We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25967 )
5 star
 (17479)
4 star
 (5840)
3 star
 (1862)
2 star
 (463)
1 star
 (323)
Overall
4.6 (22939 )
5 star
 (16114)
4 star
 (4544)
3 star
 (1656)
2 star
 (402)
1 star
 (223)
Story
4.4 (22904 )
5 star
 (14478)
4 star
 (4923)
3 star
 (2294)
2 star
 (687)
1 star
 (522)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kent 08-23-15
    Kent 08-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good!"

    It was a good book! I just wished the Roy Dotrice's pacing was better. Throughout some of the chapters there are long pauses and breaks. It's probably an editing issue. Other than that his voice is perfect for narrating thses books. Hopefully he will be narrating the last one, to two books!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    exactom 08-22-15
    exactom 08-22-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    love the story and for the most part the narrator is fantastic. my one complaint is that I have all five volumes and the narrator tends to change the "voice" of many characters from one book to the next. a small gripe but annoying none the less

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie VanBrunt 08-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book and reading but. ."

    took me longer to read than the others because it only covered half the characters and not my favorite characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Seneca 08-22-15
    Seneca 08-22-15 Member Since 2015

    eclectic reader

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting but Empty"

    Too many loose ends and digressions. Details for their own sake adding nothing to the plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ltonya Cousins 08-21-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    I fell in love with the books in this series. It is better than the tv series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    celticjig Leland, Michigan 08-21-15
    celticjig Leland, Michigan 08-21-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book and entertainingly read!"

    My only complaint would be that I listened to all of the books back to back and the female character voices changed quite a lot in this book. If one were to take a break between books it might not be noticeable.
    I don't know how to spell them since I just listen but Aria, Daneries and Millasandra in particular had different voices.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jason randall 08-21-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ending"

    My only complaint is that the book ended.
    Amazing plot, so much better than the tv show.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kevin 08-20-15
    kevin 08-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome as usual"

    love all the books in this series couldn't put it down burned through all 5 in a few months

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TeleCat Louisville, KY 08-20-15
    TeleCat Louisville, KY 08-20-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the story, hate the narration."

    As the subject line says: Love the story, hate the narration. I was really very disappointed with the narration and ended up downloading a copy of the book in iBooks format to read mostly myself. I just didn't feel the narrator's voice and performance fit this type of novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rene L. 08-16-15
    Rene L. 08-16-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    Fantastic. Well written. A masterpiece that rivals "The Lord of the Rings". Narration is excellent. I can't wait for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.