We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
First Grave on the Right Audiobook

First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.

©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (6538 )
5 star
 (3182)
4 star
 (1969)
3 star
 (869)
2 star
 (303)
1 star
 (215)
Overall
4.1 (5597 )
5 star
 (2729)
4 star
 (1621)
3 star
 (772)
2 star
 (282)
1 star
 (193)
Story
4.4 (5613 )
5 star
 (3362)
4 star
 (1473)
3 star
 (509)
2 star
 (158)
1 star
 (111)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lisa Cirrone COMMACK, NY, US 06-13-14
    Lisa Cirrone COMMACK, NY, US 06-13-14 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing!"
    What made the experience of listening to First Grave on the Right the most enjoyable?

    By far the best book/ series! The combination of Darynda Jones and Lorelei King made the book 5 stars. I'm just sad it's over and I read all 6 books in the series


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Ashdown, AR, United States 06-10-14
    Amazon Customer Ashdown, AR, United States 06-10-14 Member Since 2013

    Lover of all books, especially Romance!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly enjoyed. Get away to a different world"

    The basis is different which is refreshing in a literary world full of supernatural characters and story lines. The characters are actually real to life and add to the quirkiness of the story. Yes, there is romance and steamy at that but there is much more to the story than sexual encounters. It is a good mixture with major twist and turns with suspense mixed in. Give it a try, it is worth it. I can't wait to listen to the next one.....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Lithonia, GA, United States 06-09-14
    Lisa Lithonia, GA, United States 06-09-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Great story. Fast pace. Lorelei King does a great job. Plan on listening to the whole series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Calgary, AB, Canada 06-07-14
    Elizabeth Calgary, AB, Canada 06-07-14 Member Since 2016

    A gadabout with no room for heavy books, so love the audio ones.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too annoying to finish"
    Would you try another book from Darynda Jones and/or Lorelei King?

    No.


    What could Darynda Jones have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Maybe reading it might have been a better option for me.


    What didn’t you like about Lorelei King’s performance?

    Her drawn out and dramatic endings to practically every sentence of Charley's dialogue, once picked up on, are impossible to not focus on. They ruined the story for me.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Frustration


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Rivera 06-02-14
    Ann Rivera 06-02-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping, edge of your seat"
    Would you listen to First Grave on the Right again? Why?

    Sure it had some very erotic episodes worth listening again.


    What other book might you compare First Grave on the Right to and why?

    Second Grave, Third Grave etc....


    What about Lorelei King’s performance did you like?

    How she can do a mans voice and still be a sexy women.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes.


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roland C. Hiltscher Cedar Hills, Utah 05-24-14
    Roland C. Hiltscher Cedar Hills, Utah 05-24-14 Member Since 2016

    My wife (Ruthie) and I together listen to Audible's books every evening. We have been doing this since 2005 and have never missed an evening

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    169
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too Vulgar!!!"
    Any additional comments?

    Please refund my credit and return my purchase for First Grave on the Right. Thanks

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nessa 05-23-14
    Nessa 05-23-14

    Just a 20-something year old, who likes to read books from time to time.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible"
    What would have made First Grave on the Right better?

    This was a stupid story with terrible stretched out plot that lead nowhere. I don't understand why it costs so much too. Thank god I got it for free. I wouldn't even pay 5$ for it. They could have took this story line to something so much bigger. But instead it's just about a girl who's horny for satans son, there's nothing more to it. Again I do not recommend!! Read Gone Girl instead.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Lorelei King’s performances?

    No


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    All of the above


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cecilia Hombrados Miami, FL, USA 05-13-14
    Cecilia Hombrados Miami, FL, USA 05-13-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Death with a bit of humor!"
    What made the experience of listening to First Grave on the Right the most enjoyable?

    The story line & the characters.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Charley & Reyes, because the chemistry between them is just somehow very comical and yet very intense.


    Have you listened to any of Lorelei King’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cabby Tampa, FL, United States 04-27-14
    Cabby Tampa, FL, United States 04-27-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    79
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book was trying way too hard"

    This writing reminded me so much of the Stephanie Plum series I thought it was Janet Evanovich writing under a pseudonym – only not funny. Or maybe she’s a Christopher Moore wannabe – but again, not funny. The author is trying way too hard and the humor just sounds fake and forced. Maybe she settles down a little in her subsequent books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Brown Sacramento, CA USA 04-07-14
    L. Brown Sacramento, CA USA 04-07-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    39
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny and a little steamy"
    Where does First Grave on the Right rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It was good, I'm not sure where it would rank.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Darynda Jones? Why or why not?

    Yes, she was funny and grabs your attention.


    Which character – as performed by Lorelei King – was your favorite?

    Charley of course


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I liked when she met Angel and I like the ally beating scene.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.