We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (29545 )
5 star
 (20377)
4 star
 (6367)
3 star
 (1978)
2 star
 (487)
1 star
 (336)
Overall
4.6 (26176 )
5 star
 (18774)
4 star
 (4990)
3 star
 (1754)
2 star
 (422)
1 star
 (236)
Story
4.4 (26163 )
5 star
 (16808)
4 star
 (5505)
3 star
 (2544)
2 star
 (752)
1 star
 (554)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mark Tempe, AZ, United States 03-12-16
    Mark Tempe, AZ, United States 03-12-16 Member Since 2010

    English Lit BA highest honors UC Berkeley, 1974. Listening to books for pleasure or education is fun and it separates good writing from bad.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    80
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    313
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cliffhanging Is So Uncomfortable"

    These books are so wonderful! I pray for the continued good health of both Messr's Martin and Dottrice to bring this series to a satisfactory conclusion!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah A. 03-12-16
    Sarah A. 03-12-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful storyline continues"

    A great story continues to enthrall readers, listeners and viewers alike. although I did ha e the occasion to space out a bit at times, the plot is easy enough to follow even when busy doing other tasks.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    rogue224 03-11-16
    rogue224 03-11-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "meh"

    I found some of his voices for the main characters distracting and annoying. he could have just use his regular voice. story itself is hard to get through. he has whole chapters on characters I care nothing about. I ended up skipping some, and I usually don't do that. not enough story time on characters that I do care about. also the pace of the story is painfully slow. the third and fourth books take place in almost the same time period. there are however some very interesting plot twist and the story kept me interested enough to read all four books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mcsespitia 03-03-16
    mcsespitia 03-03-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow Burn"

    It's a great read, but very slow at times. Good story, well rounded characters. Awesome ending!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Quentin Simeon 03-02-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    I love the series. The narrator is great, except when he attempts to speak in a woman's voice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Queen HappyFace 03-02-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I need the next book"

    I just binged on this series and I'm sad that this is it. I need the next book right now! Thankfully, the show will be airing in April the next season in April. I'm hoping it will hold me over

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Silverhaze 03-01-16
    Silverhaze 03-01-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The questions unanswered"

    This books just leaves you with so many unanswered questions. It's not a bad thing though, I crave more George. I can't wait for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel 03-01-16
    Rachel 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wonderful"

    enjoyed this book immensely the narrator to the wonderful job and as always RR Martin's books are wonderful as well

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsey 03-01-16
    Lindsey 03-01-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great for everywhere"

    Roy dotrice has a wonderful voice for gmms books, and this one is no exception. I listen in the csr, on the bus, walking downtown. he changed some of the voices and the way he pronounced names, but they did it so far apart, it's understandable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael California, USA 03-01-16
    Michael California, USA 03-01-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Things actually happened"

    I like the last book, some of our favorite characters return in this novel and the story advances, although it a glacial pace. Some people are killed and the original style which made the series initially interesting returns although in limited fashion. Since you are already so far into the serious chances are you a read this book whether this review is good or bad. So enjoy it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.