We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5 | [George R. R. Martin]

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.
Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (18939 )
5 star
 (11997)
4 star
 (4607)
3 star
 (1616)
2 star
 (421)
1 star
 (298)
Overall
4.5 (16649 )
5 star
 (11085)
4 star
 (3571)
3 star
 (1425)
2 star
 (366)
1 star
 (202)
Story
4.3 (16600 )
5 star
 (9999)
4 star
 (3752)
3 star
 (1834)
2 star
 (574)
1 star
 (441)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    BDub 02-14-15
    BDub 02-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    So much better than book four. Now c'mon, George. Stop writing so slow. We need more. Can't wait for the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandy 02-13-15
    Sandy 02-13-15

    Sandy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Every Book better than the last"

    Can't wait for book 6. There has never been a series of books so spellbinding . He outdoes himself each time

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cameron M. Macmillan Orlando, FL 02-13-15
    Cameron M. Macmillan Orlando, FL 02-13-15

    CMacUF

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bleh"

    Wait for book 7 until investing time. Feel like a puppet. HBO makes this novel more than it is.

    Bb

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony 02-12-15
    Anthony 02-12-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book!!!"

    this book was great just twist and turns and the story just kept you wondering what's next !!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt 02-11-15
    Matt 02-11-15 Member Since 2015

    "Two there should be, no more no less. One to embody the power, the other to crave it."--Darth Bane

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Battle for the iron throne rages on"

    Excellent addition to the song of ice and fire. the war of 5 kings may be over, but the battle for the iron throne continues with a new player in the game of thrones. The wall sees much and more. Lord Commander Jon Snow must deal with appeasing a would be queen and keepijg his own vows. Winds of Winter can't arrive quick enough. WINTER IS COMING, but so is fire!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leita 02-09-15
    Leita 02-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "👍 amazing"

    Hurry up and write the next one!!


    Very good, lots of ins and outs and what have you. Well done

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Begoniagirl 02-08-15
    Begoniagirl 02-08-15 Member Since 2014

    If you are a reader, there is nothing more to say.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dance with dragons "

    Great book, entertaining imaginative held interest and easy to listen to. Enunciated well and great range of variety in characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rev 02-07-15
    Rev 02-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book but the presentation was lacking"

    As many people have said before the narrator had too much of a break and forgot the right voices. He was able create new ones but it took a while to figure out who was who with out prompts from the text. Still, all in all it was done very well and if you enjoyed the previous books you will enjoy this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gino Sciortino 02-06-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Long but enjoyable"

    Can't wait for the next one.
    Great series all around so far.
    I hope the show continues to live up to the books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Viva Harris 02-05-15
    Viva Harris 02-05-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor Roy"

    Roy was excellent in the earlier books but in Dragons he lacked the charisma and individuality of the characters voices. I know he is older now and was not in the best of health during the reading but please, time to find someone new.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.