We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Berserker Blue Death | [Fred Saberhagen]

Berserker Blue Death

A sci-fi epic of vengeance in the vein of Moby Dick and The Searchers. If you like those stories, and enjoy moviegoing experiences like The Matrix and The Terminator, this is a must-listen for you!
Regular Price:$19.57
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Sci-fi epic of vengeance in the vein of Moby Dick and The Searchers. If you like those stories, and enjoy moviegoing experiences like The Matrix and The Terminator, this is a must-listen for you! The main character Niles Domingo ferrets out Old Blue (or Leviathan). His success in finding this berserker is precluded by his own fanaticism that turns him into an inhuman follower of Leviathan.

© 1985 Fred Saberhagen; (P) 2002 Blackstone Audiobooks

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (45 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.6 (11 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.5 (12 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Vikram valley stream, NY, USA 07-11-04
    Vikram valley stream, NY, USA 07-11-04
    HELPFUL VOTES
    71
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Still amazed by Saberhagen"

    I think this is the 5th book Ive listened to in the Berserker series and am still amazed at Saberhagens creativity which is yet unmatched in any of todays man v machine movies. Ive also been unable to find any other books with futuristic machines that are as powerful and believable

    This book has a fantastic battle sequence where you really appreciate the technology of the Berserkers and the human ships. It was great to hear a battle story with weapons that are not the typical lazer or space rocket. Saberhagen has an outstanding understanding of math and physics and this is shown in the way he describes the battle.

    Overall the story was amazing and was essentially a Moby Dick tale in the future.

    A few things really annoyed me with the book. The main character is hunting a Berserker he calls OLD BLUE. It becomes evident that other characters in the book do not call the Berserker by the same name and its silly for him, the main character, to constantly refer to the Berserker as OLD BLUE as if everyone should accept his personal nickname for the machine. While everyone else know the giant machine as THE BERSERKER WITH THE BLUE GLOW AROUND IT, the main character never stops calling it OLD BLUE.

    Most annoying about the story is the fact that its so impossibly unreal. The Berserker OLD BLUE kills entire planets in a few days but the main character hunts him with one ship? I dont think so. Too silly.

    Put aside the impossibility of hunting down a Berserker with 1 human ship and you will really enjoy this story of 1 mans undying revenge.

    Of all the Berserker books Id rate this among my least favorite. BERSERKER MAN was by far the greatest of them all but this book is well worth a listen.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.