We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5 | [George R. R. Martin]

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.
Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (18352 )
5 star
 (11594)
4 star
 (4473)
3 star
 (1576)
2 star
 (413)
1 star
 (296)
Overall
4.5 (16120 )
5 star
 (10702)
4 star
 (3469)
3 star
 (1390)
2 star
 (359)
1 star
 (200)
Story
4.3 (16076 )
5 star
 (9656)
4 star
 (3652)
3 star
 (1766)
2 star
 (566)
1 star
 (436)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Scott 01-21-15
    Scott 01-21-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very slow but ends with a bang"

    I struggled in the middle but the ending was excellent. a lot going on at the end. well worth the wait.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin SPRING, TX, United States 01-20-15
    Kevin SPRING, TX, United States 01-20-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but not great"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    If I could change anything, I would have removed many of the ancillary characters and stick with the primary and secondary character POV's.


    Would you be willing to try another book from George R. R. Martin? Why or why not?

    Absolutely - five books in to a seven book series pretty much dedicates me to finish the series.


    Have you listened to any of Roy Dotrice’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes - the previous four "Song of Ice & Fire" books were also read by Roy Dotrice and they were all done well.


    Could you see A Dance with Dragons being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    The series has already been made into a popular series on HBO.


    Any additional comments?

    Overall good, but not great. I've never been one to complain about book length; however I felt that "Dance of Dragons" was probably 30% longer than it needed to be. I felt like many of the problems I had with "Feast for Crows" showed up in DoD.

    Without going into details and including spoilers, there were too many character perspectives that could have been edited down where it probably would have been better if Martin could have blended FfC and DoD together. In doing so, he could've eliminated many of the ancillary characters and stuck with his primary and secondary character perspectives that have made the series so popular.

    The primary character perspectives were done really well and very enjoyable to read. Martin also did a great job allowing for the climax to come near the end of the book rather than the middle or two-thirds of the way through.

    Pros: Excellent continuation of the characters that readers have grown to love reading in the "Game of Thrones" series.
    Cons: Too many "outside" character perspectives that did not add a whole lot to the overall plot.
    Bottom line: at this point there is no turning back in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wes Neuenschwander Seattle, WA USA 01-20-15
    Wes Neuenschwander Seattle, WA USA 01-20-15 Member Since 2008

    WNeuetc

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dotrice's Stroke?"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The first 4 books showed direction, and amidst a mounting complexity, suggestions for the possibility of resolution. The saga basically evaporates, ignoring the plots, character development and crescendo developed in the previous saga. However, it's the reading that makes this book truly horrible.
    Dotrices total abandonment of his previous character voices was not only bizarre, but frankly unbearable, rendering nearly all the characters in a pathetic faux Irish brogue, giving them all - man, woman and child - the distinct and unsettling image of Leprechauns from some poorly read children's book series. I have no idea if Mr. Dotrice has lost his marbles or just no longer gives a damn - or worse, has come to hate what he's doing and is taking it out on his audience.


    Would you be willing to try another book from George R. R. Martin? Why or why not?

    Not unless it promises to bring this saga to an end - rather than leaving it abandoned like some forgotten errand. And certainly not if Dotrice "reads" it.


    Do you think A Dance with Dragons needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Well, yes. Having been dragged on through nearly 180 hours of listening, we deserve an ending.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura 01-20-15
    Laura 01-20-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "people"

    i could not stop. this book should be 20× more fillings of goodness and awesomeness.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eric 01-20-15
    Eric 01-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    Awesome job. Enjoyed it. Will get another audiobook for sure. The annoying part is having to write this long fucking review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer HOPE, MI, United States 01-19-15
    Amazon Customer HOPE, MI, United States 01-19-15 Member Since 2011

    Michelle

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "anxiously waiting for the next"

    I'm sure there are many others who are, like me, anxiously awaiting the next book. All of us are wondering what horrors and triumph are coming next? And what about Brieanne? Where are the night's watch going now? I've read them all and listened to them all, and yes, I've even watched them all. In the Game of Thrones, you have to stay alert. Only one thing is certain, winter is coming!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomaz 01-19-15
    Thomaz 01-19-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for more!"

    There's a lot of setup in the first few chapters, but don't get fooled: every details and seemingly minor character may end up throwing the world on its heels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sean Davis 01-17-15
    Sean Davis 01-17-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome!"

    This series is the reason I listen to books. George rr Martin has created my favorite series of all time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Austin 01-16-15
    Austin 01-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "yes, 5 stars"

    The reader has kept the high quality I have come to expect from these audio books. makes listening to an amazing story even more enjoyable!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adam Rower Copenhagen, Denmark 01-16-15
    Adam Rower Copenhagen, Denmark 01-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This just keeps being a great series!"

    I had to get used to the reader. But when I did he was fine. This saga is great! I read the other books so this was my first audio book, and I am not disappointed. Now I wait for the follow up like so many other....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.