We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24584 )
5 star
 (16373)
4 star
 (5626)
3 star
 (1816)
2 star
 (454)
1 star
 (315)
Overall
4.6 (21725 )
5 star
 (15109)
4 star
 (4387)
3 star
 (1616)
2 star
 (393)
1 star
 (220)
Story
4.4 (21688 )
5 star
 (13617)
4 star
 (4693)
3 star
 (2216)
2 star
 (664)
1 star
 (498)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-01-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narration, slow, slow story"

    Definitely better than the 4th, but really slow moving plot. Worth listening to with some great narration, but I'm not sure I'd have enjoyed taking the time to read it.

    Hopefully the next book is better than these last two.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jake Johnson 01-31-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best series ever"

    Love it but you're always waiting for your favorite characters to get killed off. Don't like that ominous feeling but I just keep coming back for more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa Ragland 01-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The chapter outlines"
    Would you consider the audio edition of A Dance with Dragons to be better than the print version?

    Yes


    What other book might you compare A Dance with Dragons to and why?

    Nothing!


    What about Roy Dotrice’s performance did you like?

    I love how he reads


    Any additional comments?

    I have received my other books 1-4 from others places and this is the first one I have gotten from this site. I do not like the fact that the chapters do not have visible titles, they only have chapter 1, 2, 3 and so on when I have these books on other apps they show the name of the chapters for instances Jamie>jamie1 and so on .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nathaniel 01-28-15
    Nathaniel 01-28-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fukin awesome"

    Royce is a great narrator. Sometimes grammar can be lost in audio but not with him. He has voices for every character and you know if they are speaking or thinking. George RR Martin...I loved and hated you as I finished the last chapter. You make me fall in love with characters and then you rip them away from me. Hurry up and finish the next book old man.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David L Gerhardt 01-28-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As good as the rest"

    As good as the rest. Yeah, lots of the voices sound the same. It's one guy doing it, though. Sure I wish half the characters didn't sound like pirates, but you get used to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom 01-26-15
    Tom 01-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    "Great but Left hanging"

    These books are sooo good - my only wish is that George RR Martin would give us closure to some of the storylines, it's cruel to make us wait 5-6 years until the next book will come out!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Donahue 01-23-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was a great read."

    I loved this story, excellent. But in true Martin fashion n everyone you love dies.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Austin 01-22-15
    Austin 01-22-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Almost Perfect"

    Roy Detrice did spectacular in the first three but this one was not his best for consistency. Still great performance however.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shelby vT 01-21-15
    Shelby vT 01-21-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow... No spoilers, but..."

    Really really good, however I think George R.R. Martin even killed me in this book. The story is beautiful, the writing is flawless, and the narrator, Roy Dotrice, is amazing in every character he plays.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stuart 01-21-15
    Stuart 01-21-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Burning out"

    GRRM may be burning out. The story dragged on to nowhere, I felt. Very little movement in this one, unfortunately. And Roy really let the listeners down with his poor depiction of Dany. And Jon. And Arya. Every Lannister sounded the same: man, woman, imp, it made no matter. Oh well. I'll still read/listen to the next one. Cheers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.