We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1 | [Darynda Jones]

First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.

©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (3442 )
5 star
 (1583)
4 star
 (1090)
3 star
 (465)
2 star
 (168)
1 star
 (136)
Overall
4.1 (2779 )
5 star
 (1313)
4 star
 (832)
3 star
 (389)
2 star
 (128)
1 star
 (117)
Story
4.4 (2790 )
5 star
 (1626)
4 star
 (754)
3 star
 (256)
2 star
 (89)
1 star
 (65)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nicole Austin, TX, United States 12-03-11
    Nicole Austin, TX, United States 12-03-11 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining"

    I enjoy the characters and there is a good story, funny and entertaining. Darynda Jones brings to life an imaginitive Charley Davidson, making her the Grim Reaper is just gravy on top. Fun read!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Renee C. Meyers 11-30-11 Member Since 2008

    reddnredd

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Debut Novel"

    This was a great debut novel. Very funny and the narrerator was perfect (as usual or Lorelei King). I decided to listen to this novel because of the reviews and wasn't disapointed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yves Lorton, VA, United States 11-30-11
    Yves Lorton, VA, United States 11-30-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Good -- Loved so Much of it"

    This wasn't what I expected. You read so much occult writings, and think you've got it pegged. This book surprised and amused me so much that I can't wait to read the next. I hope Darynda Jones keeps writing. Very entertaining and good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Cline Eugene, OR USA 11-10-11
    J. Cline Eugene, OR USA 11-10-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    92
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much romance"

    I'm not a fan of romance writers and wish I would have realized this is in that genre. If you do like romance books, then I think this one is interesting and well done.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cari Wolfforth, TX, United States 11-09-11
    Cari Wolfforth, TX, United States 11-09-11 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stephanie Plum But Funnier"

    I really loved this book! It reminded me of Janet Evanovich in the first few books of the Stephanie Plum series before they got so repetitive! Very fun and clever idea!

    I just hope the series doesn't go on for 20 books because things get old, repetitive, and annoying! I prefer fewer books with angst and drama but then let them have their happy ever after!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy Buffalo Grove, IL, United States 11-09-11
    Tracy Buffalo Grove, IL, United States 11-09-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazingly Clever Dialogue Read Really Well"

    Darynda Jones' book is one of the most cleverly written books I've read. I absolutely love her (Charley?) sense of humor. The twists of phrase are wonderful!!! And Reyes is so flipping hot!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lonese newburgh, NY, United States 11-05-11
    Lonese newburgh, NY, United States 11-05-11 Member Since 2004
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good story"

    I enjoyed this book...I like listening to the narrator Lorelei King. I hope to complete the series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ck Conneautville, PA, United States 10-31-11
    Ck Conneautville, PA, United States 10-31-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    60
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    192
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laugh out loud funny!"

    This was laugh out loud funny, smartly written and entertaining! And the steamy scenes are just that...steamy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica St Paul, MN, United States 10-07-11
    Jessica St Paul, MN, United States 10-07-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    287
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    217
    185
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    45
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's not bad"

    The book was good, but not as good as I thought/hoped it would be. After reading the reviews I had very high hopes. When you read that Charley is a lot like Stephanie Plum, they're not kidding. The fact that Lorelei King narrates doesn't help. King is a great narrator but it just adds to the Janet Evanovich's less talented, younger sister wrote this feeling you get when you listen. Having said that, I enjoy the bumper sticker and t-shirt quotes. And I'm not saying Jones doesn't have any talent, just that she's not quite up to Evanovich's caliber yet. I think I'll give book #2 a shot.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Isabelle Middlesex, VT, United States 09-29-11
    Isabelle Middlesex, VT, United States 09-29-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Five Star Arousel"

    Very sexy. The heroine is a firecat. Great narrator. Great story. I want more. I have a crush on Charley.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 329 results PREVIOUS129303133NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.