We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26543 )
5 star
 (17955)
4 star
 (5916)
3 star
 (1883)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23447 )
5 star
 (16530)
4 star
 (4613)
3 star
 (1676)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23417 )
5 star
 (14851)
4 star
 (5021)
3 star
 (2325)
2 star
 (695)
1 star
 (525)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    NostraThomas 05-29-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    173
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best in the series"

    Roy Dotrice delivers an such a great performance to an already fantastic story. I'm not much for fantasy novels, but this book proves it's not the genre that makes for good writing.

    Clever dialog is rare. This book has it in abundance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-27-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    107
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good story, not so good narration"

    the narrator did fairly well, but the voice he Gave Danny was awful.. the HBO show has been out long enough, he should have let that guide his choice of voices.. after seeing and hearing her there, I could not accept his choice of voice for her here.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    QueenEve 05-27-15
    QueenEve 05-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spoilers: wish the ends were tied up better"

    The book was good as always and so was Roy! I enjoyed the story but the end left me wanting more. I don't think he tried to tie up any part of the story he left it open for our own interpetations or maybe for other books to be written. Love the seris and will listen all over again. It would be nice to know what happened to the youngest of the children, and how everyones story turned out. I guess the good thing is I can write the ending how ever I want and when I re-listen I can change the ending again and again if I want to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh 05-27-15
    Josh 05-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is one of my favorite books in the series"

    This is one of my favorite books in the series. It is a bit difficult to understand at times because the names and words are strange, but the narrator does an excellent job of portraying different characters and inner dialogue through voices and tones.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great flow of the story line. "

    Flowed well. Narrator voice inflections funny although kind of repetitive . recommended for you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr.Gibbz 05-26-15
    Mr.Gibbz 05-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dotrice is in a Class of His Own"

    Roy Dotrice is a fantastic narrator who brings the story to life. He voices over 300+ characters in this book alone, each with their own personality. And the man is 92 years old! The story itself contains a ton of interesting and engaging chapters that leave you teetering on the edge of your seat in anticipation. Where the fourth book was a bit confusing and seemed almost out of order. This fifth book harnesses the chaos and intrigue of ASOIF again. The ending is a large cliff hanger for almost every character that sets up book six for great success. A must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    hamazasb West Bloomfield.MI 05-24-15
    hamazasb West Bloomfield.MI 05-24-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Waste of time. VERY DISAPPOINTING..."
    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    I give the narrater credit for keeping up withe all the caricatures in all 5 books, some of them sounds the same but its okay it is understandable.


    Any additional comments?

    If you listened to 1st 3 books your good you really don't need the additional 80 hours of nothing, for all the caricatures are build up from the beginning of the book it leads no where even the DRAGONS THEY DO NOTHING So why would you listen. VERE disappointing. Sorry if this is a spoiler...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LanaH Charlotte, NC USA 05-24-15
    LanaH Charlotte, NC USA 05-24-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic and Engaging"

    I anxiously look forward to the final two books. 2016 is such a long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nick 05-23-15
    nick 05-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Narrator is amazing! His changes in his voice make the work even better! Loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    christinea 05-23-15
    christinea 05-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Favorite book of all time. An excellent book before the winds of winter! Must read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.