We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (30743 )
5 star
 (21352)
4 star
 (6546)
3 star
 (2012)
2 star
 (494)
1 star
 (339)
Overall
4.6 (27275 )
5 star
 (19691)
4 star
 (5127)
3 star
 (1787)
2 star
 (430)
1 star
 (240)
Story
4.4 (27268 )
5 star
 (17621)
4 star
 (5691)
3 star
 (2628)
2 star
 (766)
1 star
 (562)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Chelsea Elam 07-25-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entrancing story, but Dotrice was inconsistent"

    All in all I loved the story and it was very enjoyable to listen to. The differences between the books and the show are very distinct by this book, which I find very intriguing.

    Roy Dotrice is an excellent narrator, but it seems as if he loses track of which accent he uses for certain character, and even changed the pronunciation of a few names a few times. The devil is in the details.. still a great story, very well narrated.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Odd Sam 07-25-16
    Odd Sam 07-25-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book. Great performance."

    Just as beloved as the rest of the series. Roy Dotrice narrates perfectly yet again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rick Avant Virginia Beach 07-22-16
    Rick Avant Virginia Beach 07-22-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "can't wait for the next one"

    this one left me hanging a little bit more than the others. I was looking for some other plot lines to develop. But I guess I have to wait for the next book. Other than that it was really good I like some of the other one's a little better but this was a good too. anxious to find out what happened to Brianne and the rest.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mb 07-14-16
    mb 07-14-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely brilliant"

    The reader of this book carries a different voice for each character which adds so much to the reading. He does a fabulous job and the books are the best I have ever read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erica 07-14-16
    Erica 07-14-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book! I can't wait for Winds Of Winter!!"

    The narrator is perfect, Thank you Mr.Roy Dotrice. The story is amazing I listen to it all the time. Trying to figure out little things that I missed. Worth the time it takes to get thru. It'll leave you on the edge and wanting more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    leonard 07-14-16
    leonard 07-14-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome."

    GRRM Maybe not only has written one of the greatest epics of all time, but he may be one of the greatest mystery writers also. the way he weaves plots, and uses the first person perspective to give you clues but not let you in on them is perfection.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher L Ruiz 07-12-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    I would recommend anyone who enjoys the Show to listen to these books! when will #6 be out?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dvd watcher 07-11-16
    dvd watcher 07-11-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "female characters sound horrible, avoid reader"
    What disappointed you about A Dance with Dragons?

    The readers voice pitch for the female characters voices was very poor. Daenery's sounds like Popeye the sailor a cartoon character. I listened to book four which was good enough but this book was a painful struggle to listen to. I spent 26 hours listening wishing for the end but with 13 hours remaining I had to stop. As quoted 'words are wind', this reading is a most foul wind.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The narration and male characters were recorded well and sounded fine but the female characters were very low pitch and Daenery sounded like Popeye the sailor. I watched the HBO series season 1 and 2 after reading the first 3 books. It is a painful listen with Daenery's voice.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Roy Dotrice?

    I do not have a preference.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    the book was fine but listening to its reading is like sitting thru a class where you dislike the instructor but you are sitting thru it to get done with it but it is most unbearable.


    Any additional comments?

    record this book over

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jessie 07-09-16
    jessie 07-09-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story but"

    another great book in the series, wish the narrato didn't to so hard to voice

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandon 07-09-16
    Brandon 07-09-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book good reader"

    very long but well worth it. reader is great. I can't wait for the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.