We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24712 )
5 star
 (16475)
4 star
 (5648)
3 star
 (1820)
2 star
 (454)
1 star
 (315)
Overall
4.6 (21836 )
5 star
 (15204)
4 star
 (4401)
3 star
 (1618)
2 star
 (393)
1 star
 (220)
Story
4.4 (21797 )
5 star
 (13701)
4 star
 (4705)
3 star
 (2224)
2 star
 (665)
1 star
 (502)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Matthew Dawson 04-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story brought to life by Roy Dotrice"

    The narrator Roy Dotrice did an incredible job. Having a different, recognizable and consistent voice for each character is very impressive and makes the story into a world.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Francisco 04-07-15
    Francisco 04-07-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "At the edge of your seat! Just enough unresolved"

    The narrator changed up the voices from previous books but it is easy to overlook

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Austin 04-07-15
    Austin 04-07-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Others have complained that character voices seemed different, but it really didn't bother me at all. Great performance by the reader!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    angie 04-06-15
    angie 04-06-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another one bites the dust"

    Many and more words, names, and stories. Pretty cliffhangery - But enjoyable nonetheless. Now we just have to wait. Write quickly Mr. Martin.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PK Miller Houston, TX. 04-02-15
    PK Miller Houston, TX. 04-02-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't Wait For The Next One!!"

    I love this series, and the HBO version! I can't wait for book six, if it is ever going to come?! Roy Dotrice does what he can with so many characters jumping into the mix. I find it hard sometimes to follow the story for him mixing up the names or voices he uses for them. I still love the series though, and will eagerly await the next book!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert 04-02-15
    Robert 04-02-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Book"

    I'll probably listen to it agin while I wait for the next one. Or maybe start on the TV show?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dante Quixote Deep Space 04-02-15
    Dante Quixote Deep Space 04-02-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    An amazing performance from Roy Dotrice, well suited to accompany Martins amazing writing. I can not recommend this enough, worth every penny.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra 04-01-15
    Sandra 04-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator not good enough"

    Great story, really let down by the narrator, if the story wasn't so good, I wouldn't have bothered finishing it because of this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CHERYL 03-30-15
    CHERYL 03-30-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellant!!"

    Great story, can't wait to read the next book! Love the storyteller! I really enjoyed all the books by George Martin

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily 03-30-15
    Emily 03-30-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next one"

    Another great installment to this series. The narration is great, as usual, and the story captivates you! Love this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.