We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.
Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (23370 )
5 star
 (15417)
4 star
 (5424)
3 star
 (1772)
2 star
 (446)
1 star
 (311)
Overall
4.5 (20661 )
5 star
 (14237)
4 star
 (4239)
3 star
 (1582)
2 star
 (386)
1 star
 (217)
Story
4.4 (20617 )
5 star
 (12847)
4 star
 (4507)
3 star
 (2136)
2 star
 (643)
1 star
 (484)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laura Russell APO, AE United States 02-25-15
    Laura Russell APO, AE United States 02-25-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "lovely... but I want more!"

    I wish there was more books doesn't every one else too? I hate writing reviews!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-22-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Loved the story but his narration sometimes made the words hard to understand when he was "in character".

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    REMBERTO LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, United States 02-21-15
    REMBERTO LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, United States 02-21-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "painfully slow"

    The first 3 books promised so much. As many people said before, afer 200 + hours one would expect closure. I don't wanna spend the rest of my life hanging, waiting for some stupid series to end.
    There is so much to say but everyone else beat me to it already.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 02-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "so good"

    A crazy smile, wide eyes, a series of expletives, all of these occurred at once as the final words of this story were read to me. So good!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea 02-19-15
    Andrea 02-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome series!"

    I am super excited for the next installment of game of thrones!!! I'm also sad that I've finished the 5 books so quickly!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marlon 02-19-15
    Marlon 02-19-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great"

    Martin sure does a good job dragging a story out, but he is an awesome writer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 02-18-15
    James 02-18-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Will WINTER EVER COME"

    CANT WAIT FOR BOOK #6 & #7. SO FAR THIS SERIES HAS BEEN GREAT. I JUST WISH BOOK 6 WAS NOT SO FAR IN THE FEATURE!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nathan 02-17-15
    Nathan 02-17-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved it"

    I was concerned about what the other reviewers said about the narration but I found it to still be great with only a few flaws. This book is my favorite of the series. I WANT MORE!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mette Johansen 02-16-15 Member Since 2015

    Meadow

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good fantasy but anoying voices..."
    What made the experience of listening to A Dance with Dragons the most enjoyable?

    The story is well told and the scenery very lively described. I got this far, that says a lot.


    How could the performance have been better?

    I was thoroughly annoyd with the attempt to make different voices... most of them made the characters sound uninteligent and annoying - excpecially Daenerys who sounded like an old crone...


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Riddz 02-15-15
    Riddz 02-15-15

    RJ

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Andraline Rush"

    The story is always moving so fast. The characters are taking firmer shape. And the story is full pf new twist and turns. Theres no specific hero per say figure but each character has a strong hold and big impact on the audience. I am waiting eagerly for the next book in line

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.