We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (29516 )
5 star
 (20353)
4 star
 (6364)
3 star
 (1977)
2 star
 (486)
1 star
 (336)
Overall
4.6 (26151 )
5 star
 (18754)
4 star
 (4987)
3 star
 (1753)
2 star
 (422)
1 star
 (235)
Story
4.4 (26139 )
5 star
 (16791)
4 star
 (5502)
3 star
 (2541)
2 star
 (752)
1 star
 (553)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    America M. 09-02-15
    America M. 09-02-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    Overall
    "Very gratifying read. Lives up to the reputation!"

    I loved the book but I must admit it was lengthy. It took me over a month to finish but well worth it.
    I recommend it to friends.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Keagan 09-01-15
    Keagan 09-01-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    An awesome listen. Love the narrator. Can't wait for the next book. Hopefully it is out soon and on here immediately.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer North Plainfield, NJ United States 09-01-15
    Amazon Customer North Plainfield, NJ United States 09-01-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic, but mood altering."
    What did you love best about A Dance with Dragons?

    It is a fantastic story though some parts drag on a bit. The characters are well written, complex and realistic.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    So many great options, but if forced to choose, I might choose the Hound. His complex past, his love and hate relationship with children and himself and the child within himself.


    Which character – as performed by Roy Dotrice – was your favorite?

    All were good. Maybe Peter Balish.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The books all make me angry. It is no great spoiler to say that you will meet characters you love and then they will die or worse. If you are going to read these books, then spread them out as I found while reading them I was moody and short tempered.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Curtis 09-01-15
    Dave Curtis 09-01-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really... It ends like that????"

    I look down at my Audible player and see that I have 3 hours left in the book. Immediately I wonder how he will ever wrap up some of the loose ends before the end.

    Let's just say this... He already sold me the next book... Now the waiting...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Myra 08-28-15
    Myra 08-28-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The mother of dragon 's sounds like a bar wench."

    make her sound like a young queen.... was seeing a boil on her face every time she spoke....need I say more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Swiderek 08-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wow"

    loved the story and the performance was exceptional like in the previous 4 books.

    No one real moment stands out as exceptional over the course of the book as it was all excellent.

    highly recommended to all fans of GOT and fantasy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael grottoes, VA, United States 08-25-15
    Michael grottoes, VA, United States 08-25-15 Member Since 2017

    Mik

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What happened?"
    What would have made A Dance with Dragons better?

    A different narrator


    What was most disappointing about George R. R. Martin’s story?

    Roy dotrice


    How could the performance have been better?

    A different reader, this was difficult to listen to


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from A Dance with Dragons?

    Book would probably be better if it was read silently, I drifted alot


    Any additional comments?

    None

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kent 08-23-15
    Kent 08-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good!"

    It was a good book! I just wished the Roy Dotrice's pacing was better. Throughout some of the chapters there are long pauses and breaks. It's probably an editing issue. Other than that his voice is perfect for narrating thses books. Hopefully he will be narrating the last one, to two books!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    exactom 08-22-15
    exactom 08-22-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    love the story and for the most part the narrator is fantastic. my one complaint is that I have all five volumes and the narrator tends to change the "voice" of many characters from one book to the next. a small gripe but annoying none the less

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie VanBrunt 08-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book and reading but. ."

    took me longer to read than the others because it only covered half the characters and not my favorite characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.