Nit picky, I know, but....

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcos 01-25-15
    Marcos 01-25-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good"

    Awesome story and ties remakes sly with the halo games closes a lot of open thoughts regarding the Spartans and many of their abilities. Wonder what's going to happen next, can't wait to listen to the next book and maybe finish the series in time for halo5 and its upcoming stories and Gina adventures.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jake Ohio 01-14-15
    Jake Ohio 01-14-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    This a great book with an amazing story, good themes, and fun action. The guy who reads it does a great job as well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Desmond Grand Prairie, Texas, United States 01-19-13
    Desmond Grand Prairie, Texas, United States 01-19-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    82
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    233
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow, what a great story"

    I cant say it enough, what a great story. I am glad I got this book. You cant help but feel for the Key Spartans on this story, especially at the end. I found myself beaming with pride at the sacrifice of the key characters and the great choice I made in purchasing this book.

    everything from the narrator, who is always good at narrating, to the incredibly detailed military sci-fi story is captivating. The attention to details given to the science makes it more believable than most fiction. if you liked any of the "Black Jack Geary" story's you will love this book. The key character just seem to have such similar personalities.

    Great book. highly recommended, even if you don't play the game.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel 1601 Massachusetts Ave, NW Washington DC 20036 02-20-08
    Daniel 1601 Massachusetts Ave, NW Washington DC 20036 02-20-08 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good Fun"

    Took a little while but I got into it and really enjoyed it. At times the chapter titles are ridiculously long and meaningless, when read to you. The story was good fun, I was sad to hear it finish.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    W. E. Lucas Denver, CO 02-28-07
    W. E. Lucas Denver, CO 02-28-07 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    205
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not Bad"

    The beginning of the book is tough as the plot jumps around and sometimes becomes hard to follow. I nearly gave up on it, but I'm glad I didn't because the end brings everything together and overall it was quite good.

    This book is not about Master Chief, but about other Spartans and continues the story started in First Strike. Don't expect this book to have to much to do with Halo 3 when it comes out.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    finhead 09-28-07
    finhead 09-28-07 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    119
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    132
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable!"

    While I wouldn't describe the Halo novels as "instant classics" in the vein of Starship Troopers or Enders Game, it really is a lot of fun, particularly if, like me, you enjoy military-themed science fiction. This is the first audiobook I've had the chance to listen to in the Halo series and I can only hope that the rest will soon follow. Johnathan Davis is a fantastic narrator and the books by Eric Nyland are really quite fun to read as they actually create characters and history for the Halo universe in a way the video games simply have not accomplished.

    I only give it 4 out of 5 stars since I don't feel the books are *quite* as compelling as the very best of science fiction (like the aforementioned Starship Troopers or Ender's Game) though on a purely "fun" scale, I definitely enjoyed it more than most books I listen to during my daily commute.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Smegdawg Seattle, WA 08-11-15
    Smegdawg Seattle, WA 08-11-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "first audio book I've ever listened to"

    This was my first foray into Audible and the experience has definitely made me want to continue doing so.

    The only problem with this book I felt was the voice acting for the spartans. I've read most of this series and so I had my own thoughts of what they would all sound like, especially the female Spartans. They sounded to to dull in my opinion.

    But that's one of the reasons I had never listens to audio books before. I am glad that even with it I still want to continue listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruben Salinas 08-06-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spartans never die!"

    One of the best Halo novels ever written. Great story line behind blue team and the beginning of the Spartan 3's program. Good interpretation of who the Spartan 2 were and how they are differ from the Spartan 3s. Highly recommend for the Halo fanatic like me :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jake 08-05-15
    Jake 08-05-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read!"

    This is by far the best Halo novel out there. Without giving away too much, the amount of sacrifice, love, and valor portrayed by the SPARTANS in this book was amazing. Only comparable to Master Chief Petty Officer 117, John. The narrator did a good job. The only part that bugged me was his pronunciation of a few words such as MJOLNIR. But other than that I loved it. Yet another great book delving into Halo lore. If you read any of them (although I recommend all of the Halo books) it should be this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Charles
    redditch, worcestershire, United Kingdom
    4/1/08
    Overall
    "I want more!"

    i thought this audio book was absolutely amazing, the story was not only one of the best stories i have listened to in a long time but it was also very well narrated. Please sort out more halo stories or anything along the same lines!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Hackanimus
    8/15/08
    Overall
    "Please sir... can I have some more?"

    The pace and imagery of this novel is spot on. I admit to being a Halo fan, but was completely surprised by the quality and my enjoyment of this audiobook. Also the science fiction extends from our own reality of technology and human motivations in such an intelligent way it makes it all so tangible. The narration is also excellent.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.