We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26673 )
5 star
 (18059)
4 star
 (5935)
3 star
 (1890)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23557 )
5 star
 (16621)
4 star
 (4626)
3 star
 (1681)
2 star
 (404)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23530 )
5 star
 (14936)
4 star
 (5037)
3 star
 (2332)
2 star
 (698)
1 star
 (527)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    darin 03-23-15
    darin 03-23-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite possibly the best in the series!"

    One of the greatest cliffhangers in recent memory! The twists at the ends of each book, are as unforseen, as they are exciting. This one had me wishing for more chapters. Loved every moment of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Drew 03-23-15
    Drew 03-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GoT Review"

    Absolutely amazing. A great story with an amazing voice actor. An amazing cliff hanger at the end

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 03-21-15
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 03-21-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    131
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    231
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't walk away until I find what happens...."

    hard to jump between so many characters, but still fascinated with all the different story arcs.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dorcas 03-21-15
    Dorcas 03-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engrossing"

    I am in love with this series. Roy Dotrice is an amazing narrator. I hardly felt the length of this book because of how engrossing the story and the narration was.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    james 03-20-15
    james 03-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love it "

    Roy does such a great job keeping the tone of the book. I sure hope he is up for Winds if George will ever finish it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ore 03-20-15
    Ore 03-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book"

    The narrator is fantastic! I hope that they include lots of Dario and Dani together in the TV show. Great story!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Renal 03-20-15
    Renal 03-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cliffhanger City"

    Another great installment for the series. I couldn't stop listening. Excited to see how the hbo series plays out this season.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C.H. 03-18-15
    C.H. 03-18-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic, epic fantasy"

    I've enjoyed Roy Dotrice's performances so far and this is certainly no exception. However, I'm a stickler for uniformity and continuity, so I found that slight change in voices just a tiny bit annoying. I hadn't read/listened to this book before seeing the southpark episodes. They make more sense now.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason Negron 03-17-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    "Building towards something"

    The narration as with the rest of the series is nearly impeccable in this volume. however this book is not as action-packed as some of the predecessors. that being said it seems like George Martin is doing a lot of setup work for finishing up the series . between this book and a feast for crows I perfer this 1.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dustin 03-16-15
    Dustin 03-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    Some of the voice changes was irritating at first but you get use to it after a chapter or too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.