We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25938 )
5 star
 (17455)
4 star
 (5836)
3 star
 (1861)
2 star
 (463)
1 star
 (323)
Overall
4.6 (22913 )
5 star
 (16095)
4 star
 (4538)
3 star
 (1655)
2 star
 (402)
1 star
 (223)
Story
4.4 (22878 )
5 star
 (14462)
4 star
 (4915)
3 star
 (2292)
2 star
 (687)
1 star
 (522)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kenneth 03-27-15
    Kenneth 03-27-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ponderously long, but good."

    The book went into a lot of detail that could be classed as padding. With the series unfinished, however, it may yet be revealed that those details were necessary. They characters are old friends now and I can't wait to have and end to the saga. Like many though, I want to hire body guards and personal trainers for George R. R. To keep him alive long enough to finish this beast. Somebody had better take notes for the resolution to his story lines in the event of the unthinkable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ajx424 03-27-15
    ajx424 03-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worst reader ever."

    horrible narration. he cant remember the voices...changes girls to old women and lords to scottish pirates and vice versa. ridiculously unprofessional

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    adam 03-26-15
    adam 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Damn it!"

    Grate book but now i have to wait for book 6. Awesome awesome awesome awesome.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 03-26-15
    Mark 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good ending"

    It took almost 50 chapter to catch up to where book 4 ended. those first 50 just dragged on. But like other books in this series, it ended well with a nice climax

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    commandknight 03-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book as always"

    Book was well written and the performance was incredible. Felt like I was in the world with the characters. Can't wait until the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph 03-25-15
    Joseph 03-25-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The BEST"
    Would you listen to A Dance with Dragons again? Why?

    I listened to all five books twice. The writing is superb and Roy Dotrice makes the listen like no other. Dotrice is the best hands down.


    What about Roy Dotrice’s performance did you like?

    his variety of voices for each character is flawless


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Get it while its hot


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    doug leoanrd PALERMO, ME, US 03-24-15
    doug leoanrd PALERMO, ME, US 03-24-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book, I didn't want to stop listening."

    I felt transported when I listened to this book. I could imagine myself there with all the characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BenB 03-23-15
    BenB 03-23-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narration, boring book"

    The author seems to have run out of story, and he fills 1100 pages with endless descriptions of food, clothing, heraldic arms and scenery. Roy Dotrice does a great job sustaining interest while nothing happens.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    darin 03-23-15
    darin 03-23-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite possibly the best in the series!"

    One of the greatest cliffhangers in recent memory! The twists at the ends of each book, are as unforseen, as they are exciting. This one had me wishing for more chapters. Loved every moment of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Drew 03-23-15
    Drew 03-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GoT Review"

    Absolutely amazing. A great story with an amazing voice actor. An amazing cliff hanger at the end

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.