We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26551 )
5 star
 (17963)
4 star
 (5916)
3 star
 (1883)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23454 )
5 star
 (16536)
4 star
 (4614)
3 star
 (1676)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23424 )
5 star
 (14858)
4 star
 (5021)
3 star
 (2325)
2 star
 (695)
1 star
 (525)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer Arrowbear Lake, CA, US 09-14-15
    Amazon Customer Arrowbear Lake, CA, US 09-14-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Love the storyline. Some of the people sound alike. But still a.good performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    FBC 09-14-15
    FBC 09-14-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"

    I read the first four books on my nook. It took over a year because I'd put it down for a few weeks and then go back to it. There are just so many characters! (I've never watched the HBO show but I want to now.). I enjoyed the audiobook so much more. I'm very much looking forward to the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gordana 09-14-15
    Gordana 09-14-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good enough story, Roy Dotrice's performance a disgrace"

    It's hard to review such a popular series, even more so because it's still unfinished, but as I have read all five, and am definitely going to read the last two, it's definitely good enough.
    So why am I writing this review?
    Roy Dotrice's performance, which fleas been a total fiasco. Trying to make different voices for every character in a books series renowned to have way too many characters, resulting in most of them sounding the same; trying to make different foreign accents for imagined countries and cultures, with the same result. He got one thing right though, in the first book: The old, ugly, evil, toothless, foreign maegi. And when he got that one going so well, he used them for all female voices: The old, ugly, evil, toothless, foreign Cercei, The old, ugly, evil, toothless, foreign Daenerys, The old, ugly, evil, toothless, foreign Arya. A disgrace.
    Had this been my first meeting with Audible, it would have been the last too.
    Fortunately, I've now heard 70++ Audible books til now, and all of the readings have been a pleasure, so I won't give up on Audible as yet.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SgtMug 09-11-15
    SgtMug 09-11-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bring on the Winds of Winter"

    I don't understand the bad reviews of Roy Dotrice. He does excellent narration. Listen long and listen well!!!'

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-09-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ruined by The Narrator"

    I disliked this reading the first time. Hated it e second time. New Narrator Please.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer New York 09-06-15
    Amazon Customer New York 09-06-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superbly written and just as superbly narrated!"

    Superbly written and just as superbly narrated! A must read! Can't wait for the next book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    liza murray 09-05-15
    liza murray 09-05-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "spell binding"

    Great book, great series definitely worth the time to read. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carl Seltzer 09-04-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unbelievable book, terrible narrator"

    I really hope they record these books again with a different narrator. Besides that this is my favorite series and I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "waiting"

    enjoyed all 5 books. disappointed in having to wait for book 6. all read written. all well read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    America M. 09-02-15
    America M. 09-02-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    Overall
    "Very gratifying read. Lives up to the reputation!"

    I loved the book but I must admit it was lengthy. It took me over a month to finish but well worth it.
    I recommend it to friends.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.