We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook
A Dance with Dragons
Written by: 
George R. R. Martin
Narrated by: 
Roy Dotrice
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25232 )
5 star
 (16885)
4 star
 (5734)
3 star
 (1835)
2 star
 (458)
1 star
 (320)
Overall
4.6 (22288 )
5 star
 (15579)
4 star
 (4461)
3 star
 (1630)
2 star
 (397)
1 star
 (221)
Story
4.4 (22254 )
5 star
 (14019)
4 star
 (4793)
3 star
 (2250)
2 star
 (676)
1 star
 (516)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    J. Hern Saint Paul, MN 06-09-15
    J. Hern Saint Paul, MN 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening and could not put it down. A fantastic read that was better than the show.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Henry 06-09-15
    Henry 06-09-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    273
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too long"

    Is there an ending anywheres. It will take at least as many books to close this out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joan 06-09-15
    Joan 06-09-15 Member Since 2016

    I love a good story. Audible allows me to be outside, hiking and walking and keeping up on great literature.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Whew!"

    It took me a long time to get through this volume. If you've liked the previous books, you'll like this, though it does drag at times. I'm still hoping there's another one in the chute.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Faimy 06-09-15
    Faimy 06-09-15 Member Since 2016

    Great listener

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    You don't even realize you've been sitting still listening to this book for hours! Great

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom Perrysburg, Ohio 06-06-15
    Tom Perrysburg, Ohio 06-06-15 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    142
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still hooked on the Starks"

    If you like the earlier books in this series, you will like this one too. Its nearly 50 hours of audio, and it went by fast. I like this series, and this book didn't disappoint. Roy Dotrice continues to do a great job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joshua Kimball Author Arizona 06-06-15
    Joshua Kimball Author Arizona 06-06-15 Member Since 2015

    Joshua

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    27
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love this story"

    I'm disappointed that Denares' voice has been changed from a lady to a tavern wench. But I do enjoy the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lydia 06-05-15
    Lydia 06-05-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Waiting in Anticipation"

    I've loved all the books in this series. I can't wait for the 6th book to come out. Thanks for the awesome stories Mr. Martin.

    Mr. Dotrice does an amazing read. I hope to hear his lovely voice for the 6th book as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sterling California 06-05-15
    Sterling California 06-05-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    104
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    149
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This story keeps getting better"

    Martin delivers again. I can't wait for the next book to come out so I can continue the story. This is by far the best series I have ever read and the narrator ads a great voice to the characters. A must read series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Critical Thinker MN 06-05-15
    Critical Thinker MN 06-05-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    love it love it love it. There is no way you can not love this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David N. Young FORT LAUDERDALE, FL, US 06-04-15
    David N. Young FORT LAUDERDALE, FL, US 06-04-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book…"

    Fantastic writing, great story, so much suspense and surprise and action, that I couldn't stop listening.
    I wish Roy Dotrice would be more consistent with his voices… There was a big change between books 3 and four in how he performed certain voices. You have one job… You might as well listen to a couple of chapters of previous books so that you can remember what certain characters are supposed to sound like, such as Arya stark.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.