We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (30786 )
5 star
 (21389)
4 star
 (6550)
3 star
 (2013)
2 star
 (494)
1 star
 (340)
Overall
4.6 (27312 )
5 star
 (19721)
4 star
 (5133)
3 star
 (1788)
2 star
 (430)
1 star
 (240)
Story
4.4 (27305 )
5 star
 (17649)
4 star
 (5699)
3 star
 (2628)
2 star
 (767)
1 star
 (562)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lori A. 01-11-16
    Lori A. 01-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it but"

    I love the story it is awesome. From a Song of Ice and Fire to a Storm of Swords Roy was great and consistent but in a feast for crows and this however its like you forgot how to pronounce all of the names and character voices the story is so good that you can generally overcome this issue though

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MD 01-09-16
    MD 01-09-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "absolutely amazing!"

    Yes!! Finally finished the audio books! And I'm hating I can't immediately pick up the next one!! Damn it George R R Martin, finish book six already!!
    And FYI for anyone who is into audio books, but even if you're not, this series is a great one to check out. Roy Dotrice is absolutely amazing!! He really brings the books to life. Tip of the hat to you, Sir.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 01-04-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "George, you are a genious"

    how do people keep ask these facts straight in their story telling? George, you are a genius. I am hooked on your stuff at the age is 55. I never imagined that this style would pull new in so.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    George Ariola 01-03-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roy Dotrice, Master Thespian"

    This book is a joy in itself, but with Roy Dotrice adding his well crafted character voices, it is a masterpiece. Even at 92 years of age, Mr Dotrice is s truly amazing and thoughtful narrator.

    Be prepared for a long ride, that you will be loath to put down!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    matthew parkyn 12-29-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book. Good storyteller"

    Like all Game of throne books. wow!! tough yo put down. in my personally opinion, the storyteller was boring to listen to at times. for male story lines, the storyteller was amazing and really made you feel the character was speaking. as for female stories, the storytellers masculine voice made it difficult to follow. thank you for doing this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dan Delamotte Florida 12-23-15
    Dan Delamotte Florida 12-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    I enjoyed this story. at first I wanted to catch up on the series, but the twists that this story has is amazing! So many plots within plots. Great story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian 12-21-15
    Brian 12-21-15

    Choose your audiobook by the narrator with best being Guidall, Tull, Case/Davidson, Muller, Lee, Franklyn-Robbins, Dotrice, (no Brick)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    250
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long awaited and well received"

    This is yet another excellent installment in George R R Martin's epic. If only Martin would release Book 6 before we forget the details of the first 4 books. What is interesting about this particular book are the admissions and memories of Sir Barenston (msp?). We get another side of the details surrounding the core questions of the series like why did Sir Arthur Dayne's sister kill herself. Did any of her children live? How did Rhaegar's son survive? Did he? What motivates Lord Varys and where was he for the most part of this book? So many questions, hopefully Martin has some answers and he is willing to hurry up and share them. And what was the deal with those kids with daggers?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sherry Hunsicker Tecumseh, KS 12-17-15
    Sherry Hunsicker Tecumseh, KS 12-17-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "an amazing story as well as an amazing performance"

    love the book. Love the story. Wish there were five more. much much better than the TV show

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. R. Marks 12-16-15
    J. R. Marks 12-16-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing performance"

    I'm on my 5th pass through the book. I turn it on when I need something to listen to. Roy's performance is beyond perfect, I wish he did more books. Audible, please produce Harry Potter with Roy Dotrice As the performer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Benjamin Rottinghaus 12-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a "

    hakdkdnxh ksndn jskdkd jskdkd disks jdnjd the same time . I am a beautiful person

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.