Chindi: Academy Series Audiobook | Jack McDevitt | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Chindi: Academy Series | [Jack McDevitt]

Chindi: Academy Series

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?

©2003 Jack McDevitt; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Chindi is an ambitious, exciting, big-idea hard-SF novel that ventures successfully into Rendezvous with Rama territory, and beyond." (Amazon.com review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (196 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (85)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
4.2 (80 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (80 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Robert Apopka, Florida, United States 05-02-13
    Robert Apopka, Florida, United States 05-02-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everything You Want in a Sci-Fi Novel"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Chindi to be better than the print version?

    Comparing the audio version to the printed word is comparing apple to oranges, but the advantage to the audio version is the ability to continue to story while on the go. The written version is better curled up in bed with book in hand and a cup of tea on the night-stand.


    What other book might you compare Chindi to and why?

    Chindi follows in the tradition of Deepsix and Engines of the Gods, but only better. Jack McDevitt really hits his stride with this one.


    What does Khristine Hvam and Oliver Wyman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Having two readers enhances the reading experience by breaking up the monotony and bringing the novel to life. Wyman's role is primarily delivering quotes during the chapter divisions and Hvan narrates the story..


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The excitement is sprinkled throughout the novel but reaches a major crescento as the expedition explores the Chindi vessel.


    Any additional comments?

    Chindi length is slightly greater than many of the Sci-fi novels and so the listener will invest extra time reaching the end, but the end is worth it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Don Virginia Beach, VA, United States 04-28-10
    Don Virginia Beach, VA, United States 04-28-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "All around a fun novel, narrated well!"

    First - I really enjoyed Khristine Hvam's reading of the book. She does a very good job.
    Second - yes, there is far too much time spent on one of the plot points (the rescue operation, as noted by others) - but getting to the plot device is fun adventure with some decent suspense along the way.
    Third - if you can get past #2, Chindi is a pretty good adventure novel w/ some pretty interesting personalities in the characters, believable physics, a great heroine character with a catchy name (really, who names people "Hutch" these days? that's a hoot!)
    Fourth - I'm about 85% through, and really looking forward to the culmination of the books' namesake - what is the purpose of the Chindi?

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin Australind, WA, Australia 03-31-10
    Kevin Australind, WA, Australia 03-31-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Fantastic!"

    This was both my first audio book and the first Jack McDevitt book I have encountered. I have a 2 hour commute each day and thought an audio book would make a change to the technology podcasts I usually listen to. Thanks to the character formation, pace of the story and narration, I looked forward to the drive to and from work - and even listened to the book when I got home (something I never did with the podcasts!)

    The story is exciting and very well developed, at times you are literally on the edge of your seat (I found I was gripping the steering wheel very hard at times). I also found I became very emotionally connected to the characters, partly because of the wonderful narration by Khristine Hvam, and partly because of the skilful way McDevitt introduced and developed the characters.

    I can recommend this audio book to anyone interested in the Sci Fi genre, and to anyone who enjoys an exciting story. I will definitely be buying other Jack McDevitt audio books.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ausbin Centerville, GA, USA 01-16-10
    Ausbin Centerville, GA, USA 01-16-10 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Outstanding Read"

    I don't usually comment on titles I listen to but must do it on this. It was one of the best that I have listen to in a long while. Khristine Hvam was outstanding in the reading of the book. Would reccmmend this book to all.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Walsenburg, CO, USA 10-03-09
    Patricia Walsenburg, CO, USA 10-03-09 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Good adventure"

    I've grown to love Jack McDevitt's visual detail writing, especially his character Hutch.. The Chindi I enjoyed reading and all that I enjoyed of can't wait to get to the next page was just as fun hearing it on audio.. Good twist and turns through out. Enjoyed a story line that I didn't know where it was going even after when we got there, he found a way to slip one more suprise in there through out... Always a good story to return to again and again.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Luc Heusden-ZolderBelgium 04-30-10
    Luc Heusden-ZolderBelgium 04-30-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a story! A must listen for the SF fan."

    Almost listen to it in one rush. This is the second audiobook where I was IN the story (next to RAMA). Well plotted storyline, original ideas! Where is the sequel!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karin W. Dublin, CA USA 04-22-10
    Karin W. Dublin, CA USA 04-22-10 Member Since 2008

    Fantasy and Romance Author

    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    0
    Overall
    "Interesting premise, utterly pedestrian writing"

    I bought this book during one of Audible's $4.95 sales, and I'm happy I didn't pay more.

    The blurb for the book sounded interesting, so I decided to take a chance on an unknown author. Sadly, this author's "tell, don't show" writing style did not appeal to me at all, and made for a plodding narrative pace. This is the kind of book where every character is introduced with a mini-bio, and you're told what kind of person he or she is. Which is necessary, I suppose, because their dialogue is pretty interchangable and doesn't serve to characterize the speakers, as better writers are wont to do.

    I listened to the first hour, and decided to give up.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hosta Fan Bothell, WA USA 04-06-14
    Hosta Fan Bothell, WA USA 04-06-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best in Series so far!"

    This a very good book with a delightful narration. The story goes from crisis to crisis. We had a difficult time stopping each evening as my wife and I listened, in fact we spent the time we'd plan to read our current printed library book listening to this one, to the point I had to renew it. The character development made us feel like we knew them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Old Hippy PA 04-29-11
    Old Hippy PA 04-29-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    401
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    323
    96
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    26
    0
    Overall
    "Unbelievably bad - You are warned!"

    I really like science fiction, but good stuff is hard to find. Clarke, Dick, Isimov, Heinlen, Reynolds, and others. This is NOT good science fiction. It reads like a plot from a ScyFy made-for-TV movie. The protagonist, a female starship captain, lapses off into simply awful episodes feeling sorry for herself for the lack of time for men and missing sex. An old beau turns up, lovesick for her (Gawd knows why) and she screws him over for half the story. The tale itself sounds like it would be interesting, but it's just a bore, goes on way too long. Actually, he is kind of a nothing, Can you tell I didn't like?

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    linda Cedar Park, TX, United States 01-11-11
    linda Cedar Park, TX, United States 01-11-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "OMG! What a disappointment"

    I rarely write reviews, but I have to warn you, this book stinks! Engines of the gods was really good... Deep Six was pretty good... but Chindi was AWFUL! The whole book was one, never-ending dialoge amongst the characters. The fascinating possibilities of the storyline were never followed through. You read more of what the characters are thinking and even eating, than you do about space, aliens or alien crafts. I'm definately not wasting another credit on McDevitt. I'll purchase the next book in the series at a thrift store, just out of curiosity. Maybe he was having a major bad day! I really think authors' agents should demand quality writing... not mass production.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 15 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.