We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24648 )
5 star
 (16421)
4 star
 (5639)
3 star
 (1819)
2 star
 (454)
1 star
 (315)
Overall
4.6 (21782 )
5 star
 (15156)
4 star
 (4396)
3 star
 (1617)
2 star
 (393)
1 star
 (220)
Story
4.4 (21744 )
5 star
 (13657)
4 star
 (4700)
3 star
 (2221)
2 star
 (664)
1 star
 (502)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    manderson 07-13-15
    manderson 07-13-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Far better than book 4"

    The action returns and this book is pure Martin mastery. I almost didn't download based upon reviews of Daenerys' voice (which is pretty terrible). However, the story is so good, the characters so deep, and the rest of the narration sufficiently excellent that it was a very worthwhile listen - nearly every minute of it's 57+ hours. Unlike previous books in the series that take awhile to gain traction, this one speeds along well nearly from the jump.

    One last tip - this book takes place basically in chronological parallel with book 4. Martin does a masterful job of establishing the timeline, though in spots you might find yourself going "I already heard this"...you did, but keep on trucking and you'll see. Enjoy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AMG Fan 07-10-15
    AMG Fan 07-10-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than Feast for Crows"

    Listening to the whole thing is a very long task and the payoff is only ok. This isn't a bad book, but it's about twice, or three times as long as needed. The author should have released it as a collection of short stories.

    The reader is talented and can do may voices. However the director, or editor was asleep at the switch. Roy can do female voices well as seen by Cersei, but his voices for other females like Arya an Dany were completely awful and painful to listen to. The book would have been way better to listen to if all the women sounded like Cersei.

    All in all even though the book ended with multiple cliff hangers it left the story in a good spot for the next book. The author just needs to make the next book advance the plot unlike the last two. Otherwise he will continue to hit a wall like Wheel of Time did. Oddly enough I started reading these books because of the Wheel of Time books want downhill so fast.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    walk 07-09-15
    walk 07-09-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still good"

    There are so many beloved characters strewn out that it is rather frustrating waiting to circle back around to their circumstances. Some characters that we left "on a cliff" in the previous book were never addressed in this book.

    The narrator is skilled at his many voices, however, I think he misses the mark for a few key characters. Particularly women characters.

    This book seemed less violent and more thought provoking than the previous 4. More game oriented, less action. I hope GRRM keeps it up!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ebony 07-09-15
    ebony 07-09-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love it"

    I love both the series and the books. the books are a little different than the series, but still both are great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Acer A100 owner 07-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful tale by a master storyteller!"

    There may never be another epic like this in my lifetime! Thank you, George rr Martin, and Godspeed with the next volume!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David D Florida 07-07-15
    David D Florida 07-07-15 Member Since 2015

    DaveD

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Epic story-telling, the narrator does amazing work reading the 40+ hour book, I hope he has plenty glasses of water!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Taylor 07-06-15
    Taylor 07-06-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No, Roy. Just no."

    The story itself was amazing but the narration was horrid. Dany and theon, same voice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dan 07-04-15
    Dan 07-04-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    It is a great book. With ten times more layers than the show. If you watch the show and want more or are confused by the magnitude of it all, I recommend all the books. It really does help to tie it all together

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terri K 07-03-15
    Terri K 07-03-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but not my favorite from the series."
    Where does A Dance with Dragons rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I love the series.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jon Snow because he follows his heart and morals.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The scene where the dragon arrives at the fighting arena.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, it's too long.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tracy 07-01-15
    tracy 07-01-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Near Perfect"

    Other than the regrettable changes in some of the character voices in this book and the last - most notably young girls who speak like old crones such as Arya in AFFC and Daenerys in ADWD - Roy Dotrice delivers a wonderful and captivating performance as he did in all the previous installments of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.