We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Scarlet Letter Society Audiobook

The Scarlet Letter Society: Scarlet Letter Society Series #1

Regular Price:$26.59
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Meet Maggie, Eva, and Lisa, founders of The Scarlet Letter Society. Named as such due to their various infidelities, both physical and emotional, the SLS is their refusal to be shamed like Hester Prynne in Nathaniel Hawthorne's classic tale of forbidden longing. Maggie is twice divorced and juggling three lovers - one of whom is her first ex-husband. Eva is trapped in a loveless marriage and has turned to her young intern and a seductive French chef for satisfaction. Lisa dreams of one day becoming a mother, but her husband has more romantic interest in her footwear than he does in her. Once a month these women meet at their local bookstore to discuss love, life and literature. Through their friendships and liaisons, they attempt to gain insight into the curveballs life has thrown their way and how each of them can find emotional and sexual fulfillment. Over the course of a year these women, plus several others who look to the Scarlet Letter Society for help with their own romantic dilemmas, will find lust and love, happiness and heartbreak, in the most unexpected places. A witty, insightful, and steamy novel about a group of women who have chosen to forge their own paths and must deal with the ramifications of their past and present choices, The Scarlet Letter Society will appeal to anyone who's found their fairy tale isn't quite what Disney had in mind. Contains mature themes.

©2014 Mary T. McCarthy (P)2015 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Candace Bushnell and Jackie Collins, McCarthy has created a novel filled with razor-sharp social commentary and irresistibly dynamic, complex characters. At turns hilarious, scathing and seductive, The Scarlet Letter Society is not to be missed!" (Kyra Davis, author of Just One Night)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (3 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sandra Pratt 12-28-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny, sexy, and so entertaining!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Scarlet Letter Society to be better than the print version?

    Mary McCarthy is a great writer with a sharp wit and a naughty sense of humor! Marguerite Gavin really mines this book for all its worth. A definite must for those hot,summer days on the beach!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    luciep819 09-22-15
    luciep819 09-22-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This could be a movie"

    I enjoyed this book- not super racy and easy to keep up with the characters and their different paths. It ended really rapidly and it would be fun to see a sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.