We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Release Me (The Stark Trilogy) Audiobook

Release Me (The Stark Trilogy): The Stark Series #1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Finalist, Erotica, 2014

For fans of Fifty Shades of Gray and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard "no" and a fiery woman who says "yes" on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past - and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him - and us - forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

©2013 J. Kenner (P)2013 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1876 )
5 star
 (912)
4 star
 (537)
3 star
 (262)
2 star
 (94)
1 star
 (71)
Overall
4.1 (1680 )
5 star
 (809)
4 star
 (477)
3 star
 (242)
2 star
 (77)
1 star
 (75)
Story
4.1 (1673 )
5 star
 (835)
4 star
 (443)
3 star
 (238)
2 star
 (95)
1 star
 (62)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rebecca NEW LONDON, CT, United States 04-19-15
    Rebecca NEW LONDON, CT, United States 04-19-15 Member Since 2016

    love to read!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the reader. The story was good."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This book is great for anyone who loves a love story. When a shy woman and a rich man of mystery run into each other and sparks fly.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The book was an easy read.


    What does Sofia Willingham bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Yes to some point. She was good and made some parts come to life but was not my fav.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    no moment in this book but definitely in the sequel


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    layla schiller park, IL, United States 04-04-15
    layla schiller park, IL, United States 04-04-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    89
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rolling my eyes about Release Me"

    This could've been written by any high schooler. I kept reading hoping it got better. Boo Shame on the people saying that this is a sizzler!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Helly 03-19-15
    Helly 03-19-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Eh"

    Eh. It was okay. Took a little long to pick up for me. Got better towards the end but my issues were w the performance and characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leann26 01-16-15
    Leann26 01-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "edge of my seat"

    I loved it!! i really connected with Nikki, being a Texas girl and all :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Bedney 01-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worth it"

    Beautifully written Very enjoyable I would read this book again and I probably will after I read the rest.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bright, D CORPUS CHRISTI, TX, United States 12-19-14
    Bright, D CORPUS CHRISTI, TX, United States 12-19-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "pretty good"

    kinda cheesy sometimes but overall good. I really liked the emotion before the painting. it's very raw and well written

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sdriggs California, USA 10-03-14
    sdriggs California, USA 10-03-14 Member Since 2014

    I'm typically a murder, suspense, & thriller type reader; however, I'm expanding, exploring, & expanding my interests.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    97
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fifty Shades wanna-be"
    Would you try another book from J. Kenner and/or Sofia Willingham?

    I would consider another book written by J. Kenner and Sofia Willingham.


    What was most disappointing about J. Kenner’s story?

    Typical story…. The main male character, Damien, is rich and gorgeous. Story line is that Damien has had a thing for Nikki for many years. At a swanky LA party the reunite and the eye exchange between the two go wild. The story does touch on their past which indicates that it was dark and damaged pasts. It is also suggested (and I immediately could tell) that they are both very jealous type people.


    Which character – as performed by Sofia Willingham – was your favorite?

    The performance was GREAT, but the characters were not so great.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Release Me (The Stark Trilogy)?

    I gave it a fair shake, but I couldn't finish this book.


    Any additional comments?

    Nikki loves to provoke Damien’s jealous streak by engaging with her gorgeous ex-boyfriend. She also wavers between wanting Damien and not. In the end though they both confess how turned on they are for each other and start going at it.

    Remember me saying this is a 50-shades wanna-be? Here’s a couple of examples of why. Damian requests Nikki reference him as 'sir' and must take commands from him. He finds pleasure in the fact that she wears painful, high heeled shoes because it means she can endure pain. If you’ve read 50-Shades, then you will be no stranger to the internal conflict and dialogue that Nikki has.

    I couldn’t finish this book. It was so cheesy and the plot was absolutely ridiculous. I wasn’t a huge Fifty Shades lover, although I read them and enjoyed them for the most part. If you want true erotic type books-- consider books written by author Violet Blue. I have also found a few good reads from author Sylvia Day.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 09-22-14

    Retired evidently sounds better than disabled.. It's a knee thing. Bone on bone, baby. Not a good candidate for surgery (health issues)..

    HELPFUL VOTES
    80
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    153
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "J Kenner does another winner, be open minded, tho."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would if I knew the person well enough and wouldn't be judgmental about the books I read.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Release Me (The Stark Trilogy)?

    Not one specific.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    All had merit.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed a lot, was a tad shocked, but can see the different ways of people.


    Any additional comments?

    Nope.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim D. Brazoria, TX, United States 08-06-14
    Kim D. Brazoria, TX, United States 08-06-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    119
    112
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad, not great either."

    Okay, it starts off with 'For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You' and that should have been my first clue. I thought perhaps with the high ratings (averaging 4+ stars) it would at least be unique...

    We are presented with a super sexy billionaire, Damien Stark; with his troubled past continually coming back to haunt him, he has a team of lawyers to keep his skeletons in the closet.

    Damien sets his sights on Nikki Fairchild, a perfectly gorgeous former beauty queen from Texas, or is she? Nikki is battling her own demons from the past, most notable is her controlling mother, the death of her older sister, and the resulting mental problems that caused.


    Sound familiar? No... what about this.

    Damien is described as dangerous, emotionally damaged, brooding, Dominant, extremely private, anger issues, and is never seen photographed with the same woman twice.

    Nikki is emotionally damaged, sharing a place with her best friend, weak and yet strong... shes loyal to her friends but doesn't want help for herself, is extremely inexperienced sexually.

    It starts off really slow, the first few chapters are simply setting up the plot of the story and nothing really happens. We basically are just given back stories to the characters, how they ended up in LA, and how they all connect to each other.

    For an erotic romance it could have used more erotic scenes. There was a hint of bdsm, but it lasted a page or two and consisted of a blindfold and bound hands that were gone before the actual intercourse starts.. If your after a decent story with a couple of quick sexual encounters then this is the book for you. This is more story than sex - perhaps it gets better in the next book. I was at the tipping point most of the book, but the last few pages pushed me over and there was just enough pull to read the second one and see what happens.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anna Maria Galdieri 05-20-14

    Anna Maria

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful narration, badly written don't buy"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Can't figure that one out. The story line is weak. Couldn't even get interested after listening to 2 chapers.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    K. Bromberg's second book.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    I don't understand how you can put out these books with such lousy narrators. Who does quality control with these productions? Does anyone really listen?


    What character would you cut from Release Me (The Stark Trilogy)?

    All of them.


    Any additional comments?

    I think I've been negative enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.