We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26673 )
5 star
 (18059)
4 star
 (5935)
3 star
 (1890)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23557 )
5 star
 (16621)
4 star
 (4626)
3 star
 (1681)
2 star
 (404)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23530 )
5 star
 (14936)
4 star
 (5037)
3 star
 (2332)
2 star
 (698)
1 star
 (527)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    gingervitis 05-01-15
    gingervitis 05-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not the best out of the series"

    A lot of new characters introduced and some were not in it at all or very little but still very enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth Kolinski 04-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Give me Winds of Winter"

    A great climax to A Song of Ice and Fire! Looking to re-read them now.

    Please hurry George RR Martin, winter has come.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Asia 04-29-15
    Asia 04-29-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cliffhangers Galore!"

    This book, as all of them, was full of intrigue and deception, love and loss, champions and cravens. The frustration I feel at the lack of resolution to ANY of the story lines is tempered by the knowledge that I have yet another book to look forward to that will commandeer my every waking moment until I have devoured it.
    Unfortunately, the narrator was almost enough to turn me away entirely. Although he has a lovely voice and accent when reading, any time a female spoke he elected to try to sound like a woman. This resulted in Daenerys sounding EXACTLY like a twisted little leprechaun crossed with an old hag witch! And Melisandre sounded sounded like the same leprechaun who sometimes had a French accent. It was so absurdly horrible I almost completely stopped listening!!! The only thing that kept me going was the knowledge of how much I wanted to finish this book and don't have time to sit and actually read it as I did the first four. Please, please, PLEASE do not continue to use this narrator, or at least require he not do any female voices other than old hags!!!!!!! I can't take another books worth...I just won't!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Esther 04-29-15
    Esther 04-29-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let someone finish something"

    Deeply weaved story. Not crazy about the changing chapter names in this volume. Liked consistent names of earlier volumes. Allow some plot lines to come to a successful end. Narrator's performance was good but better in earlier volumes as well. Overall, well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert 04-28-15
    Robert 04-28-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Back to its best"

    After being greatly disappointed with the performance of the fourth book I read the reviews of the fifth and figured I was in for a stinker but I was pleasantly surprised , sure daenaries voice sounds a bit like a wheezy old grandma but who cares ! It didn't bother me one bit . Roy dotrice did a great job and it's back to its best , loved it !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jared T Lowe 04-27-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome book looking forward to the 6th"

    I greatly enjoyed this book the story telling is quite good. If you enjoy writing about the complexity of people and magic this is the book for you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clint Simmons 04-24-15 Member Since 2014

    MysticVenom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Vastly better than book 4."

    Well, it was a lot better than book 4, we're at least back to the main characters. There is a lot of retread of story from book 4 even though they were split in half geographically instead of timeline (seriously, where was the editor). It ended well leaving me wanting more so it did its job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Garreth 04-24-15
    Garreth 04-24-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration consistency would have been nice"

    I'm not sure why Roy uses different accents for the same characters from book to book as he narrates. Some consistency would have been nice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Veronica H.B. Dallas, Tx. 04-22-15
    Veronica H.B. Dallas, Tx. 04-22-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "simply amazing!"

    I have never read a book in this series that was less than stellar and this was no exception. bring on book six.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    G. Ferreira Boston, MA USA 04-21-15
    G. Ferreira Boston, MA USA 04-21-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wordy"

    Expectations were almost met. Too wordy in some areas and not enough prep in others. Jon Snow suddenly murdered! Hard to follow with so many names so similar.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.