We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26550 )
5 star
 (17962)
4 star
 (5916)
3 star
 (1883)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23453 )
5 star
 (16536)
4 star
 (4613)
3 star
 (1676)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23423 )
5 star
 (14857)
4 star
 (5021)
3 star
 (2325)
2 star
 (695)
1 star
 (525)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    mitchell 04-17-15
    mitchell 04-17-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "gratuitous"

    Loved it. Roy is amazing, though sometimes i find his pronounciations contrary to my own. His performance of all characters is nothing short of excellent and that of Dolorous Edd Tollet is hilarious and perfectly suits the character. George has developed a world so in depth and detailed it is hard not to lose yourself in it. you can go whole chapters and not have much of anything happen, but then realize that what wasn't much was really setting you up to love a character or to give them more backstory. masterful work all around

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen 04-16-15
    Karen 04-16-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kind of confusing"

    At first I didn't realize this book was taking place at the same time as the previous book so I was a bit confused. I also had trouble remembering who all of the characters were. Does the written book have a list of all the players? That would be helpful. Roy's definitely having trouble with the female voices and that's a bit distracting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alady 04-16-15
    alady 04-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow to start but exciting second half"

    The story has really developed in this book. I'm glad I read it, because I believe there will be a lot of characters and action from this book not included in the show. I would say the major downside is that Roy changed the voices he used for characters- really miss the original voicing, which I think was better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronald 04-15-15
    Ronald 04-15-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Master Story Weaver"

    Martin shows his awesome ability to weave a masterful series of lives together yet again in this, is fifth book in the Song of Ice and Fire.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan 04-14-15
    Jonathan 04-14-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book and Narration"

    Narrator was amazing with bringing the character to life with unique and varied voices. Great stuff.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Retrac168 04-13-15
    Retrac168 04-13-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overall great"

    Sometimes he pronounces character names straight up wrong (Illyn Payne, Brienne, Petyr Baelish), but overall it is a great reading. Very listen-able and good pacing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jesse alexander 04-12-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great stuff"

    His performance is great with the exception of his "woman" voice. He makes all women sound either mean, irritating, or both. Can't stand the voice he gives Briene. Other than that he's great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-11-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't get over the silly voices"

    If the story wasn't so amazing and I wasn't so starved for more GRRM, I wouldn't have made it through 2 chapters. The crazy thing is his regular voice and the narrative part is really well read. It's the bloody voices he assigns. I mean what the #%?!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ian 04-11-15
    Ian 04-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, voices changed though"

    I noticed that Roy Dotrice changed the voices he used for certain characters and it didn't feel as genuine to the characters as it had in the earlier books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue Opp Puyallup 04-10-15
    Sue Opp Puyallup 04-10-15 Member Since 2005

    Sue

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So much still hanging!"

    I sure hope the next book come out quickly...I already miss the story & characters!
    I love the narrator but wish early on that he had recorded a "master" of pronunciations and voices that went with characters...it is distracting trying to figure out who someone is when the reappear after a long absence when their voice & name have changed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.