We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26623 )
5 star
 (18024)
4 star
 (5924)
3 star
 (1886)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23515 )
5 star
 (16588)
4 star
 (4620)
3 star
 (1679)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23486 )
5 star
 (14905)
4 star
 (5027)
3 star
 (2331)
2 star
 (697)
1 star
 (526)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    LanaH Charlotte, NC USA 05-24-15
    LanaH Charlotte, NC USA 05-24-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic and Engaging"

    I anxiously look forward to the final two books. 2016 is such a long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nick 05-23-15
    nick 05-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Narrator is amazing! His changes in his voice make the work even better! Loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    christinea 05-23-15
    christinea 05-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Favorite book of all time. An excellent book before the winds of winter! Must read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hegerty 05-23-15
    Hegerty 05-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well done, but ...."

    So much more of the story is left. With book 5 nearly twice the size of the previous bunch, it did little to tie up loose ends

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg Worm Golden Valley, MN USA 05-22-15
    Greg Worm Golden Valley, MN USA 05-22-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story!"

    kept me intrigued the whole time. love all the character details & pov type of chapters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin 05-21-15
    Justin 05-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good"

    I started with the show and continued with the books, don't expect them to mirror each other since the story is not the same. Respect and cherish both separately and you won't be dissipointed. I love this series and dotrice. I only hope that in the next book in the series he will reprise as narrator. but he does need to be more consistent with which voices he uses for specific charters, as he has changed it from book to book. As far as this book is concerned I would consider in the 3rd best in the series with a Game of Thrones being 1st and a Clash of Kings being the 2nd. Enjoy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gregory Bell 05-20-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Getting back to the good stuff"

    As slow as AFFC, but redeeming in the end. Sets the stage for a HUGE comeback in Winds of Winter. The twists in the end earned this the 4th overall star...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HistoryBoy 05-20-15
    HistoryBoy 05-20-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roy Dotrice's EVIL TWIN Read This Book"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Narration that is consistent with the first 3 books.How could the producers have not pointed out to Mr Dotrice that he changed the pronunciation of major character's names, and most egregiously, changed the voices of favorites like Daenerys and Arya. Who would buy books 5 and 6? People that listened to the first three, and yes, we did notice that Daenerys now sounds like she hails from Ireland.The Lannister men all sound the same. I found it a major distraction and could not get past it.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Always Tyrion. Cunning, witty and very smart. He uses his lifetime of study and his brain to tower over average height characters.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Pointing out the distracting differences in name pronunciation and major character voices to Mr Dotrice. It was AWFUL.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Yes..I enjoy the story just not the telling.


    Any additional comments?

    I have become a huge fan of the series and the books. Audio books work well for me for a bunch of reasons but suffering through the same narrator mangling pronunciations, and especially character voices was a major disappointment. When you see the same narrator you expect the same performance. I should have read the reviews.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Graham House Lincoln, NE United States 05-20-15
    Graham House Lincoln, NE United States 05-20-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing narration"

    The audio directors have failed to do their job and the result is the utter lack of continuity in the voice characterizations presented by Mr. Dotrice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beardman 05-20-15
    Beardman 05-20-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Yet another amazing, dense, detail rich, and engaging tome to further the seemingly endless story lines and web of his world. Can't wait for winds of winter.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.