We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Girl's Guide to Witchcraft | [Mindy Klasky]

Girl's Guide to Witchcraft

Jane Madison has a problem. Or two. Or three. She’s unhappily working as a librarian. She has a crush on her oblivious Imaginary Boyfriend. And she just learned she won’t receive a well-deserved raise; instead, she can live for free in a cottage on the library grounds. When Jane settles into her new home, she discovers a hidden chamber lined with ancient books about witchcraft. Her first spell awakens a feline familiar. Her second makes her irresistible to men. Those magical workings attract a sexy magical warder, and Jane’s life is quickly turned upside down.
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Jane Madison has a problem. Or two. Or three. She’s unhappily working as a librarian. She has a crush on her oblivious Imaginary Boyfriend. And she just learned she won’t receive a well-deserved raise; instead, she can live for free in a cottage on the library grounds. When Jane settles into her new home, she discovers a hidden chamber lined with ancient books about witchcraft. Her first spell awakens a feline familiar. Her second makes her irresistible to men. Those magical workings attract a sexy magical warder, and Jane’s life is quickly turned upside down. Does Jane have what it takes to become a real witch?

©2006, 2011, 2012 Mindy Klasky (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Shanna Swendson's Enchanted, Inc. series will find much to love in Klasky's zesty blend of fantasy and romance as well as in her winsome heroine." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (51 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.6 (46 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Story
2.9 (47 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer Dorr, MI, United States 01-28-14
    Amazon Customer Dorr, MI, United States 01-28-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "okay story---horrible narrator"
    What disappointed you about Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

    The story had promise but the narrator was horrible! She paused every three words. Placed emphasis on the wrong words or phrases, had no concept of conversation flow or even sentence structure. Made it extremely hard to keep listening.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    A different narrator!


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emma Galvin?

    Amanda Ronconi would have done a great job with this one.


    Any additional comments?

    Not worth the credit. Can I have mine back?

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsay 11-17-14
    Lindsay 11-17-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVE EMMA GALVIN"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Girl's Guide to Witchcraft to be better than the print version?

    I love the book but really love that Emma Galvin narrates. while others may feel different I got so hooked with her reading Divergent that I actually searched for more books that she reads vs. knowing of this series and I chose to get into it because of Emma


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like the current day mixed with magic and definitely hooked on finding out what happens with our dear friend Jane.


    Which character – as performed by Emma Galvin – was your favorite?

    I love the book but really love that Emma Galvin narrates. while others may feel different I got so hooked with her reading Divergent that I actually searched for more books that she reads vs. knowing of this series and I chose to get into it because of Emma


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No I listen while driving


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer SARANAC, MI, United States 03-12-14
    Amazon Customer SARANAC, MI, United States 03-12-14 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    124
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "listen to the reviews"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No! The story was alright but the reader sucked big time....


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    I knew the ending..... before half way.....through.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emma Galvin?

    Anyone would have done better. I will never buy another that she reads.


    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan 03-10-14
    Susan 03-10-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cute story, awful narrator!"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    This was a light, entertaining book. The story flowed well and kept my interest.


    What didn’t you like about Emma Galvin’s performance?

    The narrator doesn't seem to understand the purpose of periods and commas. There were many times that the end of one sentence became part of the next sentence, changing the meaning. If you record the next book in the series, please use a different narrator.


    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shelley Cerda San Diego, CA 02-22-14
    Shelley Cerda San Diego, CA 02-22-14 Member Since 2010

    Tori Cerda

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    204
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cute if you can stand the horrible narrator"
    Would you try another book from Mindy Klasky and/or Emma Galvin?

    Not if narrated by Emma Galvin


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

    Trying to listen to the story with the narrator ruining it


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Horrible narration that made it hard to pay attention to the story


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    The story is cute


    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anat 06-18-14
    Anat 06-18-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What an awful narrator!!!!"
    Would you try another book from Mindy Klasky and/or Emma Galvin?

    Not by any chance I would listen to another book that Emma Galvin is the narratator.


    How could the performance have been better?

    A narritator that could rwad proparlly


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Anger


    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dawn Richardson MARY ESTHER, FLORIDA, US 05-12-14
    Dawn Richardson MARY ESTHER, FLORIDA, US 05-12-14 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible Narrator!!"
    What did you love best about Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

    I think the story would have been cute, but the narrator ruined it!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

    Trying to fight past the horrible grasp of the English language of the narrator.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    She paused where she shouldn't have and didn't where she should have. She used improper emphasis on words causing them to make no sense. There might as well have not been any punctuation, because she paid it no attention!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I love to listen all day as I work and run errands. I have probably taken 5 times longer to finish this book, than it would normally take. I am the kind of reader who really hates to put down a book or quit listening, the only reason I haven't just walked away from it is because the story is good, but Emma makes it so very hard to listen to for any length of time. Keep having to take a break. My 11 year old grand daughter would do better!


    Any additional comments?

    Redo the series so that Mindy might actually have a chance of getting people to continue the series. I will not get the other books because of Emma's mutilation of English and Grammar.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-7 of 7 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.