We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook
A Dance with Dragons
Written by: 
George R. R. Martin
Narrated by: 
Roy Dotrice
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25264 )
5 star
 (16913)
4 star
 (5737)
3 star
 (1836)
2 star
 (458)
1 star
 (320)
Overall
4.6 (22316 )
5 star
 (15602)
4 star
 (4465)
3 star
 (1631)
2 star
 (397)
1 star
 (221)
Story
4.4 (22281 )
5 star
 (14042)
4 star
 (4797)
3 star
 (2250)
2 star
 (676)
1 star
 (516)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Emily 03-30-15
    Emily 03-30-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next one"

    Another great installment to this series. The narration is great, as usual, and the story captivates you! Love this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adam C. Ness 03-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New voices are a put off"

    I didn't like the departure from the voices he used in the previous productions. Otherwise, this was good. Had he used the original voices it would have been a 5 star.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edwards 03-29-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    It's like eating a delicious meal. You don't want it to end. You can get lost. I found myself continually referring to Wikipedia to keep track of who was related to who. Still it's well worth the time invested. A great listen. Roy Dotrice is masterful! The best performance by narrator I have ever heard. Can't wait for the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NYKnickfnatc 03-28-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Incredible Book in the Series"

    As always, Martin includes some interesting twists and turns. Hard to imagine how he will bring the story to a close in the next book, but can't wait for it to come out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. W. Becka 03-27-15
    R. W. Becka 03-27-15 Member Since 2014

    ritardintreble

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Only Dotrice"

    Roy Dotrice is the perfect man for ASOIAF. This is his most error riddled performance, but if you've been listening from book 1 you know enough of his style that it's easy to ignore and forgive. Other than that, sit back and let the most talented grandfather in all the realms tell you a harrowing tale.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth 03-27-15
    Kenneth 03-27-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ponderously long, but good."

    The book went into a lot of detail that could be classed as padding. With the series unfinished, however, it may yet be revealed that those details were necessary. They characters are old friends now and I can't wait to have and end to the saga. Like many though, I want to hire body guards and personal trainers for George R. R. To keep him alive long enough to finish this beast. Somebody had better take notes for the resolution to his story lines in the event of the unthinkable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ajx424 03-27-15
    ajx424 03-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worst reader ever."

    horrible narration. he cant remember the voices...changes girls to old women and lords to scottish pirates and vice versa. ridiculously unprofessional

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    adam 03-26-15
    adam 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Damn it!"

    Grate book but now i have to wait for book 6. Awesome awesome awesome awesome.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 03-26-15
    Mark 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good ending"

    It took almost 50 chapter to catch up to where book 4 ended. those first 50 just dragged on. But like other books in this series, it ended well with a nice climax

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    commandknight 03-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book as always"

    Book was well written and the performance was incredible. Felt like I was in the world with the characters. Can't wait until the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.