We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
A Thief of Nightshade Audiobook

A Thief of Nightshade

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Avalar isn't real.

At least, it wasn't supposed to be.

Aubrey never expected to fall in love with and marry her graduate writing professor Jullian. His life's work, a grim fantasy titled A Thief of Nightshade encompassed everything Aubrey hated about fairy tales and make-believe.

After Jullian goes missing and is eventually presumed dead, Aubrey discovers just how make-believe the world of Nightshade is.…

Not only is Jullian alive and well in Avalar, he's at the mercy of the Dark Fae, condemned to a fate worse than death, with no memory of Aubrey or his time in her world. In order to save him, she'll have to confront more than just the demons in her past, but the very real ones that await her in a place she never thought could exist.

All of them will do everything in their power to stop her.

©2012 J. S. Chancellor - Rhemalda Publishing (P)2012 J. S. Chancellor - Rhemalda Publishing

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (9 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (7 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (7 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Adam United States 01-16-13
    Adam United States 01-16-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful journey!"
    Would you listen to A Thief of Nightshade again? Why?

    If you liked the Narnia books as a child you'll love this darker story that has the same style, feeling and fantasty elements. The writing is beautiful and sensitive and I was artfully transported to other worlds. The narrator captured the lyricism with her beautiful voice and artful, credible characters and emotion. I'd read this again and recommend it highly.


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew Fortson, GA, United States 09-17-15
    Matthew Fortson, GA, United States 09-17-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fairy (faerie) tale for adults"

    This is one of my favorite books. It's an unusual, but refreshingly realistic fairy tale in the vein of Grimm's and Pan's Labyrinth that's a twist between romance and fantasy. It's surprisingly deep, and the story is creatively told by alternating chapters so the reader is right in the action but also getting the depth of character development that usually only comes from a long book series. I'm a guy who likes guy fantasy and unique fiction, so this story definitely fits for both a male or a female readers. It's charming, witty, and endearing, and most of all, WELL-WRITTEN, so I count it as a must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.