We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24641 )
5 star
 (16416)
4 star
 (5637)
3 star
 (1819)
2 star
 (454)
1 star
 (315)
Overall
4.6 (21776 )
5 star
 (15151)
4 star
 (4395)
3 star
 (1617)
2 star
 (393)
1 star
 (220)
Story
4.4 (21738 )
5 star
 (13651)
4 star
 (4700)
3 star
 (2221)
2 star
 (664)
1 star
 (502)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Todd Hodges 08-06-15
    Todd Hodges 08-06-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Back to form"

    Roy is back and it's wonderful. Stepped up from book 4. Still seems like filler.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lawrence overton 08-06-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT THE END!!!"

    FANTASTIC, GRRM. should get an Oscar or the highest literary award available, end was kinda FUNNY,That said the use of the word:(Niggerdly ) was a bit offensive ) an unexpected. Outside of that, I truly can't wait for W.O.W,and I hope it picks right where it left off...GREAT SERIES...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan Hauck 08-05-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book, weird voices"

    the book was great but the readers voices were bizarre and offputting. only after reading other reviews did I realize he had done a fine job in earlier books but switched something up this time around. if true, he needs to go back to any other way but the way he read for this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T. Reynolds Reno, NV, United States 08-04-15
    T. Reynolds Reno, NV, United States 08-04-15 Member Since 2015

    Saab Driver in Reno

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek"

    i need the next book! even though the narrator changed the accent for some characters, which really bothered me for a long time, AND some pronunciations of nanesdid well. and i enjoyed it greatly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth 08-03-15
    Kenneth 08-03-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but ..."

    The story and writing is very good, but Roy Dotrice is way off when it comes to many of the voices. He portrays noble families as yokels and have different accents for people of the same families. He has old people slurring and spitting their words so they're almost intelligible. Very annoying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Grey's 08-01-15
    Grey's 08-01-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story but some of the voices are awful"

    I can't deal with the voices of the main women. It makes them sound so wimpy. Arya is brutal to listen to and she's one of my favorite characters. Still worth it for they story but I'm glad I read the books first before I experienced the grating girl voices!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Nelson 08-01-15
    J. Nelson 08-01-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Dance with Dragons"

    This series is fantastic! I can not wait to see what happens in book 6!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea 07-31-15
    Andrea 07-31-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As impressive as all of the rest!"

    Thus far I've loved all of these books- the length of them makes it a long term relationship instead of a fling..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Audrey 07-31-15
    Audrey 07-31-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the books"

    Love the story from the first book to the end of this book. Can't wait for the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kbo 07-30-15
    kbo 07-30-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    "great story"

    character voices seemed different but still a great story. can't wait until the next. hope it comes out soon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.