We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24612 )
5 star
 (16394)
4 star
 (5630)
3 star
 (1819)
2 star
 (454)
1 star
 (315)
Overall
4.6 (21750 )
5 star
 (15129)
4 star
 (4391)
3 star
 (1617)
2 star
 (393)
1 star
 (220)
Story
4.4 (21713 )
5 star
 (13632)
4 star
 (4697)
3 star
 (2219)
2 star
 (664)
1 star
 (501)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Abraham Andrade 02-28-15 Member Since 2014

    I'm a System Administrator focused on Linux OS. I love books but due my work I have little time to read, so I love Audible :)

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "breathtaking"

    keeps you at the end of your sit all the time, perfect combination of action and "cloak and dagger"

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chris 02-27-15
    chris 02-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "large audible gaps"

    There are huge gaps in audio play. 4-5 second pauses are common through out the whole story, even in the middle of paragraphs.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 02-26-15
    John 02-26-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story. hurry george with the next!"

    This is one of the most well written series that I have read, and it isn't even finished. In places. it can be a little difficult to understand. The narrator is decent, but sometimes he forgets the voice he done for a character and does the wrong one or pronounces names differently.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    john 02-26-15
    john 02-26-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "JDS"

    One would think that a single reader (Dotrice) would keep character voices consistent however the voices change book to book and sometimes chapter to chapter.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tim Elliott 02-25-15
    Tim Elliott 02-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Awesome"

    Sweet definete read great read read it twice in a row waiting to long to complete the story thought been waiting for years now will continue to re read series though

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura Russell APO, AE United States 02-25-15
    Laura Russell APO, AE United States 02-25-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "lovely... but I want more!"

    I wish there was more books doesn't every one else too? I hate writing reviews!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-22-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Loved the story but his narration sometimes made the words hard to understand when he was "in character".

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    REMBERTO LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, United States 02-21-15
    REMBERTO LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, United States 02-21-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "painfully slow"

    The first 3 books promised so much. As many people said before, afer 200 + hours one would expect closure. I don't wanna spend the rest of my life hanging, waiting for some stupid series to end.
    There is so much to say but everyone else beat me to it already.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 02-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "so good"

    A crazy smile, wide eyes, a series of expletives, all of these occurred at once as the final words of this story were read to me. So good!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea 02-19-15
    Andrea 02-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome series!"

    I am super excited for the next installment of game of thrones!!! I'm also sad that I've finished the 5 books so quickly!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.