We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (28860 )
5 star
 (19819)
4 star
 (6268)
3 star
 (1956)
2 star
 (482)
1 star
 (335)
Overall
4.6 (25557 )
5 star
 (18258)
4 star
 (4910)
3 star
 (1736)
2 star
 (420)
1 star
 (233)
Story
4.4 (25545 )
5 star
 (16376)
4 star
 (5387)
3 star
 (2497)
2 star
 (740)
1 star
 (545)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Matthew 04-06-16
    Matthew 04-06-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dotrice Laid an Egg"

    Mr. Martin has every right to kill his characters with his pen, however, Roy Dotrice has no right to kill those characters with his voice as he is done by changing so much in pronunciation and voice acting in this volume compared to the previous. I miss Aria most of all, and I have no connection with the old hag who replaced her in the voice of Dotrice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John M. Borrini 04-03-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good book but the narrator is just OKAY"

    The story is great, the narrator has changed up his voices for certain characters nagging Dany sounds like a girl from the gutters and others have been altered to sound odd, but is still worth a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SandyC 04-02-16
    SandyC 04-02-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hooked on Game of Thrones"

    I got the AUdible books because the Game of thrones books are so long

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Keff 04-01-16
    Keff 04-01-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stellar"

    Great narration, but the voices of the characters change a few times and not for the better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Seth McNamara 03-28-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another one down"

    another great book can't wait for the next one, and here's to Roy Dotrice for another outstanding story telling

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian 03-26-16
    Brian 03-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the best! "

    Roy Dotrice is amazing. my favorite audio book series ever. I'll miss the books being read that brilliantly

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    john 03-26-16
    john 03-26-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "extremely entertaining . narrated very well."

    extremely entertaining . narrated very well. however queen danaries's voice leaves a little to be desired. and why is everyone a pirate? just kidding. masterfully done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fer 03-26-16
    Fer 03-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Formidable book, great performance"

    Formidable book, although it could have been shorter. Dotrice changed some voices, but still delivered a great performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley 03-25-16
    Ashley 03-25-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the voices!"

    the voices are all over the place! constantly changing from one book to another, even sometimes from chapter to chapter. not so great this time around. Story is awesome of course.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 03-22-16
    Ryan 03-22-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    great book i love george r r martins books will for sure keep reading them

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.