We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25853 )
5 star
 (17390)
4 star
 (5822)
3 star
 (1856)
2 star
 (463)
1 star
 (322)
Overall
4.6 (22837 )
5 star
 (16036)
4 star
 (4528)
3 star
 (1650)
2 star
 (401)
1 star
 (222)
Story
4.4 (22803 )
5 star
 (14412)
4 star
 (4899)
3 star
 (2286)
2 star
 (684)
1 star
 (522)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rayne 05-07-15
    Rayne 05-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Preformance change."

    The only thing that bothered me about this book was how the narrator does not use th same voices for the characters as he has for the other books. I wish he would have went back and listened to how he portrayed them because when they all of a sudden have accents and speak differently it can get alittle frustrating. Other than that I love this book and all the others in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kira Geairn 05-07-15
    Kira Geairn 05-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "4 stars"

    Don't like the narrator's female voices, the rest was excellent. Great story line and a lively narration from Roy Dotrice

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Morgan 05-07-15
    Morgan 05-07-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful fancy!"

    The last of the series that makes me
    Very anxious for the next part to be finished. I hope Martin lives an extraordinarily long life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Tualatin, OR USA 05-07-15
    Brian Tualatin, OR USA 05-07-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Books are getting weaker"
    If you could sum up A Dance with Dragons in three words, what would they be?

    Still a great story but clearly not nearly is good as the first three installments.Too many characters now and not much depth.


    Would you be willing to try another book from George R. R. Martin? Why or why not?

    Will definitely keep reading the series.


    How could the performance have been better?

    The reader makes every character "appear" to be eighty years old and without teeth. Its almost gross. Reader really needs to go. I will not download another book in this series with him. Would be fine I suppose if he did the elders and someone else did the younger character voices.


    Any additional comments?

    Hope the coming books improve and become more interesting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Duke Maharney 05-05-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "same as the last one. "

    Roy once again kills it with his mispronouncing names and voice work. as much as I lived the first 3 I hate that he had gone so far down. it makes me sad to say I hope he does not do the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miami teacher Miami, FL, USA 05-02-15
    Miami teacher Miami, FL, USA 05-02-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, pretty good narration"

    For GOT fans this is a must read. I really loved this addition to the series and I think it added some nice dimensions to the story. Love the dragons! Narrator was pretty good but used a Scottish type accent way too much. I didn't like the voice he used for Danerys either. Story still awesome though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lars 05-01-15
    Lars 05-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible performance"

    I had to stop listening after 50 min because of the terrible performance so as not to ruin the books. All the voices sound old, tiresome and without their distinctive individual character and energy. Very unfortunate.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    gingervitis 05-01-15
    gingervitis 05-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not the best out of the series"

    A lot of new characters introduced and some were not in it at all or very little but still very enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth Kolinski 04-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Give me Winds of Winter"

    A great climax to A Song of Ice and Fire! Looking to re-read them now.

    Please hurry George RR Martin, winter has come.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Asia 04-29-15
    Asia 04-29-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cliffhangers Galore!"

    This book, as all of them, was full of intrigue and deception, love and loss, champions and cravens. The frustration I feel at the lack of resolution to ANY of the story lines is tempered by the knowledge that I have yet another book to look forward to that will commandeer my every waking moment until I have devoured it.
    Unfortunately, the narrator was almost enough to turn me away entirely. Although he has a lovely voice and accent when reading, any time a female spoke he elected to try to sound like a woman. This resulted in Daenerys sounding EXACTLY like a twisted little leprechaun crossed with an old hag witch! And Melisandre sounded sounded like the same leprechaun who sometimes had a French accent. It was so absurdly horrible I almost completely stopped listening!!! The only thing that kept me going was the knowledge of how much I wanted to finish this book and don't have time to sit and actually read it as I did the first four. Please, please, PLEASE do not continue to use this narrator, or at least require he not do any female voices other than old hags!!!!!!! I can't take another books worth...I just won't!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.