We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26544 )
5 star
 (17956)
4 star
 (5916)
3 star
 (1883)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23447 )
5 star
 (16530)
4 star
 (4613)
3 star
 (1676)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23417 )
5 star
 (14851)
4 star
 (5021)
3 star
 (2325)
2 star
 (695)
1 star
 (525)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    R. Calkins 05-16-15
    R. Calkins 05-16-15

    Deeply simple, that's me. My preferences gravitate to stories that offer chances to reflect. However, don't give me a lot of sugar coating.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bring on book 6 already!!!"

    I own the entire Ice and Fire series in its audio version as well as its hard back book version. I have read it and listened to it all in its entirety, some of it more than twice. The only question I have is, when are we going to have book six available for our reading consumption. I do love this story, and this book as a part thereof, but I am finding myself a bit irritated at Mr. Martin for making us wait this long for the next part, as the television series just does not soothe the itch for the real thing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 05-14-15
    John 05-14-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "such a good book!"

    After the dulls of book 4 this has been such a wonderful rebound. There are so many twists and turns that you just can't put it down. Can't wait for book 6!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard SPENCER, MA, United States 05-13-15
    Richard SPENCER, MA, United States 05-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just excellent"

    Hard not to listen every chance you get. The best reader of all I've experienced. Having seen the series as well greatly enhances the story as faces go with many names though the book has many more stories than the HBO series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ramiro 05-13-15
    Ramiro 05-13-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A feast for the imagination"

    As with the pervious titles this installment was engrossing and as deep as the wall is tall. If only Roy would remember character names correctly and the voices he's created for them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-12-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story as ever"

    Roy did a great job reading this story, however it did seem that he forgot what some of his characters sounded like from time to time. some characters were unrecognizable from earlier installments. otherwise, a very enjoyable experience.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    laura d 05-11-15
    laura d 05-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So wordy"

    The second half of the book picks up, but the first half is very slow, with overly detailed passages (Do I need to know what color each doublet is of every character in the book? Do I need to know what each plate in the 4 course meal is? The answer is no. Get to Daenerys! ) Shows the steady decline in writing since books 1,2 +3, which were captivating and exciting! Hope book 6 can recapture that excitement!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomas Peace 05-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love the series...."

    Roy Dotrice could stand to be a little more consistent with his character voices and accents. I understand it's hard with so many characters but it gets confusing sometimes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melissa 05-10-15
    Melissa 05-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, sub par voice work."

    Next book please give Roy time to relearn the accents and voices. It was very off putting, sometimes the voice would change mid chapter.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason Wilkinson 05-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truly Spectacular"

    Amazing voice acting work and amazing story. Can't wait for the next book, hope the voice actor returns to read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rayne 05-07-15
    Rayne 05-07-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Preformance change."

    The only thing that bothered me about this book was how the narrator does not use th same voices for the characters as he has for the other books. I wish he would have went back and listened to how he portrayed them because when they all of a sudden have accents and speak differently it can get alittle frustrating. Other than that I love this book and all the others in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.