We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (26665 )
5 star
 (18055)
4 star
 (5932)
3 star
 (1889)
2 star
 (465)
1 star
 (324)
Overall
4.6 (23549 )
5 star
 (16617)
4 star
 (4623)
3 star
 (1681)
2 star
 (403)
1 star
 (225)
Story
4.4 (23522 )
5 star
 (14930)
4 star
 (5035)
3 star
 (2332)
2 star
 (698)
1 star
 (527)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Clayton 10-19-15
    Clayton 10-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    I love the narrator, but somewhere along the way the voices changed for some characters, I much preferred the original voices from the first two books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LEILEI L. WALKER 10-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    Well read. I can't wait until the next book is released. This series is awesome

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin 10-18-15
    Kevin 10-18-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like the service"

    There's an audio gap in the first Cersie chapter. I can't think of more to add.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William 10-14-15
    William 10-14-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really liked the story telling"

    It's a epic story, things do happen, lots of characters that Roy was to able to put a voice too. I was really impressed, it was so well done that I could tell who the character was before the text did. So yeah you here Irish but with different reflections. This was my first audio book for this series, so I do not know how well done his female voices had been, but I got over it quickly, just get past that and enjoy the story from a expert reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 10-13-15
    Mark 10-13-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The story lags"

    The first four books were good. The story moved along, and they were action packed. This book seems to take forever, and like nothing is actually happening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jean 10-12-15
    Jean 10-12-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    Roy Dotrice made the characters as well as the book come alive. The booms, that damn crow that doesn't keep quiet....just so awesome.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jose 10-10-15
    jose 10-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    Love it. Can't wait for the next one. Also love the voice of the reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicole Rocco 10-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just okay."

    Definitely the slowest of the five books so far. The reader is a terrible fit, and I hope they chose someone else for the last two. Is it too much to ask for the characters to have the same voice throughout the book?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kiefer 10-08-15
    Kiefer 10-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth the listen."

    Fantastic book, I highly recommend it. The narrator encompasses all of the characters with finesse and skill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe 10-07-15
    Joe 10-07-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    Lots of twists and turns as is expected from this series. His ability to keep everything straight and tied together is astounding. Now I am among the many already out there waiting for the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.