We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (28952 )
5 star
 (19897)
4 star
 (6282)
3 star
 (1956)
2 star
 (482)
1 star
 (335)
Overall
4.6 (25638 )
5 star
 (18329)
4 star
 (4921)
3 star
 (1735)
2 star
 (420)
1 star
 (233)
Story
4.4 (25624 )
5 star
 (16438)
4 star
 (5397)
3 star
 (2501)
2 star
 (742)
1 star
 (546)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Benjamin 06-18-15
    Benjamin 06-18-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Collapsing under its own weight."

    Mr. Martin needs to learn to cut, considering that 16/17 plotlines makes the edifice unstable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Hoban Raleigh, NC 06-16-15
    R. Hoban Raleigh, NC 06-16-15 Member Since 2014

    Justamom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Repetition"

    I love the narrator. The story has a lot of repetition. The he focus on main characters seemed to be lost. Overall, it wasn't the best in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony 06-13-15
    Anthony 06-13-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great story!"

    Why must you write such good books George then keep us waiting for so long?! Ugh, the wait for the next book will be excruciating. Seriously though, great book and great reading!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katharine Graham 06-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh."

    Could Dotrice have picked a worse voice for Danaerys than the Lucky Charms leprechaun? And for how long it took Martin to write this book, it is certainly the worst one of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shannon B 06-10-15
    Shannon B 06-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    Narrarator was great, put me deep into the story quickly. Wonderfullu kept the different voices consistant with the characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Smarchie 06-09-15
    Smarchie 06-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional story"

    Love this series!! Hope the next book comes out soon!! Love to hate the characters

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Hern Saint Paul, MN 06-09-15
    J. Hern Saint Paul, MN 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening and could not put it down. A fantastic read that was better than the show.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Henry 06-09-15
    Henry 06-09-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    324
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too long"

    Is there an ending anywheres. It will take at least as many books to close this out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joan 06-09-15
    Joan 06-09-15 Member Since 2016

    I love a good story. Audible allows me to be outside, hiking and walking and keeping up on great literature.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Whew!"

    It took me a long time to get through this volume. If you've liked the previous books, you'll like this, though it does drag at times. I'm still hoping there's another one in the chute.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Faimy 06-09-15
    Faimy 06-09-15 Member Since 2016

    Great listener

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    You don't even realize you've been sitting still listening to this book for hours! Great

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.